We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Daemon | [Daniel Suarez]

Daemon

Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.
Regular Price:$35.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer - the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy - or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

©2009 Daniel Suarez; (P)2009 Penguin Audio

What the Critics Say

"Suarez's riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills, and cyber suspense....A final twist that runs counter to expectations will leave readers anxiously awaiting the promised sequel." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (6796 )
5 star
 (3982)
4 star
 (1787)
3 star
 (632)
2 star
 (219)
1 star
 (176)
Overall
4.4 (3869 )
5 star
 (2364)
4 star
 (944)
3 star
 (337)
2 star
 (128)
1 star
 (96)
Story
4.5 (3842 )
5 star
 (2414)
4 star
 (1021)
3 star
 (272)
2 star
 (85)
1 star
 (50)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Richard Castro Valley, CA, USA 02-25-09
    Richard Castro Valley, CA, USA 02-25-09 Member Since 2003
    HELPFUL VOTES
    79
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    207
    30
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Simply Awful"

    A few people have written this book is good for geeks. I don't know why geeks would be entertained by generic, gee-whiz descriptions of mundane things like data centers. I could only take about an hour of this drivel. What a waste of time.

    1 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    BJ Emerald Isle, NC, United States 05-20-10
    BJ Emerald Isle, NC, United States 05-20-10 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Suckered"

    I got suckered in buying this too expensive title because they used the prologue as the sample of writing--unfortunately that was the only good piece of writing in the book--there may have been more I never finished it--got real tired of the hard boiled detective bit, the idiot bad guy and the bad prose. Where in the Daemon did all those 4 star reviews come from?

    3 of 13 people found this review helpful
  •  
    04-13-10
    04-13-10 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    23
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "terrible lang, porn, gross, crude, leaves hanging"

    This is my first fiction book from audible. I had heard good reviews and was looking forward to it. After reading the book, I was extremely disappointed. I will say that the technical and plot aspects of the story are fascinating. However, the book totally leaves you hanging. So, don't expect to find out how it ends. Other than leaving you hanging, I gave it 1 star for 3 other reasons.

    If it were a movie, it would be R or X rated.

    1) It essentially has a porn chapter where he tells you how to drug and rape a girl at a party, and goes into a disgusting level of detail.

    2) The language is terrible. There are too many F words to count, along with S and D and GD. Also, there are many usages of the name Jesus or Christ as a curse word.

    3) There are many scenes, vividly described, which are simply gross, including descriptions of people being killed and mutilated, and detailed gory descriptions of the effects of this.

    I is unfortunate, since the story plot line could have stood on its own merits without the rubish. I encourage anyone who's bought the book and feels similarly to call customer service and request a refund. If they're going to publish rubish such as this, then they should warn the user about it, so each person can make their own decision.

    20 of 80 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ted Park City, UT, United States 03-02-10
    Ted Park City, UT, United States 03-02-10 Member Since 2000
    HELPFUL VOTES
    53
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    175
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Rape is not Entertainment"

    Audible: I want a refund.

    Early in the book, Suarez narrates the coerced gang rape of a drugged 17-year-old girl. He presents her as deserving of this crime simply because she is sexually attractive. Suarez uses the his book as a platform to describe his own male power fantasy, one that epitomizes the worst brand of dehumanizing sexual degradation.

    Please do not rationalize Suarez's intent: this material must not become an accepted norm in the science fiction genre. We men have a responsibility to reject it as entertainment.

    16 of 65 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lisa Winter Haven, FL, United States 05-23-10
    Lisa Winter Haven, FL, United States 05-23-10 Member Since 2006

    I enjoy reading!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Brutal Horrific Story"

    I started listening to this audiobook 2 days ago. First, the novel starts out with a very brutal and horrific murder. The author describes this in graphic details. Then, a second brutal murder. Next, there is a horrific rape scene. A 17 year old girl is given estasy at a club. She is made to take off her clothes. The owner rapes her, and then leaves her for his male employees to take turns with. While this is taking place it is being recorded and broadcasted all over the internet. I myself found it to be difficult to get past the scene. I and I have not yet finished the book.

    19 of 77 people found this review helpful
  •  
    James columbus, OH, United States 08-03-10
    James columbus, OH, United States 08-03-10 Member Since 2006

    sports announcer, cyclist, enjoys to travel and the outdoors.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    97
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    198
    94
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    1
    Overall
    "too difficult to get into"

    not my style of book , it was hard to get into this book, pass

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amber Ft Worth, TX, United States 03-13-09
    Amber Ft Worth, TX, United States 03-13-09
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    185
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Okay"

    Good story, but the ending seemed forced so there could be a sequel.

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Warren Aloha, OR, USA 02-23-09
    Warren Aloha, OR, USA 02-23-09 Member Since 2005
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    109
    3
    Overall
    "Great concept, disappointing conclusion"

    I enjoyed the concept of the book. Well written, good character development. Very poor wrap-up, however. Lots of loose ends and unresolved issues.

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John Northville, MI, United States 02-19-09
    John Northville, MI, United States 02-19-09 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    44
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Off Track"

    Two thirds good, one-third bad...really bad.

    1 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Christopher Waco, TX, USA 02-17-09
    Christopher Waco, TX, USA 02-17-09
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    3
    Overall
    "GreatStoryline-Poor Ending and Dialogue"

    I enjoyed the story--the author selected a very engaging and entertaining subject. However, the believability of the dialogue was poor, and the ending was disappointing. Despite all this, I enjoyed listening to it.

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 431-440 of 442 results PREVIOUS1434445NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.