We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Penderwicks in Spring Audiobook

The Penderwicks in Spring: The Penderwicks, Book 4

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times best-seller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

Springtime is finally arriving on Gardam Street, and there are surprises in store for each member of the family.

Some surprises are just wonderful, like neighbor Nick Geiger coming home from war. And some are ridiculous, like Batty's new dog-walking business. Batty is saving up her dog-walking money for an extra-special surprise for her family, which she plans to present on her upcoming birthday. But when some unwelcome surprises make themselves known, the best-laid plans fall apart.

Filled with all the heart, hilarity, and charm that has come to define this beloved clan, The Penderwicks in Spring is about fun and family and friends (and dogs), and what happens when you bring what's hidden into the bright light of the spring sun.

©2015 Jeanne Birdsall (P)2015 Listening Library

What the Critics Say

"The warmth and compassion of the Penderwick family comes through in every page of this slice-of-life novel, healing emotional bruises and reassuring readers that most problems can be overcome." (Publishers Weekly)

"...chock full of all the qualities fans love (humor, heart, and the honest exploration of emotions... [t]he Penderwicks have a strong bench, so, happily, expect more." (Booklist)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (165 )
5 star
 (129)
4 star
 (25)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
4.7 (148 )
5 star
 (109)
4 star
 (30)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.7 (146 )
5 star
 (117)
4 star
 (20)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Trent Williams 06-14-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Siblings in Sync"

    Great narration! Story took its time to start, but the refreshing children and their humor made for a touching listen filled with warmth (if such a contradiction of senses can exist). Good old fashioned sensibilities make this story exceptional for family reading.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    littlelighthous0114 10-15-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "My kids and I loved it."

    We all loved it. The storyline was great and it was well read. My kids are 7 and 9.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amanda 07-11-16
    Amanda 07-11-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Story! "

    Great story as well as great narrator! Its been fun! Sad to see the series end!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    eric 05-25-16
    eric 05-25-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great"

    GreatGreatGreatGreat and I love it.its' perfectly good luck with your own thank go by

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    D Burnham 11-23-15
    D Burnham 11-23-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Bitter Sweet"

    I thought this was a really good book but I didn't like how sad Batty was.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jennifer Baumgartner 09-16-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very sweet"

    This is a good book and it is very sentimental. If you want a book to read to your kids this is great but it is a little sad.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mom in Georgia 04-08-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best Book EVER!!!!!!"

    I really enjoyed the narrator. The storyline is sad and wonderful at the same time. Lydia is so funny, too. This book is good for the whole family so I strongly recommend this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    KJP 04-08-15
    KJP 04-08-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing let the series continue"

    The book is a great companion to the series! The narrator brings the characters alive! A must read! I must start the series over again since I have sadly completed it. I highly recommend the book as well as the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    bike man Evanston, Illinois USA 04-01-15
    bike man Evanston, Illinois USA 04-01-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome😄😄😄"

    I loved Penderwicks in spring it was so amazing. It was a perfect mix of feelings happy sad scared and more overall I LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!😛😛

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Teresa Ludzack 05-05-16 Member Since 2010
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Rf"

    I love Ben lidia batty Jane sky Rosie. Sooooooooooo ffffffuuuuuuunnnnnnnyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Love it I 1 q

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.