We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Daemon | [Daniel Suarez]

Daemon

Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.
Regular Price:$35.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer - the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy - or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

©2009 Daniel Suarez; (P)2009 Penguin Audio

What the Critics Say

"Suarez's riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills, and cyber suspense....A final twist that runs counter to expectations will leave readers anxiously awaiting the promised sequel." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (8496 )
5 star
 (4997)
4 star
 (2231)
3 star
 (803)
2 star
 (258)
1 star
 (207)
Overall
4.4 (5451 )
5 star
 (3320)
4 star
 (1329)
3 star
 (505)
2 star
 (169)
1 star
 (128)
Story
4.5 (5416 )
5 star
 (3444)
4 star
 (1407)
3 star
 (394)
2 star
 (104)
1 star
 (67)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Andrew Madison, WI, United States 06-18-13
    Andrew Madison, WI, United States 06-18-13 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    65
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "If you like stuff more than people"

    This book was not terrible but it seemed like it was written by/for IT professionals (and I am one). The tech is deeply fetishised, sometimes this is interesting like when discussing hacking etc in a semi-realistic way but other times it is just name-dropping brand names of watches and cars. I think I learned more about the characters accessories than their feelings. It holds together mostly on a smaller scale but as the plot widens it goes off the rails a bit in believability and in the characters ability to carry it.

    Oh, and there are two girls in it that I can recall, one is a bitch and the other is a two dimensional love interest who gets rescued despite at least giving her an interesting job.

    I dunno, maybe I expected a good sci-fi novel and got a 'techo-thriller' instead.

    18 of 21 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Andrew 02-11-09
    Andrew 02-11-09
    HELPFUL VOTES
    52
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    143
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Just short of Great"

    I heard about this book the day I heard Michael Creighton died. Suarez is a worthy successor. The pace gallops along,one learns about, and understands, the implications of high tech, and it just plain fun to read. Is it too techie for some? Maybe, but everything is explained well and is real (not like, say, teleporters in Star Trek). Only disappointment is the end--not that it is illogical or doesn't make sense--in that it is something of a letdown considering how the book builds up and up.

    13 of 15 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rose 09-30-09
    Rose 09-30-09 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    223
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    281
    48
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    17
    3
    Overall
    "Sequel?????"

    Firstly, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. A very well written and thought out storyline. However, as other have said, I did not know it was part one of what appears to be a series???? The ending was clever, and again, well done, but it just flat out ended abruptly with no warning. I sat there for a couple of minutes feeling a bit taken advantage of...Sequel$$, however I'm over it and can't wait for the sequel! Let's just hope it has a complete ending in book two and he doesn't leave us stranded again. Jeff Gurner was exceptional with the narration and I will look to see what else he has read.

    8 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brad Los Gatos, CA, USA 04-23-10
    Brad Los Gatos, CA, USA 04-23-10 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "Great start...."

    The story got off to a strong start, modulo a ridiculous "how to execute a date rape" scene. As I got three-quarters of the way into this book, I kept asking myself "How can Suarez tie all this stuff up?" When I got to the end, I got the answer: "He couldn't." Worse, he didn't even try. Lame attempt at a cliff-hanger. Left me completely unsatisfied.

    12 of 14 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mark Reno, NV, United States 01-12-13
    Mark Reno, NV, United States 01-12-13 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    138
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    99
    84
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good thriller but..."
    Any additional comments?

    A genius software developer’s death triggers a computer virus that threatens to take control of the world. It’s pretty much non-stop action. The cutting-edge technical stuff kept it interesting, plus there are the seeds of some interesting ideas. I've started the sequel, “Freedom TM.” On the downside, the characters are never developed enough to care about anyone; it fails Question 2 in the Bechdel test (there’s never a conversation between two women) and there's a gang rape scene where the woman is made to seem like she wants it (it's not sympathetic to the rapists, it's more part of the action, but it's questionable).

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sean P 02-20-10
    Sean P 02-20-10 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Great Book, Great Narrator, Great Oral Rendition"

    I have been on audible for a few months. I have downloaded over 6 books and this one is simply a great book. The narrator is awesome, making characters distinguishable fron one another, and Daniel Suarez backs it up with a great techno-thrilling plot. The plot gets to be a stretch, but let your mind go, and you'll enjoy it. I highly recommend it to those that are geeky gamers, to tech heads.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mark Westminster, CA, United States 06-02-09
    Mark Westminster, CA, United States 06-02-09 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Wow! Talk about a page turner!"

    What a super story! Put this selection on your Wish List!

    If you're a geek you'll like the tech. If you're not a geek but you can spell PC you'll appreciate the tech and like the rest.

    The action is really well done. The characters are believable. The government bureaucracy is typical.

    Jeff Gurner (narrator) is really very good. Some of his character voices sound a little fake (cartoonish) but still very good. He's a narrator I'll look for in further selections.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Charles Nicholasville, KY, United States 02-08-09
    Charles Nicholasville, KY, United States 02-08-09 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    81
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    266
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    8
    0
    Overall
    "Hack the Planet!"

    If you are into computers, have a good technical background, love science fiction, and still watch the movie Hackers from time to time, you will enjoy this audio book. This would be a great movie but would it would suck if it was made on a cheap budget. Well done Daniel Suarez. I will look forward to future books by you. Do I see a sequel in the future?

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Phx. AZ United States 02-02-09
    Amazon Customer Phx. AZ United States 02-02-09 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    111
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    836
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Real world techno-thriller"

    I got this book after hearing an interview of the author.

    In the interview he said that all on the tech in the novel does now exist, and could (if used by the right people) do exactly what is laid out in the novel.

    Listen to the story, and let the fact that it may come true keep you up at night.

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ethan Marietta, GA, USA 12-29-09
    Ethan Marietta, GA, USA 12-29-09 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "An Amazing Tech Thriller"

    This book, Daemon is an amazing technology thriller. I'm almost finished with Part 1 of the 2 Part Audio book and can't stop listening to it!

    If you are interested in computers or technology this is THE book to read (listen to). The content is very smart and accurate.

    The Technology press have given the book very high acclaim and reviews. Rumor from article reviews has indicated the government is carefully reviewing the book and believes its study may assist in preventing future technology threats.
    This is an amazing book and the best I've listened to in a long time! Daniel Suarez is clearly an author to follow. He is the Michael Crichton of Tech Thrillers in my eyes!


    9 of 11 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.