We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Daemon Audiobook

Daemon

Regular Price:$35.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer - the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy - or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

©2009 Daniel Suarez; (P)2009 Penguin Audio

What the Critics Say

"Suarez's riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills, and cyber suspense....A final twist that runs counter to expectations will leave readers anxiously awaiting the promised sequel." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (11784 )
5 star
 (6827)
4 star
 (3199)
3 star
 (1119)
2 star
 (370)
1 star
 (269)
Overall
4.4 (8529 )
5 star
 (5046)
4 star
 (2148)
3 star
 (839)
2 star
 (286)
1 star
 (210)
Story
4.5 (8492 )
5 star
 (5505)
4 star
 (2143)
3 star
 (591)
2 star
 (152)
1 star
 (101)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    C. Gaylord Arbor Vitae, WI USA 08-17-14
    C. Gaylord Arbor Vitae, WI USA 08-17-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    98
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A computer game takes the real world to its knees!"

    Matthew Sobol was an ingenious game designer. His death triggered potential world wide financial destruction. Detective Sergeant Peter Sebeck is determined to foil Sobol's evil plot and keep him from becoming the wealthiest corpse in the world. But Sebeck has to convince skeptical government and military big-wigs, as well as the media, that a computer daemon, not himself, is responsible for the mayhem that follows Sobol's death. It is a hard sell; even though an expert computer gamer comes to his aid. This is a terrific story! And scary because it could become real – to a point.

    I give tho story nine out of ten stars. I deduct the tenth star for its over-the-top mayhem. I fear that even Hollywood would blanch at the prospect of committing it to film (digital hard drive).

    Being nearly three times thirty years old, I am computer literate but not a gamer. So I bought the book, researched the many terms that were new to me and I listened to the narration several times.

    The settings, the government and military response to an invisible threat and the financial machinations in the business sector are spot on. My hat off to Daniel Suarez, the author.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kenneth Richmond, TX, United States 08-14-14
    Kenneth Richmond, TX, United States 08-14-14 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    172
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    94
    29
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    31
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "SPEND YOUR CREDITS ON THIS!"

    Whenever I finish an amazing book I feel obligated to spread the word. I want to pay the author back in some small way for the enjoyment I got out of his or her work. This is one of those series I have been telling everyone one that will listen to me about. Read. This. Series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    MJ 08-12-14
    MJ 08-12-14

    Avid Reader

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Mix of Tech & Action"
    Where does Daemon rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    This is one of the tops of the audiobooks I've listened to.


    What other book might you compare Daemon to and why?

    As nearly as possible it's close to Neuromancer in that it deals with the technology accurately and without mistakes that pull you our of the experience. The difference is that this has more action and a quicker pace that doesn't drag in places like Neuromancer.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    When the attack on the government's research center kicks off and all the groundwork that the Daemon has done comes to fruition. WOW!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Marilyn Morrison St Paul, MN United States 08-11-14
    Marilyn Morrison St Paul, MN United States 08-11-14 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    343
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just ok.."

    This story has a good premise, but depended a bit too much on so many things just conveniently falling into place to make it work.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    murphytwin 08-05-14
    murphytwin 08-05-14 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wasn't convinced at first, but I kept listening..."
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    ... boy was I glad that I did! Deamon is an absolutely immersive story, that just takes you deeper and deeper down its rabbit hole. The more you listen, the deeper you go – until you find yourself completely vested. I have to start book 2 right now!!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    willdan Fort Worth, Texas 08-01-14
    willdan Fort Worth, Texas 08-01-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very entertaining"

    I wasn't sure what to expect with this book but I really enjoyed it I liked it so much I went out and bought the sequel, and I almost never buy books without a credit. I thought the story was very well done and the narrator did a great job of keeping all the characters separate.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Te Gurule 07-15-14
    Te Gurule 07-15-14 Member Since 2016

    gliderider

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    38
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "EXCELLENT"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Daemon to be better than the print version?

    good question. in a book i'd skip the pages on the geeky stuff.


    What did you like best about this story?

    story


    Which scene was your favorite?

    when the cop was killed


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    don't know


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Eugenia Chatsworth, CA, US 06-18-14
    Eugenia Chatsworth, CA, US 06-18-14 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    464
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    280
    203
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    37
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Heavy on the Techno, Light on the Reality"

    As far as I could tell from the reviews, I am one of a mere handful of women who have listened to this book. I am not a gamer, but I do understand technology so I was able to follow most of the techno-speak. But, I'm sorry, that does not make a good novel. It mostly served to bog down the story and helped to create cardboard characters.
    Anyway, about a third way through, I was ready to stop listening because of the dull, repetitive techno babble. Then finally the story heated up and moved along swiftly, albeit still immersed in techno babble. And gore. Lots of head and guts exploding. Lots of fun. Not.
    My favorite parts were when the disembodied female voice spoke as those scenes were truly chilling without all the blood, guts and head explosions.
    Without giving away anything, the end (or rather the cliffhanger calling out for a sequel ending), descended into a mess of chaotic suspension of disbelief.
    But, what can I say? I'm ready to listen to the sequel.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Robert 06-06-14
    Robert 06-06-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    49
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Overrated"

    The concept of the book is really good, and there are some promising elements and scenes. However, I never really cared about any of the characters and so many of them are full of clichés. There are also many scenes in which I was like... "OK OK, I get it already!...Move on!"

    In the end it was good enough to finish, but I am unlikely to move onto "Freedom".

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jay Huntingdon, PA, United States 05-22-14
    Jay Huntingdon, PA, United States 05-22-14 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    34
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    113
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Mind stretching"
    Any additional comments?

    After reading many books, I've thought to myself, "I could've written that"--even though I couldn't. This book...wow...I couldn't have written it because I couldn't have imagined it. My interactions with computers are mundane, and this book made me realize that the computer "revolution" has barely begun. This story is both thought-provoking and action packed.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.