We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
An Instance of the Fingerpost Audiobook

An Instance of the Fingerpost

Regular Price:$17.47
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

An utterly compelling historical mystery, in the tradition of Umberto Eco and John Fowles. The setting is England in the 1660s. Oliver Cromwell's short-lived republic is a thing of the past, and Charles II has been restored to the throne. At Oxford's New College, fellow Robert Grove is found dead under suspicious circumstances, and a young woman stands accused. We hear from four witnesses: a physician hungry for fame, the son of an alleged traitor, the king's chief cryptographer, and a renowned Oxford antiquarian - only one of whom is telling the rather extraordinary truth. Who is it? Pears' skillful plot-weaving will keep you guessing until the final seconds.

©1998 Iain Pears; (P)1998 Audio Renaissance Tapes, a Division of CPU, Inc.

What the Critics Say

"Deftly plotted, briskly written...Iain Pears has brass and talent to spare." (Newsweek)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.6 (110 )
5 star
 (38)
4 star
 (19)
3 star
 (29)
2 star
 (17)
1 star
 (7)
Overall
3.5 (50 )
5 star
 (16)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (5)
Story
3.9 (49 )
5 star
 (17)
4 star
 (19)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Keene PortlandVirgin Islands, U.S. 11-08-09
    Keene PortlandVirgin Islands, U.S. 11-08-09
    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "An Instance of the Fingerpost"

    Read the book, eschew the audio. The abridgment edits out too much of the interesting historical detail, a pleasure of historical fiction, which set the milieu of the times and provides rich context for the characters and plot.

    16 of 16 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lynn La Mesa, CA, United States 02-20-12
    Lynn La Mesa, CA, United States 02-20-12 Member Since 2011

    doclynn

    HELPFUL VOTES
    28
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Eviscerated rather than abridged"

    I confess that when I downloaded this, I didn't notice that itt was abridged. I had read the book years ago and thought it was incredibly good: a thought-provoking look at a society just beginning to think scientifically, wrapped in a shifting story centered on the mysterious central character.

    To my horror, the "abridgment" simply cuts out all the meat of the story with an ax, leaving us with a threadbare little Rashomon story. It's a horrible thing to inflict on a magnificent book.

    Having said that... The reader is truly wonderful. Not only does he bring the accents of the characters to life (including Italian-accented British English and Robert Boyle's Scots burr), but he can switch accents in mid-sentence to accommodate both a narrator and a conversation.

    My advice is read the book -- it's terrific. Look for other readings by Paul Michael. And with any luck someday an unabridged "Instance of the Fingerpost" will join the unabridged "Stone's Fall" (another shockingly good book by Iain Pears, this one about the rise of international capitalism... Wrapped in a very readable mystery) on Audible's virtual shelves.

    14 of 14 people found this review helpful
  •  
    James C Cuyahoga Falls, OH, USA 03-29-05
    James C Cuyahoga Falls, OH, USA 03-29-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "A Work of True Genius"

    This book is not for those with a short attention span. However, it is one of the best books I have ever read. I read it once - I'll read it again. And, I'll be listening to it again as well. It's THAT good.

    21 of 22 people found this review helpful
  •  
    lily mansfield 09-22-08 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    63
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Highly Recommended"

    This is one of the few titles that I consistently recommend when asked, "what should I read?" It is an engaging story that gets richer and more surprising as the story unfolds.

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pegeen 07-10-15
    Pegeen 07-10-15

    reading is pure joy

    HELPFUL VOTES
    57
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    216
    62
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "chops out the exquisite intelligence of this book"

    WARNING : Abridged. badly. Read the book. Narrator was very good, too bad he did not get to read the entire story as written. RECOMMEND also "The Dream of Scipio" by same author, about the twilight of the Roman Empire.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jennifer LOS ANGELES, US, Canada 01-03-14
    Jennifer LOS ANGELES, US, Canada 01-03-14 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not what I was hoping for"
    This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

    People who


    What could Iain Pears have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    Omit the music and spend less time on the back and forth and more on describing the theatre


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    Too much base in his voice


    You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    Not for me


    Any additional comments?

    None.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • kb
    10/14/11
    Overall
    "Great book, strange narration"

    This is an excellent story but the narration is a bit off - terrible accents and hollow echoey sounds. Shame.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.