We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Daemon | [Daniel Suarez]

Daemon

Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.
Regular Price:$35.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer - the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy - or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

©2009 Daniel Suarez; (P)2009 Penguin Audio

What the Critics Say

"Suarez's riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills, and cyber suspense....A final twist that runs counter to expectations will leave readers anxiously awaiting the promised sequel." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (8495 )
5 star
 (4996)
4 star
 (2231)
3 star
 (803)
2 star
 (258)
1 star
 (207)
Overall
4.4 (5450 )
5 star
 (3319)
4 star
 (1329)
3 star
 (505)
2 star
 (169)
1 star
 (128)
Story
4.5 (5415 )
5 star
 (3443)
4 star
 (1407)
3 star
 (394)
2 star
 (104)
1 star
 (67)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Eirik 01-05-11
    Eirik 01-05-11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    1
    Overall
    "So-so, but a terrible ending."

    The book was o-so at times, but some scenes were ridiculously unbelievable and the ending, or lack of one, was one of the worst I have ever read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    William Spring Creek, NV, United States 12-24-10
    William Spring Creek, NV, United States 12-24-10 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    151
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Starts well, then gets lost"

    Very poor narrator. Female narrator for the computer voice was terrific, however. Can't find her name here, but she deserves some sort of award.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Donald Braman 12-22-10

    thinkingitover

    HELPFUL VOTES
    42
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    370
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "formulaic"

    If you like formulaic thrillers (Dan Brown, James Patterson, etc.), this will fit the bill.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Raymond Madison, WI, United States 12-20-10
    Raymond Madison, WI, United States 12-20-10 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    51
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Debauchery Alert!"

    About 30 minutes into this book we hear the main character sexually exploiting a teenage girl in the most despicable, depraved and unspeakable way. If I were this girl’s father I would shot the kneecaps off of this guy, wait as he suffers, then drive a dull wooden stake into his heart. Sorry, I didn’t bother with rest of the book. I turned it off and deleted it from my computer. I then washed my hands. Call me a prude, I don't care. I'll listen to something that's truely entertaining.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    E. Risk North Dakota 11-17-10
    E. Risk North Dakota 11-17-10 Member Since 2009

    ER

    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    118
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Simply Fantastic"

    Daniel Suarez did a great job creating the characters and describing the daemon. The plot kept turning and I wanted more. Jeff Gurner did a great job bringing the characters to life I really enjoy his narration.

    Don't hesitate to get this book, it is well worth it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bruce Pontiac, MI, United States 11-04-10
    Bruce Pontiac, MI, United States 11-04-10 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    46
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "The last 80% is fantastic"

    I didn't care for the first 20% of this book for various reasons. But at a certain point, it got really, really good. Lots of action and a clever way to put all the possibilities of our wired and wireless world to a test of common mayhem and mutiny.

    There are a lot of poor reviews of the narration on here. For me, I didn't care for one character's voice (felt very forced and abrasive/cliche) but the rest were enjoyable and they added to the experience of the book. Plus there are "computer voices" performed too that add nice texture to the sonic landscape.

    I'm giving it four stars because the first 20% was not for me and also one of the main characters had a an unpleasant voice by the narrator. Other than that, it's a five-star book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dave Clingman 10-09-10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    "Superb story"

    The second best story I've ever heard on Audible, and the second best book I've ingested in the last 5 years - beaten on both accounts by the story's sequel: Freedom TM. The reader is superb, with perfect diction for the story. The story is relevant, plausible, thrilling, and full of suspense. Fully recommended.

    The one drawback was the one a number of other readers have commented on - the drug rape scene. It was too overwrought and overdone, and didn't contribute much to the story. It is not gratuitous - rather, it's a cautionary tale to na??ve parents "do you know what your teens are getting up to, and do you know how it could ruin their future in this modern world"?

    But otherwise - great!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wesley Cherry 10-04-10 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    1
    Overall
    "Amazing!"

    This was my first book on Audible and 6 months later it's still my favorite. The narrator does a great job of drawing you into the story and giving life to each of the characters. I recommend this book to all of my friends.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael United States 09-25-10
    Michael United States 09-25-10 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    23
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Excellent, Excellent, Excellent"

    Wow, this book is absolutely amazing and incredibly great. Very entertain and enjoyable. I'm 28. I couldn't stop listening. Riveting. It has a sense of reality and speak truth through fiction. a MUST READ FOR TECHNOLOGY AND POLITICALLY INCLINED. I REALLY LOVED IT. I'm listening to the squeal now.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JOSEPH Vancouver, BC, Canada 09-23-10
    JOSEPH Vancouver, BC, Canada 09-23-10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    "Don't listen to the reviews"

    I'm glad that I went with my geek-sense and bought this audiobook. The reviews are really hard to trust on this one, so my advice is to ignore the reviews (even this one) and go with the premise of the book, which it does deliver. Opinions are hard to trust, but let's look at the facts:

    If many of the following words are part of your everyday vocabulary then you will probably love this book: first-person shooter, WEP, WAP, Hacking, SQL injection, VOIP, encryption...etc

    This a book written for technology geeks and gamers. If you are neither, then you may not understand half of what is going on in the story, and the genius of the villain.

    If you dislike any or all of the following then you may not enjoy the book:
    profanity, minor sexuality, blood, technology

    There are a few things to clear up in this story:

    (1) By definition, there is no gratuitous rape scene. "Rape: any act of sexual intercourse that is forced upon a person." There is sexuality in which people may or may not have been taken advantage of, but the notion of consent is really up in the air. It may be criminal, but it's not violent, and it's only as graphic as your imagination.

    (2) The ending doesn't suck: technically nothing gets resolved in the end, but it's meant to be like that for various reasons. If you have seen Ghost in the Shell, or the Lawnmower Man, then you will see similar endings. If you liked those movies then you'll also like Daemon btw.

    (3) The characters are good: We don't go that deep into the character development, but you get to see the archetypes clearly and the real development is the understanding of the villain and seeing things from his point of view.

    (4) The story is not implausible: If you have understanding of technology and computer processes, then you will not see this as a complete fantasy, but rather a concept that is intriguing because it's built mostly on technology that exists today, but is not yet all accessible.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.