We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics | [Daniel James Brown]

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.
Regular Price:$33.60
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics.

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together - a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times - the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.

©2013 Daniel James Brown (P)2013 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (5603 )
5 star
 (4380)
4 star
 (963)
3 star
 (199)
2 star
 (41)
1 star
 (20)
Overall
4.8 (4967 )
5 star
 (4026)
4 star
 (724)
3 star
 (168)
2 star
 (35)
1 star
 (14)
Story
4.7 (4963 )
5 star
 (3964)
4 star
 (806)
3 star
 (146)
2 star
 (27)
1 star
 (20)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Joan S Atkins 06-27-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Extraordinary!"

    This story is compellingly heart warming and real. Daniel James Brown takes Joe's life story and makes it truly exciting. He makes you feel like you are there with the boys in the boat.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jon 06-27-15
    Jon 06-27-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "No words"

    No words will come close to defining this story. I've been left in awe at a life lived to the full.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Heather Hensley 06-27-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautifully written and performed."

    This book will appeal to all age groups. My husband and I listen to it with our 19-year-old son on a recent road trip and we all enjoyed it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    James Kuras 06-26-15
    James Kuras 06-26-15 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved this."

    What a great story. A must read; especially if you enjoy(ed) unbroken by Laura hildebrand

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JONI FUNK 06-26-15
    JONI FUNK 06-26-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable"

    Interesting on multiple levels. Makes you laugh, cheer, cry, and think!
    Enjoyable to listen, transported in time and be reminded.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jim B Reading, MA 06-25-15
    Jim B Reading, MA 06-25-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow. Great book."

    Outstanding story that goes far beyond 'the boat'. A must read for anyone interested in this time in history and what it means to the world.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lane 06-25-15
    Lane 06-25-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing story!"

    Having no previous knowledge or interest in rowing I was apprehensive in starting this book. I shouldn't have waited so long to start. Such a good book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kim 06-23-15
    Kim 06-23-15

    Say something about yourself!

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Boys in The Boat"

    Loved the book. Would like to have had more human interest back stories of several characters. Over all, very well narrated and written. Would recommend.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    NatalieB Ca 06-23-15
    NatalieB Ca 06-23-15

    deltabeavers

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent!"

    Loved the story. Narration was great. Can't wait to see if the movie lives up to the book. Exciting to watch the actual Olympic race on YouTube also.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    William G Newton PORTLAND, ME, US 06-23-15
    William G Newton PORTLAND, ME, US 06-23-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Row out of The Depression and into Olympic history"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Feel the thrill of escaping from the Great Depression and into Olympic History in this very well written and true story of backwoods boys taking on Hitler youth.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Boys in the Boat?

    Each rowing race is delivered with an intensity that made me feel I was in the boat.


    Which character – as performed by Edward Herrmann – was your favorite?

    I pictured the antagonist with full detail


    Any additional comments?

    One of the most well written books. Intertwines the history of the day with the story of The Boys in the Boat. Particularly riveting to listen to.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.