We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Invisible History of the Human Race Audiobook

The Invisible History of the Human Race: How DNA and History Shape Our Identities and Our Futures

Regular Price:$27.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

We are doomed to repeat history if we fail to learn from it, but how are we affected by the forces that are invisible to us? In The Invisible History of the Human Race, Christine Kenneally draws on cutting-edge research to reveal how both historical artifacts and DNA tell us where we come from and where we may be going.

While some books explore our genetic inheritance and some popular television shows celebrate ancestry, this is the first book to explore how everything from DNA to emotions to names and the stories that form our lives are all part of our human legacy. Kenneally shows how trust is inherited in Africa, how silence is passed down in Tasmania, and how the history of nations is written in our DNA. From fateful ancient encounters to modern mass migrations and medical diagnoses, Kenneally explains how the forces that shaped the history of the world ultimately shape each human who inhabits it.

©2014 Christine Kenneally (P)2014 Tantor

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (76 )
5 star
 (28)
4 star
 (31)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
4.1 (72 )
5 star
 (34)
4 star
 (21)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (2)
Story
3.8 (70 )
5 star
 (29)
4 star
 (18)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (7)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Annie Fitt The Middle Peninsula, VA 11-05-14
    Annie Fitt The Middle Peninsula, VA 11-05-14 Member Since 2013

    The Ragtag Horde

    HELPFUL VOTES
    25
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    40
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The convergence of genealogy and genetics"
    Where does The Invisible History of the Human Race rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I enjoyed it a great deal, and will listen to again at some point. The narrator's accent was very strong and hard to understand at first, but once my ear adjusted to it she was perfect.


    What other book might you compare The Invisible History of the Human Race to and why?

    Bill Bryson's "At Home" - they are overview histories, ranging far and wide around the basic subject. You aren't going to be educated in depth about any one subject, but rather introduced to topics and ideas worth delving deeper into on your own.


    Which character – as performed by Justine Eyre – was your favorite?

    Christine Kenneally herself.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    I was struck by the need we almost all have to connect to the past, to reach back in time and know where we came from.


    Any additional comments?

    This book is the convergence of genetics and genealogy, and it is an exciting time. I'd love to read an update in about 10 years!

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Annie M. 10-28-14
    Annie M. 10-28-14 Member Since 2009

    Say something about yourself!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1118
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    177
    79
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    207
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Who are you really. Who am I?"
    What made the experience of listening to The Invisible History of the Human Race the most enjoyable?

    In the tradition of Daniel Gilbert, Malcolm Gladwell, Mary Roach, Sarah Vowell, Bruce Chatwin, and, oh, the list goes on, this is a book that blends personal narrative with the fascinating world of science, all laid out in language the Average Joe (such as Moi) can embrace. This is a book we can all relate to, because it's all about us...our ancestry, our genetics, and the blend of the two. I have listened to it twice now (and I've only had it a week!).


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Invisible History of the Human Race?

    I was really touched by the personal stories included by author Christine Kenneally...she discusses her own discovery of secrets in her family. Also, there are touching moments of people who have traced their ancestry in order to better understand who they are themselves.


    Have you listened to any of Justine Eyre’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I have not listened to any of Eyre's previous work, but found her to be a solid narrator for this work. The best complement I can ever pay a narrator is that he or she doesn't get in the way of the text--in other words, the narrator fades into the background to the point where you are really focused on the story. Eyre does just that, for which I'm grateful. As we all know, a narrator can make or break an audiobook.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    There is a moment when one interviewee finds a gravestone of an ancestor who lived back in the 1500's. Kenneally beautifully describes this powerful moment and what it means to an individual who, heretofore, hadn't known much about her heritage.


    Any additional comments?

    This book is smart, superbly written, and endlessly entertaining. If you've ever watched that PBS show "Finding Your Roots," or you've looked in the mirror, wondering from whom you got your nose, this book will win you over. At the same time, Kenneally explains DNA, how it works, how it's transferred from one generation to the next...and even more important in this era of terrorism and anger, how we are all, at the core, related to one another, bound by our genes.

    I listened to this book almost straight through in one sitting. I was intrigued, I listened again. A book to be cherished and devoured by science geeks, genealogy enthusiasts, and human beings alike.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 11-25-14 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    520
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "tkam"
    How could the performance have been better?

    The content of the book was great but the narrator was too soft spoken. She spoke so softly that the volume needed to be raised very high to hear her causing lots of background static noise. I couldn't listen to the entire book, I switched to reading print.


    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    E. J. Potchen East Lansing Mi 04-07-15
    E. J. Potchen East Lansing Mi 04-07-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    54
    35
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Understanding Applied Genomics"

    Well written examples of connections between classical heredity and Applied Genomics. An excellent book which I recommend to anyone curious about the future of human sciences.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cyberlucy 03-18-15
    Cyberlucy 03-18-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved the book, the performance not so much"

    The content was great although I felt a little more discussion of why people find this interesting would be helpful. Narrator had a scratchy voice that was difficult to hear

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    D. Finlayson San Antonio, Texas 12-18-14
    D. Finlayson San Antonio, Texas 12-18-14 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "DNA continues to facinate."
    If you could sum up The Invisible History of the Human Race in three words, what would they be?

    DNA is History


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Invisible History of the Human Race?

    The most memorable moment of the book was following the DNA out of Africa. The book carefully lays a foundation for understanding DNA and how it can be an effective marker for the historical migrations of mankind. Then, it moves, as it must, into the tricky area of DNA and race. Although the vast majority of human DNA is identical, there are some small markers that show us race. And, tracing the movements of men through the race markers is fascinating. It is also unsettling because, the use of race based DNA, in the wrong hands, could be used to discriminate. What if Hitler had the genetic means to determine whether a person was "Aryan?"


    What about Justine Eyre’s performance did you like?

    Justine Eyre is excellent. Her diction is so precise, I was able to speed up the performance and hear the book - fast.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    n/a


    Any additional comments?

    I was surprised and I was educated by this book. Recommended for all adults.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.