The Taste of Conquest: The Rise and Fall of the Three Great Cities of Spice Audiobook | Michael Krondl | Audible.com
We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Taste of Conquest: The Rise and Fall of the Three Great Cities of Spice | [Michael Krondl]

The Taste of Conquest: The Rise and Fall of the Three Great Cities of Spice

In this engaging, anecdotal history of food, world conquest, and desire, a chef-turned-journalist tells the story of three legendary cities, Venice, Lisbon, and Amsterdam, that transformed the globe in the quest for spice.
Regular Price:$24.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

In this engaging, anecdotal history of food, world conquest, and desire, a chef-turned-journalist tells the story of three legendary cities, Venice, Lisbon, and Amsterdam, that transformed the globe in the quest for spice.

Written in a colorful style that will appeal to fans of Mark Kurlansky and Michael Pollan, this ambitious yet accessible book travels effortlessly from the Crusades to the present day. Michael Krondl explains that it was the desire for spices that got international trade up and running on a scale that had never occurred prior to that time. This explosive growth of the spice trade led to the successive rise and fall of Venice, Lisbon, and Amsterdam.

Krondl, a gifted food writer, travels to each of these great cities and begins his visit with a great meal. Gradually, he merges the menu he's enjoying with the city's colorful past, and listeners are off on a gastronomical tour that teaches them not only about food and spice but also about history and commerce.

©2007 Michael Krondl; (P)2007 Tantor Media Inc.

What the Critics Say

"The Taste of Conquest is the savory story of the rise and fall of three spice-trading cities. It is filled with rich aromas and piquant tastes from the past that still resonate today. Michael Krondl serves up this aromatic tale with zest and verve. This book isn't just for historians and spice lovers - it's for all who love good writing and great stories." (Andrew F. Smith, editor, The Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.7 (47 )
5 star
 (13)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (16)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
4.3 (12 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.3 (13 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Elza Yuma, AZ, USA 05-02-08
    Elza Yuma, AZ, USA 05-02-08 Member Since 2003
    HELPFUL VOTES
    28
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    203
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Not spicey."

    With a subject as interesting as the history of spice, this was unfortunately a bit of a dull listen. However the pronunciation of the reader was annoying at times especially with the Dutch words which could not even be recognized by a native speaker. Why not check with someone prior to venturing out on a project like this?

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mair rosemont, NJ, USA 04-03-08
    Mair rosemont, NJ, USA 04-03-08
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "not so tasty"

    Although I heard the author interviewed on the radio where he and the subject sounded fascinating, we were not enthralled with the book or the reader. The book seemed in serious need of an editor. And the reader had such strange pronunciations on words in French, Italian, Spanish and - yes - even English that we were being constantly thrown off balance. After about an hour, we gave it up as a loss. Alas.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Thomas Longs, SC, USA 10-19-08
    Thomas Longs, SC, USA 10-19-08
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Not that bad."

    I thought this was actually an interesting book. I'm interested in Venetian and Portuguese history, and this has some interesting insights. Also, the spice trade is a fascinating historical episode. The author obviously knows what he is talking about when it comes to food, and it is a novel idea having a chef as a historian working through food.

    I have to agree with the other reviewers, though... the narrator can't pronounce his way out of a wet paper bag. But, I guess I'm more inclined to overlook something like that if the book itself is intersting.

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Art Sandy Springs, GA USA 12-24-09
    Art Sandy Springs, GA USA 12-24-09 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    177
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    4
    Overall
    "Not bad"

    Author interview on the radio was more fascinating than book. Was looking for a little more history and a little less spice.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Book Maverick Miami Beach, FL 07-12-13
    Book Maverick Miami Beach, FL 07-12-13 Member Since 2010

    Book Maverick

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Sloppy narrator"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    There were so many food-related mis-pronunciations by the narrator that is was annoying: galangale, confit. Not very good research or practice and his part and sloppy editing!
    In general, the book was well written and kept my attention, but I will avoid other works narrated by Todd McLaren.


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Todd McLaren?

    Someone with food knowledge


    Was The Taste of Conquest worth the listening time?

    Historical significance


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-5 of 5 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.