We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Daemon | [Daniel Suarez]

Daemon

Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.
Regular Price:$35.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer - the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy - or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

©2009 Daniel Suarez; (P)2009 Penguin Audio

What the Critics Say

"Suarez's riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills, and cyber suspense....A final twist that runs counter to expectations will leave readers anxiously awaiting the promised sequel." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (8147 )
5 star
 (4779)
4 star
 (2140)
3 star
 (780)
2 star
 (251)
1 star
 (197)
Overall
4.4 (5121 )
5 star
 (3122)
4 star
 (1245)
3 star
 (475)
2 star
 (161)
1 star
 (118)
Story
4.5 (5085 )
5 star
 (3210)
4 star
 (1338)
3 star
 (376)
2 star
 (98)
1 star
 (63)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Dustin Walton, KY, United States 01-30-11
    Dustin Walton, KY, United States 01-30-11 Listener Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    25
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    25
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "B-Fiction at it's best!"

    Yeah I agree that this is like a B-movie, but it's still an interesting story. The funny thing is, I tried to read the paperback, but found the writing so terrible that I just couldn't get into it, however, as an audiobook it was much better. The writing's bad, but the story's great. If you're into techy sci fi it's a must listen, just don't try to read it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kelly 01-27-11
    Kelly 01-27-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    74
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Good, until the end"

    I had a hard time getting used to the mechanical style of the narrator at first, but his voice and style soon won me over. I work in tech and was really impressed with the author's research and vision for technologies potential for evil. l don't want to print a spoiler, so all I will say is that I enjoyed the ride, but was left unfulfilled in the end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Heather Berkeley, CA, United States 01-25-11
    Heather Berkeley, CA, United States 01-25-11 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    "Lots of fun, fast-paced, interesting speculation.."

    This is your classic action movie except that the premise is very realistic, and the moral flexibility of the daemon gets more interesting as the book goes on. I'm a big nerd and was impressed with the accuracy of the technology - surely not all stuff that could be done today, but much of it is a natural extension of what is possible.

    I highly recommend reading the sequel as well - arguably better than this one in the way it really makes you question the role of society and technology in society. While this one is mostly just a action packed thriller with some somewhat interesting characters, the next one takes a step back and messes with the roles of good and evil.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Spencer 01-18-11
    Spencer 01-18-11 Member Since 2015

    SCT

    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    91
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    "Almost loses a star for the ending"

    This is just what I look for in an audiobook: fun, fast, a bit silly, and great for a commute. The only thing that isn't over-the-top in the book is the technology; Suarez really knows his stuff. He keeps everything as plausible as could be given a nearly unthinkable premise. If you are a fan of someone like William Gibson, but could stand to listen to something that doesn't take itself quite so seriously, you really should give this a chance. The production is really great as well. The actors do a great job, as well as the engineers. But be warned -- if you like this, you HAVE to listen to the sequel. I haven't felt this sense of longing at an ending since the Sopranos.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jennifer 01-14-11
    Jennifer 01-14-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    123
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    "Fast Moving Techno Fiction"

    Daemon is the story of an AI application released upon the death of a programmer. The story maintains a fast moving pace all the way to the finish. The book doesn't pass the Bechdel Test, but trying to discern the program's larger purpose from the many subplots is very engaging.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bradford Lake Saint Louis, MO, United States 01-13-11
    Bradford Lake Saint Louis, MO, United States 01-13-11

    bpashea

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Read"

    This techno thriller was one of the best books I've read in a long time. It keeps the action well paced and has few if any slow moments. The author really did his homework on this book and had some very creative ideas that one day could manifest. Be advised that this is book 1 of 2 for this story and that his book "Freedom TM" will be required to finish the story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    eva Shavano Park, TX, United States 01-08-11
    eva Shavano Park, TX, United States 01-08-11 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    51
    27
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "pleasantly surprised"

    I am not a gamer nor do I know much about computers, but I really enjoyed the book a lot. I know that some said it was violent and graphic, and I agree that it was, but for me, those things made it interesting. I do a lot of mundane chores at times, so a book that can have my brain in another world, one that I really can't otherwise imagine, is a gift. I am downloading the sequel as I write this.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Eirik 01-05-11
    Eirik 01-05-11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    1
    Overall
    "So-so, but a terrible ending."

    The book was o-so at times, but some scenes were ridiculously unbelievable and the ending, or lack of one, was one of the worst I have ever read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    William Spring Creek, NV, United States 12-24-10
    William Spring Creek, NV, United States 12-24-10 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    151
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Starts well, then gets lost"

    Very poor narrator. Female narrator for the computer voice was terrific, however. Can't find her name here, but she deserves some sort of award.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Donald Braman 12-22-10

    thinkingitover

    HELPFUL VOTES
    42
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    363
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "formulaic"

    If you like formulaic thrillers (Dan Brown, James Patterson, etc.), this will fit the bill.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 401-410 of 523 results PREVIOUS140414253NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.