We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Daemon Audiobook

Daemon

Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.
    • 1 audiobook per month
    • 180,000+ titles to choose from
    • $14.95 per month after free trial

Publisher's Summary

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer - the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy - or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

©2009 Daniel Suarez; (P)2009 Penguin Audio

What the Critics Say

"Suarez's riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills, and cyber suspense....A final twist that runs counter to expectations will leave readers anxiously awaiting the promised sequel." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (8993 )
5 star
 (5290)
4 star
 (2365)
3 star
 (843)
2 star
 (278)
1 star
 (217)
Overall
4.4 (5918 )
5 star
 (3595)
4 star
 (1443)
3 star
 (547)
2 star
 (192)
1 star
 (141)
Story
4.5 (5878 )
5 star
 (3767)
4 star
 (1504)
3 star
 (422)
2 star
 (112)
1 star
 (73)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Harold Ashland, WI, United States 01-30-12
    Harold Ashland, WI, United States 01-30-12 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent book!"
    If you could sum up Daemon in three words, what would they be?

    Disturbingly plausible plot.


    Any additional comments?

    From the first incident in Daemon to the final wrap-up in Freedom, this story is exciting and thought provoking.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wesley 01-04-12
    Wesley 01-04-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What's th point. Every one dies."

    Can't believe it. A great performance is ruined by a endless story. Every body dies. That includes everybody. Even in "Freedom". No closure in either book. I'll bet we'll see the sequel to the sequel.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Patricia Washington, DC, United States 12-26-11
    Patricia Washington, DC, United States 12-26-11 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    494
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "GREAT BOOK BROUGHT TO AUDIO"
    What did you love best about Daemon?

    The storyline is great- and should give everyone something to think about. This is not just a techie-geek story; its a look at the future of society.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Pete Sebek of course


    What about Jeff Gurner’s performance did you like?

    Didn't really think about it-- with regards to audio books, you don't really think about who's talking- just if you can tolerate their reading of your favorite book. Jeff was able to do this.


    Any additional comments?

    read the book, now have the audio to listen to while commuting.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Daniel Martinez, CA, United States 12-05-11
    Daniel Martinez, CA, United States 12-05-11 Member Since 2007
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very Rare that I rate these..."
    Any additional comments?

    Even more rare when I leave a review, however this book has really caught me wanting the next book like I've very rarely experienced.

    A very realistic possibility even with today's technology really lets you become emerged into this book and characters quickly.

    I would HIGHLY Recommend this and the second book to anyone looking for a good read, scifi or not!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ann Abbotsford, B.C., Canada 12-05-11
    ann Abbotsford, B.C., Canada 12-05-11 Member Since 2015

    Ann.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    352
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1497
    40
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    22
    103
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "CHILLING!"

    In this highly suspenseful story, the author takes you back and forth between a computer game and a real life parallel. I was struck by the similarity to the non-fiction work by Sheldon S. Wolin, Democracy Incorporated: Managed Democracy and the Specter of totalitarianism.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Emily 11-23-11
    Emily 11-23-11 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    205
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    288
    41
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    20
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Lost me at the end."

    The writing is fast paced (always good in this genre) and the dialog is great. The story line is interesting and I was able to suspend belief in reality up until the last few chapters when the author completely lost me.

    Bullet bikes as assassination machines was just too much.

    3 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Marc Beaverton, OR, United States 11-21-11
    Marc Beaverton, OR, United States 11-21-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    63
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    142
    25
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great social commentary."

    I really didn't expect something so thought provoking in this book, but this is really the author's look at injustice in a corrupt country and one way to correct it (in a pretty gratifying, justice is served, kind of way). I liked it and Freedom, inc also!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Chuck United States 10-27-11
    Chuck United States 10-27-11 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Leaves you wanting more..."

    Slow but creative build-up to a disappointing, abrupt ending. Be prepared to purchase the sequel. I did enjoy the journey into the computer realm and into the minds of each character. The author did a great job crafting the story, making it real and plausible. I thought the narrator did a fantastic job. There is a fairly vulgar chapter early on that some females may not enjoy.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    SMcN Bellingham, WA USA 10-22-11
    SMcN Bellingham, WA USA 10-22-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    555
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Seeing the (near) Future"

    I actually read this book, and its companion 'Freedom (TM),' over a year ago. No book has ever stayed with me, or so accurately predicted events occurring today. This book is exciting from the first word, and will teach you more about security, corporate greed, and both the good and the bad that can come from reliance on technology. Very entertaining, and very informative.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    James Orangeville, ON, Canada 10-20-11
    James Orangeville, ON, Canada 10-20-11 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic, non stop action."

    Recommended by Steve Gibson from Security Now podcast. He was right, fast paced action that kept me listening. Very believable, scarily so. Moving onto Freedom TM right now.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.