We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Grimm House Audiobook

Grimm House

Regular Price:$14.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A creepy, funny and imaginative tale for fans of Coraline and A Series of Unfortunate Events.

When Hadley's parents leave on a cruise and then are reported lost at sea, her perfect world is turned upside down. In a flash she is whisked away to a new life of drudgery at Grimm House where she waits on not one but two persnickety old aunts. As she grudgingly fulfills their commands of cooking, cleaning, and even after-dinner-dancing, she comes to suspect the aunts are really witches who are scheming to take the thing she loves best.

With only her wits and the help of some unlikely new friends, Hadley makes a plan to escape Grimm House and find her way home before it's too late.

©2015 Karen McQuestion (P)2016 Karen McQuestion

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (12 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.2 (11 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.4 (11 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Teresa 03-18-16
    Teresa 03-18-16

    It makes me happy to wake up everyday and look forward to listening. Many times I listen while doing artwork. I find it very relaxing.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    618
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    594
    584
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    21
    47
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What An Awesome Story, Needs More Than Five Stars"

    Wow! GRIMM HOUSE was an incredibly good story. It was riveting from beginning to end and I couldn't stop listening. It was perfectly balanced with sweet (Hadley) and sour (the aunts) with some unexpected twists throughout. I loved this now as an adult, and I would've loved it as a kid. Even the animated characters (the roaches), usually unlikable critters were amazingly penned. I'm in awe at the talent of the author KAREN McQUESTION and look forward to other books by her. She's definitely on my 'author to watch' list. This was a true GEM. Grimm House was fun, exciting, thrilling, and visually captivating. I'd definitely recommend giving this a listen.

    STACEY GLEMBOSKI brought this story to full circle with her excellent narration. She has a delightful voice and superb inflections and tone. She proved to be a very skilled voice actor and I hope to hear more from her in the future. She took a great book to a whole other level.

    "This audiobook was provided by the author, narrator, or publisher at no cost in exchange for an unbiased review courtesy of Audiobook Blast."

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jen Sut 02-21-16
    Jen Sut 02-21-16 Member Since 2013

    Joon

    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    49
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story , narration was fantastic."

    Grimm House


    Hadley's parents win a cruise. They will be gone for ten days. They hire Zoey to babysit. Hadley is a dedicated dancer, and even has an empty room designed for her to practice. There is an abrupt knock at the door when a woman tells her that she is her great aunt on her mother's side. The woman, Maxine, continues to explain that Hadley's parents' ship is missing and that she will stay with her until her parents were located. She soon becomes a cook and made for her great aunts Charmane and Maxine. As if this wasn't bad enough, Hadley soon finds out there is something even more sinister in Grimm House.

    Wow this book blew me away. The amazing imagery played like a movie in my mind. I listened to the audio version. I've said this before but it doesn't make it less true, some stories are meant to be shared out loud. This is definitely one of them. The narrator adds to the story beautifully. The narrator was perfect for this story. Don't be fooled into thinking this book is only for children. As an adult, I thoroughly enjoyed this tale.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lextin Academy 03-24-16 Member Since 2015

    lexi

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fun mysterious adventure!"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    My older kids (ages 10 and 8) really enjoyed this book that has both mystery and suspense. The book had just enough intensity to keep them interested in the story while still connecting with the characters. My son enjoyed the book so much that he listened to it over the course of just 2 days and has started listening to the story a second time.
    We all thought the narrator did a good job voicing the characters and keeping the listening interested in the story.
    Overall this has been a great addition to our audiobook collection!
    Disclaimer:
    I received this book free to review. However, all opinions are my own.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Teresa NAMPA, ID, United States 12-01-16
    Teresa NAMPA, ID, United States 12-01-16 Member Since 2016

    Hello, my name is Teresa and I'm an addict.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    793
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    814
    721
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    168
    117
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not original."

    This book had a lot of the same descriptions as James and the Giant Peach and The Witches by Roald Dahl. It has two evil Aunts, bugs that talk, and even a kid who is made to slave away. Just not as good, yes there are quite a few 5 star reviews, but I feel like a lot of the story has been appropriated. I was just waiting for the witches to have square feet. Also the first hour is kind of boring, the car full of people with me were bored and we switched to something else. I came back to give it another shot later, the story gets better but I still feel like some of the premises has already been done by Roald Dahl. Maybe if I hadn't love Roald Dahl books so much as a kid, I might have liked this book better. The narrator had a lot of raves, but for me she was only just okay.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ReadinAlways 04-06-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "my son just loved this book."

    easy to listen to for my 5 year old. he absolutely loved it and wants to listen to it again :)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    bubblebuttmegs88 A tiny town in Maryland, USA 03-21-16
    bubblebuttmegs88 A tiny town in Maryland, USA 03-21-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    46
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    68
    68
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Creepy fairy tale! :)"

    Such a creepy little middle grade story! This book could easily be a fairy tale beside the best of them. At times it reminded of Cinderella, but was definitely it's own story. The shorter length was perfect, if it was any longer it would have dragged a little. I felt like the ending was absolutely perfect for this book! I listened to the audiobook, and I think that would be the best way to experience this story. I really enjoyed this audiobook, and I recommend this to anyone who thinks a creepy fairy tale sounds good!
    **I was provided with this audiobook in exchange for an honest review

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Hunter 03-07-16
    Hunter 03-07-16

    Audio Addict

    HELPFUL VOTES
    89
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    747
    117
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Good Story!"

    I don’t usually read many books from this genre, but I really enjoyed this one. The narration brought the story to life and held my interest throughout. The story was well thought out, complete and will keep you listening. I will be watching for this author in the future.

    * I was provided a free copy of this book from AudioBookBlast for an honest review.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mrs Mommy Booknerd (Mrs Mommy Booknerd's Book Reviews) #MMBBR Appleton, WI 02-24-16 Member Since 2014

    Lover of life!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    68
    59
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I loved this story and so will my boys!"
    If you could sum up Grimm House in three words, what would they be?

    haunting, original, passion


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Grimm House?

    I loved that the story showcased a strong, young female character. I loved that there was a mystery wrapped into an engaging, haunting and fun story. It was a story like none other.


    What about Stacey Glemboski’s performance did you like?

    I loved how she changed her voice to suit the characters. Her cadence was spot on, pace was wonderful and voice captured the characters personalities wonderfully.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I was nervous. This book has some interesting twists and turns. There are tense moments and I wanted everything to resolve peacefully. I was invested in Hadley's well being and was cheering her on the whole story long.


    Any additional comments?

    "Without passion life has no meaning." Audible version of Grim House, by Karen McQuestion

    I adored this book. There was so much to like; suspense, twisty turny plot, original haunting and thrilling story, a lead character worth cheering on and the flawless storytelling that McQuestion is known for. I love that Grim House is a story that I can share with my kids knowing that they will be taken away on an adventure and will be in safe hands with the flawless writing from the brilliant mind of McQuestion. McQuestion tells stories that both children and adults can love! What a gift McQuestion's writing is to the world. I am a huge fan and my love for her writing continues to grow! 5 HUGE stars all around. Great performance as well! Bravo!

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.