We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Baby Doll Audiobook

Baby Doll

Regular Price:$24.55
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Escape was just the beginning.

Held captive for eight years, Lily has grown from a teenager to an adult in a small basement prison. Her daughter, Sky, has been a captive her whole life. But one day their captor leaves the dead bolt unlocked.

This is what happens next to Lily, to her twin sister, to her mother, to her daughter - and to her captor.

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, Baby Doll is the most tense thriller you will listen to this year.

©2016 Hollie Overton (P)2016 Hachette Audio

What the Critics Say

"A tense survivor story for fans of Chevy Stevens' Still Missing and Chelsea Cain's One Kick." (Booklist)
"Captur[es] the unique bond shared by identical twins." (Kirkus)
"What a compulsive read! A brilliant first novel that kept me transfixed and entertained until the very last page." (New York Times best-selling author Tess Gerritsen)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (145 )
5 star
 (79)
4 star
 (36)
3 star
 (21)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
4.2 (132 )
5 star
 (72)
4 star
 (29)
3 star
 (19)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.4 (132 )
5 star
 (82)
4 star
 (26)
3 star
 (16)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Shannon 07-16-16
    Shannon 07-16-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Breathtakingly excellent!"

    This was an unexpected pleasure. Parts are dark and disturbing, but I ate it up. Initially, I thought I knew how things would turn out, but I am pleased to report I was wrong.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    penny ann 07-18-16
    penny ann 07-18-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    74
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    201
    48
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good listen"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    I enjoyed this book, I would not consider it a thriller but how family deals with trauma and relationship afterwards. LOVE the relationship between the twins.


    What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

    LOVED IT!!!!!!! dropped my jaw!!!!!


    Did the narrators do a good job differentiating all the characters? How?

    Excellent job!!!!


    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sophia 08-28-16
    Sophia 08-28-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great narrator"

    I really enjoyed this book as it is about the 'after' of a kidnapping experience. I loved the narrator of Lilly. Listening to the book, you can tell that there are certain phrases and adjectives that the author uses a lot, and that bugged me, but overall I enjoyed :)

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    dewdropvelvet 09-21-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One of the best books Ive read so far this year."

    The writer seemed to know exactly what information to relay when. The pace was great. I was engrossed from start to finish. There was also a surprising twist at the end with the twin sister Abby. I haven't read Rooms but i saw the movie. this is a bit like Rooms after an escape. but with the main character having a twin, i. also really enjoyed hearing from the perpetrator, of the story. his point of view filled things out. it took me a while to like Abby, but i did by the end. also, great performance on the audiobook side of things.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lynne S. 09-18-16
    Lynne S. 09-18-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    "Awesome read!"

    Loved it from the first word to the last! Looking foreword to another great read from this author!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Momma's Stuff 09-26-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wish I would known this was a Young Adult book."
    Would you listen to Baby Doll again? Why?

    I wouldn't listen to it again, it is a super teeny bopper book.


    How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

    Maybe develop some more adult roles.


    What did you like about the performance? What did you dislike?

    The narrator did good, however she had a very young voice. It started to get on my nerves after a while.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    My emotions did not get to the laugh or cry factor, the book was based on events that have happened many times in the last few years. I have listened to this book, by watching the news.


    Any additional comments?

    Baby Doll was a not a thriller in any way, not a suspense book either. Good deep themed although.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    M. Calderwood 09-23-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "just ok"

    the story was predictable. not fact based believable. it wasn't awful, but I didn't love it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 09-07-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An emotional journey"
    Any additional comments?

    I like that this book jumped right into the action. From the first few lines I was captivated and scared for the lead character. The suspense eventually subsides and the story turns into a dramatic tale...but a very good one. While at times the story did drag out I liked that this book doesn't just end abruptly leaving you to guess or interpret how things turn out. The story goes well into the aftermath and also includes a lengthy epilog which gives the ready/listener complete closure. I like closure so I didn't mind the fact that this book continued more than an hour after where it could have ended.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ariella 08-26-16
    Ariella 08-26-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "captivating"

    loved it. it was too easy to fall in love with lily as a character and her story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amber Crago 08-05-16
    Amber Crago 08-05-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "an OK book"

    This is a decent book, seemed rather juvenile though. The idea of the book was great but in my opinion the delivery/writing of it wasn't the best. The narration was ok. The moms voice was eager but not convincing. The daughters were likeable but kinda blah also. Rick was portrayed well with his character and his narration.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.