We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Daemon | [Daniel Suarez]

Daemon

Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.
Regular Price:$35.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer - the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy - or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

©2009 Daniel Suarez; (P)2009 Penguin Audio

What the Critics Say

"Suarez's riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills, and cyber suspense....A final twist that runs counter to expectations will leave readers anxiously awaiting the promised sequel." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (8261 )
5 star
 (4850)
4 star
 (2170)
3 star
 (789)
2 star
 (255)
1 star
 (197)
Overall
4.4 (5225 )
5 star
 (3186)
4 star
 (1267)
3 star
 (488)
2 star
 (165)
1 star
 (119)
Story
4.5 (5189 )
5 star
 (3274)
4 star
 (1365)
3 star
 (386)
2 star
 (101)
1 star
 (63)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Bradford Lake Saint Louis, MO, United States 01-13-11
    Bradford Lake Saint Louis, MO, United States 01-13-11

    bpashea

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Read"

    This techno thriller was one of the best books I've read in a long time. It keeps the action well paced and has few if any slow moments. The author really did his homework on this book and had some very creative ideas that one day could manifest. Be advised that this is book 1 of 2 for this story and that his book "Freedom TM" will be required to finish the story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    eva Shavano Park, TX, United States 01-08-11
    eva Shavano Park, TX, United States 01-08-11 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    58
    28
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "pleasantly surprised"

    I am not a gamer nor do I know much about computers, but I really enjoyed the book a lot. I know that some said it was violent and graphic, and I agree that it was, but for me, those things made it interesting. I do a lot of mundane chores at times, so a book that can have my brain in another world, one that I really can't otherwise imagine, is a gift. I am downloading the sequel as I write this.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Eirik 01-05-11
    Eirik 01-05-11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    1
    Overall
    "So-so, but a terrible ending."

    The book was o-so at times, but some scenes were ridiculously unbelievable and the ending, or lack of one, was one of the worst I have ever read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    William Spring Creek, NV, United States 12-24-10
    William Spring Creek, NV, United States 12-24-10 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    151
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Starts well, then gets lost"

    Very poor narrator. Female narrator for the computer voice was terrific, however. Can't find her name here, but she deserves some sort of award.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Donald Braman 12-22-10

    thinkingitover

    HELPFUL VOTES
    42
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    364
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "formulaic"

    If you like formulaic thrillers (Dan Brown, James Patterson, etc.), this will fit the bill.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Raymond Madison, WI, United States 12-20-10
    Raymond Madison, WI, United States 12-20-10 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    49
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Debauchery Alert!"

    About 30 minutes into this book we hear the main character sexually exploiting a teenage girl in the most despicable, depraved and unspeakable way. If I were this girl’s father I would shot the kneecaps off of this guy, wait as he suffers, then drive a dull wooden stake into his heart. Sorry, I didn’t bother with rest of the book. I turned it off and deleted it from my computer. I then washed my hands. Call me a prude, I don't care. I'll listen to something that's truely entertaining.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    E. Risk North Dakota 11-17-10
    E. Risk North Dakota 11-17-10 Member Since 2009

    ER

    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    118
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Simply Fantastic"

    Daniel Suarez did a great job creating the characters and describing the daemon. The plot kept turning and I wanted more. Jeff Gurner did a great job bringing the characters to life I really enjoy his narration.

    Don't hesitate to get this book, it is well worth it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bruce Pontiac, MI, United States 11-04-10
    Bruce Pontiac, MI, United States 11-04-10 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    44
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "The last 80% is fantastic"

    I didn't care for the first 20% of this book for various reasons. But at a certain point, it got really, really good. Lots of action and a clever way to put all the possibilities of our wired and wireless world to a test of common mayhem and mutiny.

    There are a lot of poor reviews of the narration on here. For me, I didn't care for one character's voice (felt very forced and abrasive/cliche) but the rest were enjoyable and they added to the experience of the book. Plus there are "computer voices" performed too that add nice texture to the sonic landscape.

    I'm giving it four stars because the first 20% was not for me and also one of the main characters had a an unpleasant voice by the narrator. Other than that, it's a five-star book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dave Clingman 10-09-10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    "Superb story"

    The second best story I've ever heard on Audible, and the second best book I've ingested in the last 5 years - beaten on both accounts by the story's sequel: Freedom TM. The reader is superb, with perfect diction for the story. The story is relevant, plausible, thrilling, and full of suspense. Fully recommended.

    The one drawback was the one a number of other readers have commented on - the drug rape scene. It was too overwrought and overdone, and didn't contribute much to the story. It is not gratuitous - rather, it's a cautionary tale to na??ve parents "do you know what your teens are getting up to, and do you know how it could ruin their future in this modern world"?

    But otherwise - great!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wesley Cherry 10-04-10 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    1
    Overall
    "Amazing!"

    This was my first book on Audible and 6 months later it's still my favorite. The narrator does a great job of drawing you into the story and giving life to each of the characters. I recommend this book to all of my friends.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.