We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics | [Daniel James Brown]

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.
Regular Price:$33.60
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics.

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together - a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times - the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.

©2013 Daniel James Brown (P)2013 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (4786 )
5 star
 (3714)
4 star
 (839)
3 star
 (179)
2 star
 (37)
1 star
 (17)
Overall
4.8 (4218 )
5 star
 (3408)
4 star
 (625)
3 star
 (143)
2 star
 (32)
1 star
 (10)
Story
4.7 (4217 )
5 star
 (3339)
4 star
 (709)
3 star
 (127)
2 star
 (26)
1 star
 (16)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Linda Corssmit 05-15-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Frustrating Mispronunciation of Names"
    What did you love best about The Boys in the Boat?

    Great history.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Personal stories of characters.


    What three words best describe Edward Herrmann’s voice?

    Rich, warm.


    Any additional comments?

    I lived in Washington many years ago, and found mispronunciation of regional names frustrating.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carol 05-14-15
    Carol 05-14-15 Member Since 2006
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Outstanding"

    I could not put the book down. Edward Hermann did a masterful job of reading. I hung on every word.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Chandra 05-14-15
    Chandra 05-14-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Inspiring"

    The simple, harsh reality of life in the early nineteen hundreds certainly turned out a magnificent generation of human beings. I am humbled by hearing these boy's story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nicki Johannesburg, South Africa 05-14-15
    Nicki Johannesburg, South Africa 05-14-15 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unputdownable!!"

    This book is one of the best I have encountered in years. If I listened whilst driving, I did not want to get out when I reached my destination! The narrator's voice is comforting and soothing. The story itself was emotive - sad, funny, thrilling. The book highlights how unbreakable the human spirit can be when one wants something badly enough.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    L. Preble Boston, MA 05-13-15
    L. Preble Boston, MA 05-13-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great story, pretty well written"

    Not my favorite writing, but the story is very good and presented well. I would recommend the book to a friend.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    chris teifke 05-13-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Spellbound from the beginning."

    Excellent story. An absolute must "listen. My only regret is to not be able to meet these men.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mary Thesenvitz EMBARRASS, MN, US 05-13-15
    Mary Thesenvitz EMBARRASS, MN, US 05-13-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Inspiration and narration bring this book to life"
    Where does The Boys in the Boat rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    This book is in the top 5 of my favorties


    What did you like best about this story?

    Loved the story of the boys and their varied back grounds


    Have you listened to any of Edward Herrmann’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I have listened to Unbroken with this narrator. His voice and diction added the flavor of the true story to both books


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    The scene of the boys as they reach the finish line for the gold.


    Any additional comments?

    I was sadden to learn of the death of Edward Hermann. The world has lost a talented man with a voice made to order for voice over and narration.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Valerie Byrnes 05-12-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story"

    Really enjoyed this book. I would highly recommend to everyone. In fact, I listened to it on Audible and may buy a hard copy to keep.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John H. Davis III Honolulu 05-12-15
    John H. Davis III Honolulu 05-12-15 Member Since 2003

    Jack

    HELPFUL VOTES
    46
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Overly dramatic"

    This would have made a.great short story but it went on forever. I found it very repetitive. as if the author had to keep the words coming to make a full length book. The story itself was of a great athletic achievement and I don't mean to take away anything from that.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Colleen T. OBrien Indianapolis, IN, US 05-12-15
    Colleen T. OBrien Indianapolis, IN, US 05-12-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Truly moving - narration made story riveting"

    This is my 2nd audio book and I loved it. It's a well written account of an incredible story, and Edward Hermann's crisp and subtle reading make all the emotions more poignant - the despair of Joe's childhood, the anxiety of the boys trying to make the boat, the tension of the races, and the sad irony of what is to come from the Germans. Dan Brown and his editors made smart choices in presenting this story, with Brown's descriptions making me feel like I was on the shores of Lake Washington, the Hudson, and in Berlin. I didn't know much about rowing before I read this, but I found myself regretting that my ha and college didn't have a team.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 71-80 of 490 results PREVIOUS178949NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.