We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Jack: The True Story of Jack and the Beanstalk Audiobook

Jack: The True Story of Jack and the Beanstalk

Regular Price:$32.20
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Adam Gidwitz and Chris Colfer will give a GIANT cheer for this funny fairy-tale retelling of Jack and the Beanstalk!

All work and no play makes Jack extremely bored. And when Jack gets bored, he makes mischief. It’s not that he’s bad; he just longs for adventure - and there's nothing adventurous about toiling day and night to grow yucky green stuff.

Adventure finally arrives one day in the form of giants, and soon Jack is chasing them to a land beyond the clouds, with his little sister, Annabella, in tow. The kingdom of giants is full of slugs the size of sheep, venomous pixies as tall as grown men, and a chatty cook with the biggest mouth Jack has ever seen. There’s giant fun to be had, too: puddings to swim in, spoons to use as catapults, monster toads to carry off pesky little sisters.

But Jack and Annabella are on a mission. The king of the giants has taken something that belongs to them, and they’ll do anything - even dive into a smelly tureen of green-bean soup - to get it back.

©2015 Liesl Shurtliff (P)2015 Listening Library

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (29 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.3 (24 )
5 star
 (13)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.1 (25 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    BeesKnees 02-27-17
    BeesKnees 02-27-17 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Started out strong and then began to fizzle"
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    I listened to this book with my five and seven year old children. They enjoy a variety of books from all different eras but "Jack" just couldn't keep their attention beyond the half way mark. In their defense it couldn't keep my attention either. This would be a much better book if it were shorter and didn't feel like it was being dragged out. I would not recommend it for children under ten. Simply due to the way it starts to drone on.


    Would you ever listen to anything by Liesl Shurtliff again?

    She has a book "Red" we have just started. We shall see how this one goes.


    Did Bruce Mann do a good job differentiating all the characters? How?

    He did a great job. No complaints there.


    If this book were a movie would you go see it?

    Possibly.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.