We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Penderwicks in Spring Audiobook

The Penderwicks in Spring: The Penderwicks, Book 4

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times best-seller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

Springtime is finally arriving on Gardam Street, and there are surprises in store for each member of the family.

Some surprises are just wonderful, like neighbor Nick Geiger coming home from war. And some are ridiculous, like Batty's new dog-walking business. Batty is saving up her dog-walking money for an extra-special surprise for her family, which she plans to present on her upcoming birthday. But when some unwelcome surprises make themselves known, the best-laid plans fall apart.

Filled with all the heart, hilarity, and charm that has come to define this beloved clan, The Penderwicks in Spring is about fun and family and friends (and dogs), and what happens when you bring what's hidden into the bright light of the spring sun.

©2015 Jeanne Birdsall (P)2015 Listening Library

What the Critics Say

"The warmth and compassion of the Penderwick family comes through in every page of this slice-of-life novel, healing emotional bruises and reassuring readers that most problems can be overcome." (Publishers Weekly)

"...chock full of all the qualities fans love (humor, heart, and the honest exploration of emotions... [t]he Penderwicks have a strong bench, so, happily, expect more." (Booklist)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (195 )
5 star
 (156)
4 star
 (27)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
4.7 (175 )
5 star
 (130)
4 star
 (35)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.7 (171 )
5 star
 (136)
4 star
 (25)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Trent Williams 06-14-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Siblings in Sync"

    Great narration! Story took its time to start, but the refreshing children and their humor made for a touching listen filled with warmth (if such a contradiction of senses can exist). Good old fashioned sensibilities make this story exceptional for family reading.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    krol berlin, Germany 04-23-17
    krol berlin, Germany 04-23-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Penderwicks growing up"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Penderwicks in Spring to be better than the print version?

    I haven't read the printed version so I cannot say


    What other book might you compare The Penderwicks in Spring to and why?

    It's similar to the other penderwick books of course.
    Also a lot like the "and then there were four" I don't remember the author...


    What about Susan Denaker’s performance did you like?

    She has read all of the penderwicks and I always found that she reads each sister in a specific and very fitting way


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I cried most of the time! But I also re-listened to it more that 12 times already! :)


    Any additional comments?

    This was a hard one. A lot of the first time I listened to the book I spend crying. This was unexpected as the other books are mostly happy stories about summer and girls growing up.
    But here Batty faced what I hoped she would never have to face, and yet it was done wonderfully. It left me with hope for Skye and Jeffrey (who I just can't give up on!! Skye is my favourite character and she would benefit so much from being with Jeffrey! I hope it happens one day!), with a kind of happy contentment about Rosie and Jane and well Batty, my Batty don't I know how hard it was when you lost him?!
    But also, since this book, Batty has stepped up and become my second favourite sister. She will go places! ;)
    Then there is Lydia who I really hope will change until I meet her again.
    And Ben who I think is awesome and a very good addition to the family. One of the best ever scenes is when he has breakfast with Dad in the kitchen!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    R. Comire 03-02-17
    R. Comire 03-02-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love, love, love, love The Penderwicks!!!!!"

    I laughed, I teared up, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The narrator does a great job separating the character's voices. The Penderwicks series makes my heart happy. Can't wait for book #5!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alina Negomireanu 02-15-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent!"

    My son absolutely adored the story, characters and the pace. He wishes there were another book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Erica0987654321 campton, nh United States 01-05-17
    Erica0987654321 campton, nh United States 01-05-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This is great"

    This app is great it gives a sleep timer which is exactly what I need so I can fall asleep and not going all night it gives everything u need! This is a wonderful app!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    April Edwards 12-13-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "our lunch time tradition"

    We loved it! The kids and I listened intently during lunch each day. Thank you.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    littlelighthous0114 10-15-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "My kids and I loved it."

    We all loved it. The storyline was great and it was well read. My kids are 7 and 9.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amanda 07-11-16
    Amanda 07-11-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Story! "

    Great story as well as great narrator! Its been fun! Sad to see the series end!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    eric 05-25-16
    eric 05-25-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great"

    GreatGreatGreatGreat and I love it.its' perfectly good luck with your own thank go by

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    D Burnham 11-23-15
    D Burnham 11-23-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Bitter Sweet"

    I thought this was a really good book but I didn't like how sad Batty was.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.