We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Simple Favor Audiobook

A Simple Favor: A Novel

Regular Price:$23.62
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

She's your best friend. She knows all your secrets. That's why she's so dangerous.

A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

It starts with a simple favor - an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son, Nicky, after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together - just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn't come back. She doesn't answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong - Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog's readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily's husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It's the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon Stephanie will begin to see that nothing - not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor - is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense - a clever and twisting freefall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final minute.

©2017 Seven Acres, LLC (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.7 (22 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.5 (22 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.2 (21 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    ROBIN SODDY DAISY, TN, United States 03-25-17
    ROBIN SODDY DAISY, TN, United States 03-25-17 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    557
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    113
    80
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    44
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I'm not sure who or what I liked least..."

    Very interesting concept for a story... but that's where it ends for me. I didn't care at all for the characters , not even the ones we were meant to like. I didn't like the narration and I didn't like the ending.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    SMM 03-23-17
    SMM 03-23-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Simple Favor"

    Really good story. I took a star for the abrupt ending. I would love for there to be a part 2.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JK907 03-22-17
    JK907 03-22-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    143
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    176
    38
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Solid characters but unfolds at an odd pace"

    This story was a decent listen & worth the credit as it held my interest until the very last word. It had all the elements to unfold into an intriguing mystery/thriller; however, events that would've made the most sense toward the end, occurred very early. This resulted in a few far fetched circumstances, but the author did a great job of making the antagonist somehow likable & leaves the reader somewhat satisfied.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.