We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Daemon | [Daniel Suarez]

Daemon

Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.
Regular Price:$35.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer - the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy - or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

©2009 Daniel Suarez; (P)2009 Penguin Audio

What the Critics Say

"Suarez's riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills, and cyber suspense....A final twist that runs counter to expectations will leave readers anxiously awaiting the promised sequel." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (8484 )
5 star
 (4988)
4 star
 (2230)
3 star
 (802)
2 star
 (258)
1 star
 (206)
Overall
4.4 (5440 )
5 star
 (3314)
4 star
 (1326)
3 star
 (504)
2 star
 (169)
1 star
 (127)
Story
4.5 (5404 )
5 star
 (3433)
4 star
 (1407)
3 star
 (393)
2 star
 (104)
1 star
 (67)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Luke Vancouver, BC, Canada 09-16-11
    Luke Vancouver, BC, Canada 09-16-11 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    32
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    41
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Intense! Exciting! An all-too realistic future!"

    Daemon is a fast-paced, exciting and hugely intriguing story about a possible future not too far off. There is a solid and incredibly exciting plot with a rich variety of interesting and unlikely heroes, set against terrifying villains with near unlimited resources. The ideas Suarez proposes are surprisingly original, yet seem not only likely - but almost inevitable. The performance is good in general, but some of the voices Jeff Gurner uses get a little distracting at points. Still - one of the best audio books I've ever listened to!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lahey 09-12-11
    Lahey 09-12-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "WOW!"

    Fast paced, gripping, easily understood… and truly makes you think about the consequences of the hi-technology that is controlling most facets of our lives. Highly recommended!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Peter 08-27-11
    Peter 08-27-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Simply, a fantastic thriller"

    This is one of the most refreshing listens or books that I've read ever. For once, thank you, is the technical details not annoyingly incorrect or superficial, but well researched, well explained, and amazingly conceptualized. As an IT professional I have a hard time picturing how people with less computer and network technology experience will react to this book, even I had to stop and google a thing or two. Perhaps they don't care because the story is so engaging. This is a very "modern" book in a sense, not necessarily for the masses, but at the same time that's what makes it so good. It describes environments and situations many urban, technically inclined folks can relate to. Strongly recommended, a ground breaking piece.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Arnold toronto, ON, Canada 08-18-11
    Arnold toronto, ON, Canada 08-18-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    246
    36
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great science fiction"

    This was a pleasant surprise from someone I hadn't heard of and the narrator was new to me as well. The plot is fantastic, it's one of those plots where you think someone should have done this a long time ago, its so obvious, pulled right from the headlines of today. Developing this plot must have been pretty tricky too because he doesn't dumb down the technology at all, but he pulls off each development with great skill. I also like how the narration is done mostly by one guy but they insert a female voice for certain characters to great effect. The characters are very good, unfortunately I just listened to The Matterhorn, which was the best book I've heard this year. If I hadn't listened to that just previous I would have given this 5 stars.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Martin dunwoody, GA, United States 08-08-11
    Martin dunwoody, GA, United States 08-08-11 Member Since 2009

    GT Jacket

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    72
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome fiction story "

    It is science fiction set in the present. A unique premise paired with great story telling.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    M.W. SW USA 07-30-11
    M.W. SW USA 07-30-11 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    215
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    365
    191
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    15
    19
    Overall
    "I'm Impressed"

    I'm a jaded reader, but this book was a refreshing change. It was interesting, intelligent and well written. It kept me interested until the very end...when I realized there was obviously a sequel. Oh, well, I already have the next book on my wish list. I just hope the author can keep up the suspense and interesting premise. I'm actually excited to start the next book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    E. Miller 06-28-11
    E. Miller 06-28-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    58
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Couldn't Take The EarBuds Out"

    Astounding, frightening, plausible, brilliant. You don't need to have ever played an online game or have any special computer knowledge to enjoy this book. Here's hoping for a sequel - he certainly opened the door for one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Courtney 06-01-11
    Courtney 06-01-11 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    47
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    249
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    5
    Overall
    "Wow"

    This book is amazing!!! The first 2 hours are slow moving, but I stuck with it because of all the glowing reviews. I actually started spring cleaning and sent my husband to play golf so I could listen to it uninterrupted for 6 hours. Just purchased Freedom and I am looking forward to cleaning the blinds and windows now.

    If you only get one book this summer this is the one to buy...oh yeah the narrator is superb.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Maureen 04-30-11
    Maureen 04-30-11 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    92
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "TERRIBLE"

    I bought this book because of the reviews. I can't believe the positive reviews after reading this book. The premise is sophomoric. The characters are not well delineated, so it was difficult to follow who was who. new people appear without warning. Do not waste your time with this story.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    maxpower San Diego, CA United States 04-29-11
    maxpower San Diego, CA United States 04-29-11 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    49
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    62
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Stepping stone to the awesome sequel"

    This book was pretty entertaining, but the sequel really takes it up a notch... read this so you can read the sequel.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.