We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Biblical: A Novel Audiobook

Biblical: A Novel

Regular Price:$24.47
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Michael Crichton and Margaret Atwood comes this apocalyptic thriller that pits cutting-edge science against God and asks, who will win?

A strange phenomenon is sweeping the globe. People are having visions, seeing angels, experiencing events that defy reality. Bizarre accounts pour in from distant places: a French teenager claims to have witnessed Joan of Arc being burned at the stake; a man in New York dies of malnutrition in a luxurious Central Park apartment; a fundamentalist Christian sect kidnaps and murders a geneticist.

Then there is the graffiti We Are Becoming that has popped up in every major city around the world, in every language. And everywhere people are starting to talk about John Astor, the mysterious author of the book that seems to be at the center of it all.

After a rash of suicides around the world by individuals experiencing time-traveling hallucinations, psychiatrist John Macbeth and a team of FBI agents and scientists assemble to find out what's going on before it's too late. Is this a spiritual phenomenon - or something more sinister?

©2014 Christopher Galt (P)2014 Pegasus

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (46 )
5 star
 (18)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
3.8 (42 )
5 star
 (16)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.2 (43 )
5 star
 (21)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Kathy Davis, CA, United States 10-08-14
    Kathy Davis, CA, United States 10-08-14 Member Since 2008

    Besides incessant listening to audiobooks, I also read on my Kindle at night, birdwatch, garden (roses, daylilies), and do genealogy.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2291
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    533
    319
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    235
    49
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I so wanted to love this book!"

    You should never buy a new car model in its first year and you should not get an audiobook after reading only 1 review! However, I purchased this book firmly convinced I would love it. It sounded intriguing and had a wonderfully positive review.

    And here's the thing. It has a very skilled narrator who did everything perfectly. And, I am sure, it is very well written, very intelligently thought out and researched, technologically oriented, and it is the type of science fiction I usually like. So, what went wrong?

    Well, I am still trying to figure it out, so bear with me. As far as the characters, there were none I could identify with nor any I found interesting or especially likeable. Throughout the great majority of the book, extremely odd things were happening such as mass hallucinations. Lots of symptoms were presented with only vague hints of what might be the cause. I wasn't holding my breath in anticipation, nor was I invested enough to care very much. You could say that for me, this was not a nail-biter, and that might be an understatement!

    Yet, I hung in there and kept listening whenever I could, as I was sure that when the great reveal came, it would be worth all the waiting. I figured the cause of the turmoil and possible destruction of the world would be mind-bending. It just wasn't mind bending and it came way too late, maybe the last chapter! I listened to that chapter over a couple of times to grasp what happened and realized this book just didn't do it for me.

    So, this is how I come to be rating the book as middling, a book that has an excellent--no superb--narration, a book that shows off the author's writing skills and seems to be well thought out.

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Matthew SEATTLE, WA, United States 10-02-14
    Matthew SEATTLE, WA, United States 10-02-14 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1492
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    306
    274
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    208
    33
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Audio book of the year !"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Anyone, friend, family or foe! This is truly one of the best audio books I have ever heard. It's content, it's performance,and it's thoughtfulness are universal and moving.


    Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

    Yes, I was not sure how it would resolve until the very end..if it actually resolves at all for that matter.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    No favourites, as it needs to be looked at as entire body of work.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    The name says it all, although it would likely be very controversial.


    Any additional comments?

    Ray Porter is stunning in this, and brings this brilliant book to life. I can't recommend it high enough. Get it, listen, and enjoy!

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Casey 10-14-14
    Casey 10-14-14 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    166
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very Well Researched Speculative Sci-Fi"
    If you could sum up Biblical: A Novel in three words, what would they be?

    What is real?


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Probably the main character, John Macbeth. Without spoiling anything, it's kinda hard to explain the just how much he's forced to come to grips with and even at the end never comprehends everything fully.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    Probably the one where John listens to Gabriel on top of the church roof.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    What if Descartes was wrong?


    Any additional comments?

    Ray Porter is probably one of the best three narrators offered on Audible. Blackstone is incredibly lucky to have him and I frequently find myself buying books simply by virtue of the fact that he's narrating them. The man is a genius.

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ron Lubovich Uranus 10-30-14
    Ron Lubovich Uranus 10-30-14 Member Since 2012

    Nimble God

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    53
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fascinating ideas, questionable novel?"
    Would you try another book from Christopher Galt and/or Ray Porter?

    I would just for the fact that this novel was a fun exploration of ideas related to the simulation hypothesis of our reality.


    What did you like best about this story?

    The story was less interesting than the philosophical exposition. The characters were somewhat flat, without personality. The novel is essentially an excuse to explore the simulation hypothesis of cosmology through the form of a thin narrative. The vast majority of the content in this novel falls under one of two categories: 1.) Cataloguing hallucination experiences; 2.) Expository dialog about quantum physics and philosophy.


    Did Biblical: A Novel inspire you to do anything?

    Not really. If these ideas were new to you, this book might blow your mind. However, as a student of this kind of thing, I found that I saw the ending coming half way through.


    Any additional comments?

    I would like to see these authors dive deeper into these waters but to focus more on showing their story through character, plot, and developments rather than couching it so intensely in exposition.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    NiCole K 09-15-16
    NiCole K 09-15-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I almost quit. Glad I didn't."

    I almost never (ever) put a book down unfinished. This was a close thing. But I'm glad I didn't. But I officially dislike the words Déjà vu.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Matthew Lawson 03-24-16 Member Since 2015

    Spend all day at work listening to audiobooks. Love thrillers, mystery, but mostly lengthy science fiction.

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Totally blew my mind!"
    Where does Biblical: A Novel rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Narrator was just as good as the many others I've listened to. Story was definitely different but flowed very cohesively with many characters that did not become interchangeable.Main character was more flat, but for reasons explained in the book.


    What did you like best about this story?

    The concepts, even though almost everything in this book is based off real scientific discoveries and theories, the way it was strung together into a great story really had me entertained.


    Any additional comments?

    I definitely suggest looking at any theories or concepts that you hear in the book and do not understand. Not everything is explained fully, and is left to the reader if they want to get everything out of it. I already knew much about quantum physics and AI based of my hobby of researching scientific concepts. But not many people are the same. If you do not understand the concepts I do not think the book would be remotely interesting but only confusing.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    gary 03-22-15
    gary 03-22-15 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    28
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    31
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What was this one all about?"

    What a waist of 13 hours of my time! What in the world was this book about? I must have missed something while listening.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.