We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Cut Short: Geraldine Steel Series, Book 1 | [Leigh Russell]

Cut Short: Geraldine Steel Series, Book 1

When DI Geraldine Steel relocates to the quiet rural town of Woolsmarsh, she expects to find her new home to be somewhere where nothing much ever happens; a space where she can battle her demons in private. But when she finds herself pitted against a twisted killer preying on local young women, she quickly discovers how wrong she is....
Regular Price:$19.75
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Ruth Rendell, Lynda la Plante, Frances Fyfield and Barbara Vine, Cut Short is a gripping psychological thriller that introduces DI Geraldine Steel, a woman whose past is threatening to collide with her future.

When DI Geraldine Steel relocates to the quiet rural town of Woolsmarsh, she expects to find her new home to be somewhere where nothing much ever happens; a space where she can battle her demons in private. But when she finds herself pitted against a twisted killer preying on local young women, she quickly discovers how wrong she is....

By day, the park is a place for children's games, for people walking their dogs or taking a short cut to avoid the streets. But in the shadows a predator prowls, hunting for a fresh victim. When an unwitting bystander comes forward as a witness she quickly becomes the next object of his murderous obsessions; someone whom the killer must stop at all costs.

DI Geraldine Steel is locked into a race against time, determined to find the killer before yet another naked corpse turns up. But can she save the lives of the town's young women - or will Geraldine herself become the killer's ultimate trophy?

What the Narrator Says

"Becoming Geraldine Steel was fantastic fun. She's a great, strong female character who takes you with her on dark journeys into the criminal world. She makes mistakes but she certainly fixes them with aplomb! Leigh has created a grimy world full of depraved and scary criminals but Geraldine and her colleagues (particularly the brilliant Ian Peterson), are determined to put criminals where they belong - behind bars. Can't wait for the next instalment..." Lucy Price-Lewis on narrating the Geraldine Steel series.

©2012 Leigh Russell (P)2012 Audible Ltd

What the Critics Say

"Cut Short is a stylish, top-of-the-line crime tale, a seamless blending of psychological sophistication and gritty police procedure. And you're just plain going to love DI Geraldine Steel." (Jeffery Deaver)

"Russell paints a careful and intriguing portrait of a small British community while developing a compassionate and complex heroine who's sure to win fans." (Publisher's Weekly)

"Simply awesome! This debut novel by Leigh Russell will take your breath away." (Amanda C M Gillies, eurocrime.co.uk)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.7 (12 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
3.7 (10 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Story
3.7 (10 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Tracey Danville, AR, United States 08-05-13
    Tracey Danville, AR, United States 08-05-13 Member Since 2007

    I am a voracious reader (average about 4-5 Audible books a week, in addition to those I "eyeball".) I have been hooked on recorded books since the time of cassettes/CDs and was thrilled when I became an Audible member in 2007. I find reader reviews good guides to spending my credits, so have finally decided to write a few (although, I would rather be reading!)

    HELPFUL VOTES
    524
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    973
    69
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    87
    49
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Decent debut British Police Procedural"

    From the blurb, I thought I would love this novel, as I am a big fan of British mysteries, especially police procedurals. However, I never really related to any of the characters and there was no "mystery," as we are introduced to the villain's point of view (POV) early on. The shifting POV was a bit jarring occasionally (from victim to police to villain to witness and back to police) and the narrative voices seemed a bit unrealistic at times.

    Despite the choppy writing and the underdeveloped characters, I would probably purchase the next book in this series, as I believe the writer will continue to improve her product.

    Lucy Price-Lewis, the narrator, did a good job of differentiating the many characters.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Diane Philadelphia, PA, United States 12-09-13
    Diane Philadelphia, PA, United States 12-09-13 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "My first and probably last Leigh Russell book"

    I couldn't make it through the entire book. The writing seemed simplistic and the narration bad. I don't like when the narrator changes their voice dramatically by character, especially when a woman puts on a deep voice for a mans character and an East End accent that sounds so fake.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-2 of 2 results
Sort by:
  • peter
    Plymouth, United Kingdom
    9/10/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very disappointing"
    If this book wasn’t for you, who do you think might enjoy it more?

    It is hard to say


    Has Cut Short put you off other books in this genre?

    No


    Would you be willing to try another one of Lucy Price-Lewis’s performances?

    Yes, but not another book by this author


    You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    Very few


    Any additional comments?

    I am a great fan of crime/thriller books with a police procedural aspect to them but I have to say that, probably, this is the poorest such novel I have listened to for quite a long time. I feel this way for three reasons:
    Firstly, I think the choice of a character with both learning disability and serious chronic mental illness as the murderer is ethically questionable. There is quite a lot of ‘How can we stop mentally ill people from going round murdering people?’ type of hysteria in the public media, when, the fact is that people with learning difficulties and mental illness are significantly less likely to be murderers than people without such disorders. The reality is that one is much more likely to be murdered by a sane person than a mad one. People with mental and learning problems have had to fight very hard to combat the stigma that has attached to such disorders in the past. Books like this exploit these vulnerable people and set back the cause of normalising mental health issues. Furthermore the author shows a very inadequate understanding about how people with serious chronic mental illness are looked after in the community.
    Secondly, the quality of writing in this book is not very good, to say the least. Someone in another review described it with the phrase ‘...GCSE level...’ I would very much agree with that. Much of it has the literary quality of a very average adolescent school essay. Examples of ‘he said...she said...then they said..etc’ type dialogue and description, together with unnecessarily repeated actions and phrases, abound throughout the book.
    Thirdly, there is very little real character development. None of the protagonists in the story really come to life in any sustained way. There are ‘stubs’ of side stories such as the graffiti attacks on Geraldine’s home and car, possible drinking/alcoholism issues with her boss the DCI, and the inclusion of a former rock superstar, and his daughter’s love life, but none are properly developed or embedded in the overall narrative in a way that makes real sense of why they are included.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • sharon
    Falmouth, United Kingdom
    7/15/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hmmm..not sure"

    There's nothing wrong with this debut, it is written well, the plot is paced nicely and well it just is, I neither feel its good or bad and I could not get behind any of the characters they where grey and a bit drab, feeling nothing but ambivalence to the whole story. Saying that I am going to read more I just hope Geraldine's character grows a little more interesting with surrounding characters growing with her..

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Saffy
    UK
    12/4/12
    Overall
    "Excellent police procedural"

    Great start to the series and highly recommended. The kind of police procedural I love listening to - great characterisation, plot and narration.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-3 of 3 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.