We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Boys in the Boat Audiobook

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.
Regular Price:$33.60
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics.

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together - a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times - the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.

©2013 Daniel James Brown (P)2013 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.8 (13352 )
5 star
 (10797)
4 star
 (1993)
3 star
 (420)
2 star
 (93)
1 star
 (49)
Overall
4.8 (12052 )
5 star
 (9987)
4 star
 (1555)
3 star
 (388)
2 star
 (81)
1 star
 (41)
Story
4.8 (12057 )
5 star
 (9944)
4 star
 (1696)
3 star
 (313)
2 star
 (65)
1 star
 (39)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Rachel 05-29-16
    Rachel 05-29-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    Overall
    "awesome!"

    This is a must read! A wonderful example of courage and fortitude! Never goive up!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Diane 05-28-16
    Diane 05-28-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful!"

    Surprisingly unknown to many of us is this remarkable story of The Boys in the Boat. Well-written by Daniel James Brown, the chapters flew by, the story flowing like the lakes and rivers the boys were rowing in. It's a story of courage and overcoming huge obstacles to achieve what would seem to be impossible. Joe Rantz is a compelling character, who epitomizes what it sometimes takes to succeed. I look forward to the movie that is apparently in the making. It should be as important a movie as Unbroken, both stories of heroes, not just because of being great athletes, but because of their character.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    James Martineau 05-27-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "unexpectedly captivating"

    what a great story. I have an hour long drive to work and back everyday and found myself surprised that I could have contently driven another 2 hours everyday just so I could continue listening.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Paula Edmond, United States 05-26-16
    Paula Edmond, United States 05-26-16 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    20
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book"

    I found the story to be extremely interesting & the narrator made it even more compelling.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Katherine Brennan 05-26-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book, painful recording."

    If you are from the PNW you'll cringe at least dozens of times at the mispronunciation of many local places. great story though!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mariane 05-26-16
    Mariane 05-26-16 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing listen"

    A beautiful story that needs to be read or heard by everyone. I was inspired.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    cuquerella 05-26-16
    cuquerella 05-26-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Me esperaba más"

    La historia es bastante aburrida y predecible. Lleno de lugares comunes y se intenta dar intensidad donde realmente no hay ninguna. Pasa por encima de los temas interesantes. No me ha gustado.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sharon Compton HOTCHKISS, CO, US 05-24-16
    Sharon Compton HOTCHKISS, CO, US 05-24-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Inspiring"

    This true story is amazing by itself but the way the story is told in this book and performed on audio make it unforgettable and one of the very best books I have ever read/listened to. A must read!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jeannine A. Rose 05-24-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    "great read"

    An inspiring, entertaining adventure. The character studies wonderful. A very worthwhile read or in this case listen.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Phil Nelson 05-24-16
    Phil Nelson 05-24-16 Member Since 2012

    PLNelson

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome!"

    One I've the best books I've ever read (heard)!! It is a great story wonderfully told.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.