We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics | [Daniel James Brown]

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.
Regular Price:$33.60
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics.

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together - a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times - the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.

©2013 Daniel James Brown (P)2013 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (6251 )
5 star
 (4908)
4 star
 (1056)
3 star
 (221)
2 star
 (45)
1 star
 (21)
Overall
4.8 (5565 )
5 star
 (4534)
4 star
 (792)
3 star
 (183)
2 star
 (42)
1 star
 (14)
Story
4.8 (5556 )
5 star
 (4458)
4 star
 (889)
3 star
 (158)
2 star
 (30)
1 star
 (21)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Brother Bear 07-29-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not about the boat,but it really is about the boat"

    It's amazing how a 30 minute story stretched out to 14 hours can hold my attention. My 14 year old grandson turned it on as soon as we were in the car. What a great way to get Hungary for history. Even when you know the end. I love character development. Highly recommend if you know nothing about racing shells. I surely didn't. Footballs nothing compared to rowing. Great listen. Give me more.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mike 07-29-15
    mike 07-29-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nothing special here. Just Mediocre."
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    No, I kept waiting for it to get good or inspirational but I never happened. It was a dud.


    What does Edward Herrmann bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    The narrator is excellent and a big reason I chose to read this title following "Unbroken".


    Did The Boys in the Boat inspire you to do anything?

    No, just to be more cautious about books that have great ratings.


    Any additional comments?

    Here is the deal...the sample you get to listen to is the absolute best part of this book. Nothing else contained within even comes close to the inspiration of those few lines. I was hoping it would shatter my preconceived notions of rowing being boring but left me with fully conceived notions that rowing is truly unappealing to most people. It is about as interesting as a book on rowing can be, which is very little. And you already know how it ends. It's a return for me.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    lou marino 07-29-15
    lou marino 07-29-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Leni Reifenstahl gets her due."

    Not only a great book and a fantastic story about good decent men, but I am grateful that the author went after and accurately depicted leni riefenstahl for being a part of the Nazi machinery that, somehow, she was able to distance herself from later in life. It is particularly galling that she was honored by the academy awards in 2004.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Marya Sherer Nielander 07-29-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story and narrating"

    Starts off a little slow- takes a while to build, but when it gets going.... You can't turn it off!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bradley S. Randall 07-28-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Exceptional"

    Although there is a lot of backstory the first half of the book, the second half whizzes by in suspenseful and inspirational speed! Loved the narration as well.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Laurie 07-28-15
    Laurie 07-28-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful!"

    Wonderful story. Loved the narrator. Kept me up at night until finished. Thank you very much.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    joan Lakeside, AZ, United States 07-28-15
    joan Lakeside, AZ, United States 07-28-15 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Inspiring, moving story"

    I felt like something in my perspective on life changed with the end of the book. Inspiring as to human natures noble possibilities. Refreshing amidst so much of the negative aspects we hear daily on the news and TV.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sol Sandperl 07-27-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great audio book!!!"
    What made the experience of listening to The Boys in the Boat the most enjoyable?

    The family story about the the main character Joe


    Any additional comments?

    Highly enjoyable and filled with depth and poignancy and historical relevance

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sarah B. Rickman Colorado Springs CO 07-26-15
    Sarah B. Rickman Colorado Springs CO 07-26-15 Member Since 2012

    author, women's aviation

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Story, Great Book!"

    Highly recommend this book. A great American story of uncommon effort on the part of ordinary young men who, collectively, achieve great team victories and personal satisfaction of a job well done.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sarah 07-26-15
    Sarah 07-26-15

    Books are a survival tool in a sometimes insane world.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Slow read"
    Would you try another book from Daniel James Brown and/or Edward Herrmann?

    I might try another book from this author, but this story just didnt keep my attention.


    Has The Boys in the Boat turned you off from other books in this genre?

    Yes


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    I didnt find myself looking forward to picking up where I'd left off


    What character would you cut from The Boys in the Boat?

    none


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.