We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Avis Blackthorn: Is Not an Evil Wizard! (The Wizard Magic School Series, Book 1) Audiobook

Avis Blackthorn: Is Not an Evil Wizard! (The Wizard Magic School Series, Book 1)

Regular Price:$19.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Avis Blackthorn's family is the most evil family in all of the Seven Magical Kingdoms. The problem? Avis isn't evil. Not one bit. His magical wizarding family will do anything to make Avis's life a misery. Even the horses that pull the carriages don't like him. But he has a way out at last... Hailing Hall School for Wizards, a sanctuary, a place for good wizards, where he can make some nice, normal friends, learn magic and live a normal life, finally escaping the notoriety of the Blackthorn name... or so he thinks. That's where the real adventure - humorous, haunting and mysterious - begins. Come along with Avis as he tries desperately to prove he isn't evil like his family. And join tall, thin, bespectacled Robin and accident-prone Hunter, Avis's friends from the Outside - the same world as yours, in fact - as they discover Wizard's Spider Soap, the wizarding sport of Riptide and even the ghosts that do the laundry! Of course, in a magic school full of teenage wizards there will always be drama. But stranger things are brewing and Avis finds himself at the center of it after spotting Malakai - the most evil sorcerer around and his parents' employer - coming into the school in the dead of night. Avis wonders why, and why will no one believe him? The mysterious, beautiful Tina might know why. When Avis and Robin spot her creeping round in the dead of night, she tells them about the quest and a thrilling mystery unfolds. Yet, everything goes horribly wrong for Avis. After being accused of something terrible, he is ostracized from his friends and lives high up in the clock tower. Everyone thinks he's evil, just like his family... Avis must uncover the biggest of quests with the help of Tina and Robin and finally prove once and for all, that he is a good wizard....

©2015 Jack Simmonds (P)2015 Jack Simmonds

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (27 )
5 star
 (19)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.4 (27 )
5 star
 (16)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.6 (27 )
5 star
 (18)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Xander95 10-06-15
    Xander95 10-06-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A new British Boy Wizard with his own great story."
    Where does Avis Blackthorn: Is Not an Evil Wizard! (The Wizard Magic School Series, Book 1) rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I was very impressed. The narrator has great versatility and clearly loves playing all the different characters. He made the story totally come to life and I really enjoyed his performance.


    What other book might you compare Avis Blackthorn: Is Not an Evil Wizard! (The Wizard Magic School Series, Book 1) to and why?

    It would be impossible not to compare the series to Harry Potter... but it does a marvelous job of carving out it's own worthy niche in this genre. Avis is kind of a anti-Harry... He's kind of like the black sheep of the Malfoy family. The storyline is original and very well developed - and there is the groundwork for a very rich cast of characters. I'm looking forward to finding out a lot more about Avis' parents.


    What does Joel Froomkin bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    He doesn't just narrate - he brings the book to life and plays all of the characters with great specificity and a wonderful range of accents and color. It's a delightful performance.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    Born to Be Bad... but failing at it.


    Any additional comments?

    If you enjoy books like Percy Jackson and Harry Potter - I really recommend you give this series a try. Simmonds is a strong writer and I am optomistic this series will continue to get even better and better.

    17 of 17 people found this review helpful
  •  
    franco5 10-04-15
    franco5 10-04-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it and didn't think I would!"
    If you could sum up Avis Blackthorn: Is Not an Evil Wizard! (The Wizard Magic School Series, Book 1) in three words, what would they be?

    Hogwarts has competition :)


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Avis Blackthorn: Is Not an Evil Wizard! (The Wizard Magic School Series, Book 1)?

    Here's the thing... I really thought this was just going to be an unoriginal rip-off of JK Rowling... but it wan't at all. Yes it's set in a school for Wizards - but I learned it's kind of like saying Dead Poet's Society and Goodbye Mr. Chips are the same because they are set in a boarding school. These characters are original and engaging and the story arc had me totally engaged. It's a great set up to a series that might just fill a magical void in my life since Potter finished.


    Which character – as performed by Joel Froomkin – was your favorite?

    I really liked Ernie the ghost - but Froomkin does a fabulous job voicing all of the characters. He's incredibly versatile and he truly performs the story, bringing all of the characters to life.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    I was pretty caught up in the climax of the story - and I was delighted to learn that book two is on it's way!


    Any additional comments?

    If you're a Potter fan I really encourage you to give these characters a try. I'll bet you'll be pleasantly surprised at how much you enjoy. I had great reservations - and I'm so happy that I've discovered Avis.

    18 of 18 people found this review helpful
  •  
    DianeMn11 11-01-15
    DianeMn11 11-01-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great narration for a great new wizard."
    Would you consider the audio edition of Avis Blackthorn: Is Not an Evil Wizard! (The Wizard Magic School Series, Book 1) to be better than the print version?

    I really enjoyed the audio book... the narrator did a great job of creating a whole cast of characters and bringing out the whimsical quality of the writing. Definitely enhanced the story for me.


    What other book might you compare Avis Blackthorn: Is Not an Evil Wizard! (The Wizard Magic School Series, Book 1) to and why?

    Obviously the Harry Potter series... and that's not bad. It was really entertaining on it's own merit and this first book introduced a lot of engaging characters and relationships that I'm interesting to see develop. I bet there is something really surprising that is going on with Avis' Dad, but I'm not sure what it is.


    What does Joel Froomkin bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Totally brings it to life with great versatility. Theatrical, fun and full of life.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    The climax of the book really surprised me - it's a nail biter. :)


    14 of 14 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Up North upstate, NY 09-25-16
    Up North upstate, NY 09-25-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Uninspired with a whining main character"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    I did listen to the whole book, but I sometimes questioned whether it was worth it. The story had many thinly veiled parallels to Harry Potter - the unloved child going to wizard school, groups of students in forms, a 'sport' in which the forms compete and which the whole school comes to watch, a device for performing magic (though not wands), and a nasty professor who gives unfair homework to the hero. There were some creative ideas, though... enough to keep me listening.


    What did you like about the performance? What did you dislike?

    The reader was good at evoking characters, but the whole story was told from the voice of a whiny adolescent. It was told as stream of consciousness and the whining became tiresome after a while. It might have worked better in text than audio. As an audio book, it would have been better to not hear the main character's voice so much.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Tanya
    8/29/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "wizards, magic school and a very thrilling story!"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Avis Blackthorn: Is Not an Evil Wizard! (The Wizard Magic School Series, Book 1) to be better than the print version?

    the audio version of the book is different, so it's hard to say whats better. the narrator really brings the main character Avis to life and it really sounds like him
    I knew what happens in the book, but the audio version kept me intrigued!


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Avis Blackthorn: Is Not an Evil Wizard! (The Wizard Magic School Series, Book 1)?

    There's so many twists and turns... but without spoiling it, learning about magic is just so cool... and the most memorable moment was the finale!


    What about Joel Froomkin’s performance did you like?

    i felt he really brought the character to life -- Avis comes across really well in the book and this narrator does all the voices which is cool and i see the characters differently


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    DEFINITELY! I couldn't stop listening!


    Any additional comments?

    this audiobook is great! It's a great story with a great narration - if you like harry potter, you'll love this, it's not anything like hp, but it's got similarities, which for me as a massive potter fan is great! Beacuse i miss it and love books about teenage wizards going to magic school!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.