We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Daemon | [Daniel Suarez]

Daemon

Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.
Regular Price:$35.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer - the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy - or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

©2009 Daniel Suarez; (P)2009 Penguin Audio

What the Critics Say

"Suarez's riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills, and cyber suspense....A final twist that runs counter to expectations will leave readers anxiously awaiting the promised sequel." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (8032 )
5 star
 (4708)
4 star
 (2107)
3 star
 (770)
2 star
 (251)
1 star
 (196)
Overall
4.4 (5019 )
5 star
 (3055)
4 star
 (1220)
3 star
 (467)
2 star
 (160)
1 star
 (117)
Story
4.5 (4985 )
5 star
 (3135)
4 star
 (1317)
3 star
 (373)
2 star
 (98)
1 star
 (62)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    07-18-10
    07-18-10 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    63
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "Great Story with Mediocre Execution"

    I'll start off with the good stuff- this story is fun and entertaining, and certainly interesting. It starts off as a murder mystery and then grows from there into a great cyber-tech-based thriller. It brings in game technology, computer technology, and network technology, and it feels a bit like nouveau-cyberpunk.

    The plot doesn't quite go where I expected, but in a good way. The book doesn't just fall into the trappings of good guy v. bad guy, there are a number of twists and turns that I did not expect and that I did not see coming.

    The book leaves the end dangling, think of the end to "Fellowship of the Ring" and you got it. Be warned - if you like this book, you will be buying the sequel, "Freedom (TM)".

    Now the bad stuff- The writing is not great. It tells the story, but feels forced at times. It seems like it *tries* to be creative and descriptive, instead of just being creative and descriptive.

    The women in his story seem like they were written by a 15 year old, as do the few sexual scenes in the book.

    The depiction of women is just the worst case of a general 2-dimensionality to all the characters. They all seem like caricatures of themselves, though this might be due to the narration.

    The narration- each character's voice is acted out by the voice actor, which makes it easier to tell which character is talking, but it brought me out of the story at times. Young guys sound like frat boy bros, and women sound like a guy dressed up as a woman on Halloween as a joke. The "hard boiled" detective has a batmanesque growl to his voice, and the big, black, former drug kingpin sounds like the old spice guy.

    I am not sure if it was the voice acting, the writing, or a combination of the two that made the characters sound flat to me.

    All this said, I did enjoy the book, and I will be getting the sequel. Like I said, the story is entertaining.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Christiaan Castro Valley, CA USA 07-16-10
    Christiaan Castro Valley, CA USA 07-16-10 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "One of my favorite audio books!"

    Although I did not love Jeff Gurner (the narrator) right away, I learned to appreciate his ability to distinguish all these different characters. But the story is incredible. It's gripping, smart, fast-paced, thorough (without being laborious), edgy and creative. I can't recommend it enough!

    Definite must-listen!!

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. Wigfall NYC, NY 06-17-10
    J. Wigfall NYC, NY 06-17-10 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    50
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    130
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Save your credit..."

    I really tried, but I just couldn't bare reading this any more; The rave party was total vomit. Some things just don't need to be spelled out even to establish how low a character can sink. The chapters following that never really get this book off the grown. I came back a few times, but it never got any better. I wish I could get my money back...

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Noah Massman Dallas, TX 05-18-10
    Noah Massman Dallas, TX 05-18-10 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Best. Scifi-Thriller. Ever."

    Daemon, and the sequel Freedom TM, and the best Scifi-Thriller books I've ever read. The plot is gripping and well executed. The voice acting in this audiobook is great.

    If you read Daemon, you have to read Freedom TM too. It only gets better in the sequel.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Klemmer Arlington, TX, United States 05-15-10
    Klemmer Arlington, TX, United States 05-15-10 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Great story and ideas"

    A great tech thriller with a very refreshing and interesting plot. Took about 2 hours to really get into but once I was hooked it was hard to stop listening.

    Some truly great moments. The assualt on Sobol's compound and Gragg's introduction to the daemon through Over the Rhine really stood out.

    The writing style is pretty weak, hopefully Suarez will grow as a writer, but the story is fantastic. Suarez does a wonderful job with the plot.

    Unfortunately the sequel, Freedom, wasn't as good.

    Highly recommended. Production value and narration is very good. Easy to listen to.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ben Indianapolis, IN, United States 05-07-10
    Ben Indianapolis, IN, United States 05-07-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "A+++++++++++"

    Fantastic book. Would read again!

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Matthew Mooresville, NC, USA 05-03-10
    Matthew Mooresville, NC, USA 05-03-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Very Good Book And An Even Better Performance"

    This book is such a thrill ride. Props go out to the narrators for doing such a fantastic job it would not be the same without them.

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mark Simi Valley, CA, USA 05-03-10
    Mark Simi Valley, CA, USA 05-03-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Very Entertaining!"

    This book was very enjoyable and entertaining. I thought they way that Suarez used current technology, really made the story believable. Jeff Gurner did an outstanding job narrating the story as well. Freedom (tm) is a must read as the ending of Daemon leaves you thirsty for more. Can't wait for Daniel's next novel!

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Colin atascadero, CA, United States 04-23-10
    Colin atascadero, CA, United States 04-23-10 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    191
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    287
    46
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    0
    Overall
    "Great read, very fun!"

    Very entertaining with a great twist. It's a 2 book series, don't expect a conclusion at the end of this first book.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bill Middlebury, VT, United States 04-18-10
    Bill Middlebury, VT, United States 04-18-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "Excellent Book, Excellent Narration"

    This is an unusual book without doubt. But if familiar with the inside workings of the internet, or of computer operating systems...it's a can't miss.

    Great suspense, interesting politics, great book.

    More, Mr. Suarez, please!

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 421-430 of 518 results PREVIOUS142434452NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.