We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Last Three Miles: Politics, Murder and the Construction of America's First Superhighway | [Steven Hart]

The Last Three Miles: Politics, Murder and the Construction of America's First Superhighway

At the dawn of America's love affair with the automobile, cars and trucks leaving the nation's largest city were unceremoniously dumped out of the western end of the Holland Tunnel onto local roads wending their way through the New Jersey Meadowlands. Jersey City mayor Frank Haguedictator of the Hudson County political machine and a national political playerwas a prime mover behind the building of the country's first "superhighway," designed to connect the hub of New York City to the USA.
Regular Price:$16.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

At the dawn of America's love affair with the automobile, cars and trucks leaving the nation's largest city were unceremoniously dumped out of the western end of the Holland Tunnel onto local roads wending their way through the New Jersey Meadowlands. Jersey City mayor Frank Hague dictator of the Hudson County political machine and a national political player was a prime mover behind the building of the country's first "superhighway," designed to connect the hub of New York City to the United States of America.

Hague's nemesis in this undertaking was union boss Teddy Brandle, and construction of the last three miles of Route 25, later dubbed the Pulaski Skyway, marked an epic battle between big labor and big politics, culminating in a murder and the creation of a motorway so flawed it soon became known as "Death Avenue" now appropriately featured in the opening sequence of the hit HBO series The Sopranos. A book in the tradition of Robert Caro's The Power Broker and Henry Petroski's Engineers of Dreams, The Last Three Miles brings to vivid life the riveting and bloodstained back story of a fascinating chapter in the heroic age of public works.

©2007 Steven Hart; (P)2009 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.4 (16 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
3.5 (10 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Story
3.6 (10 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    NYNM 04-28-12
    NYNM 04-28-12 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    215
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    43
    38
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    15
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Terrific !"

    Don't know what it was, maybe because I live in NYC near Jersey City, but I found this book fascinating. One, it goes into detail about the geography of the area, two, it talks about the history of 1930's - 1950's which was a while before I was born, but not so long ago that it seems "ancient", three, lots of insight into local politics 'back in the day. I listened to it twice in a few day ! I really do recommend it.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.