We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Secret Keepers Audiobook

The Secret Keepers

Regular Price:$21.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Acclaimed New York Times best-selling author and E. B. White Read Aloud Award winner Trenton Lee Stewart returns with a captivating, heart-stopping adventure about thrilling secrets and dangerous mysteries - and the courage to reveal the most frightening of truths.

Eleven-year-old Reuben spends his days exploring, hiding, and practicing parkour among the abandoned buildings of the Lower Downs as a way to escape the rough times that have befallen him and his mom - but his discovery of an extraordinary antique pocket watch changes everything. When Reuben finds that the watch has the power to turn him invisible, he's propelled on the adventure of a lifetime.

Now Reuben is being pursued by a group of dangerous men called the Directions, and someone - or something - ominously called The Smoke. They all want the watch, and with the help of new friends it's up to Reuben to unravel the mysteries surrounding it and protect the city from evil.

New York Times best-selling author Trenton Lee Stewart's latest novel will enthrall old and new fans alike with the twists and turns of an inventive and compelling adventure reminiscent of The Mysterious Benedict Society series.

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your Library section along with the audio.

©2016 Trenton Lee Stewart (P)2016 Hachette Audio

What the Critics Say

"Real flashlight under the bedclothes material...this story flies past, thrilling us as it goes." (Horn Book)

"Tackles personal concerns: abandonment, family, loyalty, and facing one's fears." (Booklist)

"Fans of Roald Dahl or Blue Balliett will find a familiar blend of kid power, clues, and adventure." (School Library Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (13 )
5 star
 (7)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.0 (13 )
5 star
 (7)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.5 (13 )
5 star
 (7)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amazon Customer 11-05-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not as Good as The Mysterious Benedict Society"

    While the characters were engaging, the adventure was interesting, and the story was fine (if slow moving) the thing that disappointed me about this story was the lack of humor and camaraderie that brought The Mysterious Benedict Society to life and made it one of my favorite books.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    H. Rose Seattle 10-08-16
    H. Rose Seattle 10-08-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good, but..."

    We absolutely loved the Mysterious Benedict Society, and the rest of the books in that series. Therefore, it was natural to get this, too. While it was enjoyable, in paled in comparison to the others, unfortunately.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.