We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Circus Mirandus Audiobook

Circus Mirandus

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Big Fish, Peter Pan, and Roald Dahl will fall in love with Circus Mirandus, which celebrates the power of seeing magic in the world.

Do you believe in magic?

Micah Tuttle does.

Even though his awful great-aunt Gertrudis doesn't approve, Micah believes in the stories his dying grandpa Ephraim tells him of the magical Circus Mirandus: the invisible tiger guarding the gates, the beautiful flying birdwoman, and the magician more powerful than any other - the Man Who Bends Light. Finally Grandpa Ephraim offers proof. The circus is real. And the lightbender owes Ephraim a miracle. With his friend Jenny Mendoza in tow, Micah sets out to find the circus and the man he believes will save his grandfather.

The only problem is the lightbender doesn't want to keep his promise. And now it's up to Micah to get the miracle he came for.

©2015 Cassie Beasley (P)2015 Listening Library

What the Critics Say

"Bronson Pinchot performs with the wise air of a storyteller, an appropriate style for a novel built on the tales that Micah's Grandpa Ephraim tells about the magical circus he visited as a boy.... A solid fantasy particularly good for family listening." (AudioFile)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (103 )
5 star
 (59)
4 star
 (36)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.4 (90 )
5 star
 (49)
4 star
 (31)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.5 (90 )
5 star
 (63)
4 star
 (17)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Sara Findlay, Ohio United States 02-08-16
    Sara Findlay, Ohio United States 02-08-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    57
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This book was okay."
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    The narrator was a little whinny at times. I also just wasn't that into the story line. I kept wanting more, more character development, more of a streaming story line, more fun and adventure.


    Did Circus Mirandus inspire you to do anything?

    No. I ilked the Night Circus so much better. That was an inspiring book.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dave Whittier, CA 08-06-15
    Dave Whittier, CA 08-06-15 Member Since 2011

    I'm a big fan of SF/F/Horror, and all things in between and out.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    692
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    217
    95
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    84
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "You Still Owe Me a Miracle"

    This is a story that should please children of all ages -- including those (older) among us who loved Ray Bradbury. In some ways, Beasley's circus is the opposite of Pandemonium: it aims to bring miracles and joy to children. As opposed to Mr. Darque, Circus Mirandus' main attraction is The Man Who Bends Light, or the Lightbender. The story itself centers on family and friendship, and carries a weight of emotion that is punctuated by Pinchot's incredible reading.

    The story centers around Micah and his grandfather, and the ties that knot them together -- their belief in Circus Mirandus. Grandpa Ephraim went to Circus Mirandus as a young boy, and it changed his life. Now, Micah is hoping to find Circus Mirandus and the Lightbender again, in hopes of saving his Grandpa's life.

    I'm a little uncomfortable with one of the themes in the story being that only children can see and accept magic, and that performing it for them is what keeps magic in the world. It seems disingenuous and hopeless, since all children grow up. (And presuming, of course, that the adults running Circus Mirandus were once children themselves.)

    But despite not buying some of the sentimentality, I can still get behind the charm of this story, and am excited to share it with my kids. It's a very fun and enjoyable book with an excellent narration, and its magic will leave both children and adults smiling.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Virginia G. Pratt 07-17-15 Member Since 2013

    virginia_p

    HELPFUL VOTES
    36
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    46
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This book IS magic!"

    Circus Mirandus touches on all the myriad feelings a reader can feel-- amusement, warmth, regret, indignation, gratitude, love, and mostly hope. This beautiful story of the meaning of magic and its power in our lives is one that captivates. Readers will love Micah, Grandpa Ephraim, and The Man Who Bends Light, and the experience will be even further enhanced by Pinchot's masterful narration.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Monique 07-09-15
    Monique 07-09-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome book !!!!!!"

    I really like this book great for the imaginative child . I love that they read it so clear . I disliked that the reader read a little slower than normal

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carson Biederman 07-02-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved the story"

    My children wished the ending were longer and explained more of what happened to the main character.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lacy WAXAHACHIE, TX, United States 06-10-16
    Lacy WAXAHACHIE, TX, United States 06-10-16 Member Since 2012

    I am a school counselor that loves horror, fantasy, autobiographies, self-help, and Christian genres. I am a BIG bookworm! Reading is life!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    41
    39
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A magical circus any child would love!"
    What does Bronson Pinchot bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Sometimes, I forgot that Bronson Pinchot was reading! He did a fantastic job of breathing life into the characters through his use of voice inflections although I thought he made Jenny sound a little annoying lol.


    Any additional comments?

    I fell in love with this magical story! Micah is raised by his grandfather, Ephraim, who tells him tales about the magical circus, Circus Mirandus. Unfortunately, Micah's grandfather becomes ill and his Aunt Gertrude has to come stay with them to take care of him and his grandfather. Aunt Gertie is mean and doesn't believe in magic. Micah makes a new friend, Jenny, and spills everything to her. They work together to get to Circus Mirandus and save Grandpa Ephraim.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 04-12-16 Member Since 2012

    Superhero

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "amazingly cool
    ,amazing
    nice. "

    I love the book so much I want to wrote a book, and I want to meet the author and narrator,

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    CFinn 12-06-15
    CFinn 12-06-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I'm a Sucker for a Circus"

    I'm a sucker for the circus so my interest was already high when I came across this book. I was looking for a book that my 9-year old daughter and I would both enjoy since we listen to audiobooks all of the time in the car. Before I get into some of my other comments, I will say that we both enjoyed the book and I thought it was fine. I thought the narration was good. I gave the story only 3 stars because I felt like there were a bunch of gaps or areas where things didn't come together in the story. At least not in my mind.

    I loved that Circus Mirandus was a magical circus. It reminds me of the Night Circus. I liked the message on how Ephraim saved his miracle, although that aspect of the story became a little overly drawn out for my tastes. I liked the interaction with The Man Who Bends Light, but I would have preferred more details as to how he makes his magic/illusions happen. I also thought that there should have been more of a connection back to the Micah's grandmother, rather than building up the story only to have it fade into the background. I had a few issues with the ending, but overall, I was ok with it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    kerith 11-10-15
    kerith 11-10-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    38
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just bad!"

    Not worth it. Bad performance enhanced by terrible story writing. Don't waste your money. Download something else.

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.