We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin | [Liesl Shurtliff]

Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin

In a magical kingdom where your name is your destiny, 12-year-old Rump is the butt of everyone's joke. But when he finds an old spinning wheel, his luck seems to change. Rump discovers he has a gift for spinning straw into gold. His best friend, Red Riding Hood, warns him that magic is dangerous, and she's right. With each thread he spins, he weaves himself deeper into a curse. To break the spell, Rump must go on a perilous quest, fighting off pixies, trolls, poison apples, and a wickedly foolish queen.
Regular Price:$32.20
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

This funny fractured fairytale goes behind the scenes of Rumpelstiltskin. "A most magical feat," writes Newbery Honor-winner Kirby Larson, "Liesl Shurtliff spins words into gold."

In a magical kingdom where your name is your destiny, 12-year-old Rump is the butt of everyone's joke. But when he finds an old spinning wheel, his luck seems to change. Rump discovers he has a gift for spinning straw into gold. His best friend, Red Riding Hood, warns him that magic is dangerous, and she's right.

With each thread he spins, he weaves himself deeper into a curse. To break the spell, Rump must go on a perilous quest, fighting off pixies, trolls, poison apples, and a wickedly foolish queen. The odds are against him, but with courage and friendship - and a cheeky sense of humor - he just might triumph in the end.

"Lighthearted and inventive,Rump amusingly expands a classic tale." (Brandon Mull, #1 New York Timesbestselling author of Fablehaven.)

Perfect for fans of Ella Enchanted or A Tale Dark and Grimm.

©2013 Liesl Shurtliff (P)2013 Listening Library

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (77 )
5 star
 (43)
4 star
 (22)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.4 (70 )
5 star
 (41)
4 star
 (17)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.5 (66 )
5 star
 (46)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Marianne ST PETERSBURG, FL, United States 07-21-14
    Marianne ST PETERSBURG, FL, United States 07-21-14 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    141
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "My 10 year old like the book and I did not."

    This is a 2014/2015 Sunshine State Reader which I downloaded to listen to with my daughter. I have listened to almost a 100 audio books with my daughter and we almost never disagree on a book, but this one we did. She really enjoyed it and I did not. If it weren't for the fact that she was enjoying it I would have never finished listening to it. It was slow and tedious for me.

    I thought that the characters made stupid decision after stupid decision and they were idiotic (with the exception of the trolls). I found the lack of any real communication between characters frustrating and unrealistic. I felt that crucial information wasn't disseminated between characters in an attempt to move the plot in the direction the author wanted to go, not because real characters would actually behave that way.

    My main problems with the story are:
    1. The grandmother withheld critical information from her grandson that would be crucial for his survival.
    2. His friend knew more about his past then he did and never shared this information with him until it was too late. She preferred to chastise him then to give him information that may be helpful.
    3. The miller's daughter was unusually dumb and dim witted. I don't appreciate stories with characters that are so dumb that they are unbelievable.
    4. Almost all the characters in the book are unlikable. Even Rump I had a hard time getting behind when he kept making stupid decisions.

    With all that being said, the things that my daughter enjoyed about the book:
    1. She really liked Rump and Red,
    2. She liked that he found his name in the end,
    3. She liked the trolls, and
    4. She liked the re-telling and different perspective of an old story.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    dvidal 03-15-14
    dvidal 03-15-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nice fresh point of view on an old story"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Rump to be better than the print version?

    I never read it


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Rump?

    I wouldn't want to ruin the story for others but I liked that Red could get the honey.


    What does Maxwell Glick bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    The voices


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    When Rump was cheated


    Any additional comments?

    Na

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Debbie 05-03-15
    Debbie 05-03-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fun!"

    Loved this twist of the traditional tale!
    It grabbed me at the start and held my interest throughout the entire story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer 02-09-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Rump"

    It was awesome and a sweet loving story that is sad but wonderful please read this amazing book😊😊😊😊😊thank you

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tamara 01-15-15
    Tamara 01-15-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesomeness"

    This book was a cool book and teached Avery good lesson but that's what you need to find out in the book

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    karl e. schwartz 01-03-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing"

    It was a great book for me I love it. Can't wait for the next book I am sure it will be good

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    DC Soccer Mom 12-31-14 Member Since 2010
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome"

    I love this story. The narrator was amazing, and I was pion the edge of my seat every second. Read it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Deval 08-20-14
    Deval 08-20-14

    A dreamer who loves the adventures hidden in every story!!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    45
    25
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not Bad!"

    This is an interesting book, definitely worth a read through. It's a nice re-telling of age old fairy tale of Rumplestiltskin, from his point of view. The author made this story brand new without changing too much of the original story. I liked that! Wasn't too thrilled with the narration but is wasn't terrible. Would I read it again? Maybe not, at least not for a while. Would I read anything else from this author? Definitely! I may not have loved this book but I did like it so that in itself will make me pick up her next books. This is definitely worth a read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.