We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Daemon | [Daniel Suarez]

Daemon

Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.
Regular Price:$35.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer - the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy - or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

©2009 Daniel Suarez; (P)2009 Penguin Audio

What the Critics Say

"Suarez's riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills, and cyber suspense....A final twist that runs counter to expectations will leave readers anxiously awaiting the promised sequel." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (8374 )
5 star
 (4911)
4 star
 (2208)
3 star
 (796)
2 star
 (256)
1 star
 (203)
Overall
4.4 (5333 )
5 star
 (3236)
4 star
 (1308)
3 star
 (497)
2 star
 (168)
1 star
 (124)
Story
4.5 (5298 )
5 star
 (3348)
4 star
 (1391)
3 star
 (390)
2 star
 (104)
1 star
 (65)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    E. Miller 06-28-11
    E. Miller 06-28-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    58
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Couldn't Take The EarBuds Out"

    Astounding, frightening, plausible, brilliant. You don't need to have ever played an online game or have any special computer knowledge to enjoy this book. Here's hoping for a sequel - he certainly opened the door for one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Courtney 06-01-11
    Courtney 06-01-11 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    46
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    249
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    5
    Overall
    "Wow"

    This book is amazing!!! The first 2 hours are slow moving, but I stuck with it because of all the glowing reviews. I actually started spring cleaning and sent my husband to play golf so I could listen to it uninterrupted for 6 hours. Just purchased Freedom and I am looking forward to cleaning the blinds and windows now.

    If you only get one book this summer this is the one to buy...oh yeah the narrator is superb.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Maureen 04-30-11
    Maureen 04-30-11 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    90
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "TERRIBLE"

    I bought this book because of the reviews. I can't believe the positive reviews after reading this book. The premise is sophomoric. The characters are not well delineated, so it was difficult to follow who was who. new people appear without warning. Do not waste your time with this story.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    maxpower San Diego, CA United States 04-29-11
    maxpower San Diego, CA United States 04-29-11 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    49
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    61
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Stepping stone to the awesome sequel"

    This book was pretty entertaining, but the sequel really takes it up a notch... read this so you can read the sequel.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ryan 04-11-11
    Ryan 04-11-11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    2
    Overall
    "Best novel I've read so far"

    It would have given it a 5 star rating if those 2 unnecessary sex/club chapters were removed.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Scott Miller 04-09-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Computer geek thriller"

    If you are a computer geek, this book is for you. A very compelling and original story. Found this title based on recommendations from the twit.tv network.


    The only downsides are that the story is a bit heavy on dialogue but perhaps that makes it work well as an audio book.


    The sequel to this is Freedom. Be sure to listen to Daemon first.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Chris Powell, WY, United States 04-09-11
    Chris Powell, WY, United States 04-09-11 Member Since 2007

    Love epic sci fi and fantasy, but hate looking of really good books. So many duds out there. I am gamer too.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    126
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    419
    32
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    15
    0
    Overall
    "Fictional techo"

    It's hard to really discuss this book without giving away too much. While it starts out somewhat plausible, it begins to fall into realm of high tech fiction fantasy. While it is food for thought, a message that we may be tied to closely to our machines, the end is a very extreme what if every thing that can go wrong, does. While the some of the scenarios and technology are possible, the combination's of it all are highly unlikely. I was hoping for something more in the realm of today's standards, a high tech crime drama/mystery.The story is engrossing and compelling, but tends to get lost at times following characters that randomly pop up and adds little to the story. There are some really good action scenes that I was not expecting. It drives me nuts hearing the narrator say daemon, like demon, and not day-mon. There is a lot of techo speak that some people may not understand. It would help to have background in programming, electronics, or networking. The narrator is pretty good, but does not have a lot of different voices to give to all the characters, but he does accents well. Once you can take the book for what it is, it can be a very enjoyable ride. By the end is seems the daemon has the world by the throat, the ending is a cliff hanger for sure, so you will probably want to get the next the book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John 04-03-11
    John 04-03-11 Member Since 2008

    kalevr1

    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    81
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "Fantastic!"

    This book was thoroughly enjoyable. I liked that the technical terms were not watered down. Any tech savvy person will appreciate that. Not only was it captivating from start to finish but it also has a lot of political nuances that indict our modern economically-based, oligarchical power structures. The discussions about the parasitic nature of international power brokers that pull the strings of world governments were particularly fascinating.

    In fact, there is almost a novel within a novel for those who wonder how modern plutocrats could be challenged by the masses. Amazingly enough, those who have never heard of plutocrats or oligarchs will not be put off by these discussions since they are usually presented in the context of video games.

    That is the beauty of how the story takes shape. Some characters see what is happening as nothing more than a video game while the major players know that the outcome will shape the future of mankind. I promise that if you read the book, everything I just said will make sense. So strap yourself in, because it's going to be quite a ride.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Craig Monongahela, PA, United States 04-01-11
    Craig Monongahela, PA, United States 04-01-11 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "'Enthralling' is right"

    The writing is mediocre: replete with cliches, weak dialog, and take-you-out-of-the-story social commentary. Gurner reads well but sounds wrong delivering lines like "a corpulent man in his fifties with ill-fitting pants." That had me laughing so hard I had to stop the book to recover. The overall conceit is unbelievable (despite what my fellow "geeks" seem to think) and a handful of the technical details are wrong- although probably to make a point or usher the story along.

    Having said that, Daemon has one heck of a plot. If an audiobook has me looking forward to doing dishes or cleaning the yard just so I can hear what happens next, it ranks high in my pantheon of good reads. I have a nicely trimmed yard, thanks to Mr Suarez, and I am downloading the sequel after I submit this review. A previous reviewer called Daemon "enthralling" and I have to agree.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lee Burlington, ON, Canada 03-30-11
    Lee Burlington, ON, Canada 03-30-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Wow"

    I was blown away by this book, both the writing and the narrator. Not many books can use such techno babble and actual make it sound interesting and legitimate. The whole book flowed quickly, with plenty of twists and turns and down right interesting writing. The narration and voices could not have been better. I was sorry to have ended this book and cant wait to listen to it again!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.