We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
Daemon | [Daniel Suarez]

Daemon

Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.
Regular Price:$35.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer - the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy - or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

©2009 Daniel Suarez; (P)2009 Penguin Audio

What the Critics Say

"Suarez's riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills, and cyber suspense....A final twist that runs counter to expectations will leave readers anxiously awaiting the promised sequel." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (7096 )
5 star
 (4148)
4 star
 (1865)
3 star
 (674)
2 star
 (227)
1 star
 (182)
Overall
4.4 (4150 )
5 star
 (2522)
4 star
 (1011)
3 star
 (377)
2 star
 (140)
1 star
 (100)
Story
4.5 (4119 )
5 star
 (2577)
4 star
 (1100)
3 star
 (301)
2 star
 (88)
1 star
 (53)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Christopher portsmouth, VA, USA 03-26-10
    Christopher portsmouth, VA, USA 03-26-10 Member Since 2001
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Leo Chief TWIT knows his tech books"

    He talked about it on so many shows I figured it was worth a shot. And boy, was it ... I would rank it right up there with Snow Crash and A Diamond Age.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John Houston, TX, United States 03-26-10
    John Houston, TX, United States 03-26-10 Member Since 2009

    Love my sci-fi and fantasy, but delve into Historical and Biographical.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    120
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Gripping to the end"

    I am in IT, so this hits home even more. I thought this was a very intricate and well thought out book and just very well narrated as well.

    Not much I can say other than I neglected my usual podcasts for this gripping book in two days...even at home.

    I absolutely reccommend this one.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ann Walton, NY, USA 11-07-09
    Ann Walton, NY, USA 11-07-09
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    62
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Don't Bother"

    I can't for the life of me figure out where all of these five star reviews came from. Boring, ridiculous plot that often veers into the realm of silly.

    3 of 10 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Vic 09-08-09
    Vic 09-08-09 Member Since 2009

    Hello, I enjoy life!!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Victor Aroma's reveiw for Daemon"

    This book is excellent!
    I am on Chapter 27 listening right now.
    MUST READ!!
    You will not be able to put it down!

    By:
    Victor Aroma

    2 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    liveon2legs St. Louis, MO 06-09-09
    liveon2legs St. Louis, MO 06-09-09 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    68
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    157
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "World of Warcraft meets I-robot"

    I am not sure how I feel about this one. I would only recommend this to tech heads and gamers. Some of the concepts are pretty neat and the narration is decent, but overall it is pretty average.

    1 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mr. Michael S. Mcnamara Delran, NJ United States 03-24-09
    Mr. Michael S. Mcnamara Delran, NJ United States 03-24-09 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    129
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Very interesting...at first"

    Very well read and holds your interest. About 3/4 of the way in it starts to get improbable and the end is a bit ridiculous. Obviously there will be another book to follow. You could do worse, I just wish it finished up as well as it started.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michele Hillsdale, NJ, USA 03-16-09
    Michele Hillsdale, NJ, USA 03-16-09 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Just OK"

    I agree with some of the other reviewers...the end is a bit of a let down. The story is a little far fetched, but not terrible.

    1 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Aaron Los Lunase, NM, USA 02-19-09
    Aaron Los Lunase, NM, USA 02-19-09
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    2
    Overall
    "Very Good"

    I really enjoyed this book. The story and narration were both excellent.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    MyDogBen Seattle 03-29-10
    MyDogBen Seattle 03-29-10 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    45
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "What A Dud"

    Actor Jeff Gurner does a heroic job with atrocious material. If I could get this 7+ hours of my life back, I would.

    2 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Robert Alameda, CA, US Minor Outlying Islands 05-02-10
    Robert Alameda, CA, US Minor Outlying Islands 05-02-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Poor"

    I am not a prude and I am liberal, but when in an early chapter a date rape/movie at a club is described I just turned it off. Not just because of the subject, but so poorly written and juvenile. Won't waste my time on the rest. Mindless. Pathetic. Will delete.

    4 of 15 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 431-440 of 455 results PREVIOUS143444546NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.