We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics | [Daniel James Brown]

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.
Regular Price:$33.60
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics.

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together - a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times - the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.

©2013 Daniel James Brown (P)2013 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (4433 )
5 star
 (3435)
4 star
 (782)
3 star
 (166)
2 star
 (34)
1 star
 (16)
Overall
4.8 (3919 )
5 star
 (3167)
4 star
 (581)
3 star
 (132)
2 star
 (29)
1 star
 (10)
Story
4.7 (3918 )
5 star
 (3094)
4 star
 (664)
3 star
 (121)
2 star
 (24)
1 star
 (15)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Joan Larken 04-29-15
    Joan Larken 04-29-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A best kept secret"

    Reminded me of being on the water in those long shallow narrow boats with a long blade!!

    All of it so true. When the truth is this good who need to make things up

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sylvia Newman Ogden, UT United States 04-28-15
    Sylvia Newman Ogden, UT United States 04-28-15

    Sylvia

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Boys in the Boat is the best"

    This is a tremendous tribute to some marvelous men and an amazing generation. I was enhanced from the very beginning.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    just me Orange County, CA USA 04-28-15
    just me Orange County, CA USA 04-28-15 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    28
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    79
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A fist pumping listen"

    There were times listening to this book that I found myself shooting my fist in the air, sharing in the triumphs. Mr. Brown is a wonderful storyteller, and what a story to tell. The narrator was superb. All in all, this is one of the finest books I have ever heard.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Josh Mendenhall 04-28-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story, that may have been overlooked."

    Exceeded expectations, I loved the narration. But my kids thought he sounded boring. I thought it was a great story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jenna Powell 04-28-15 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "If you have rowed like me you will love it! Epic!!"

    So much detail☺️ felt like I was back with my crew with the many words and feelings that the words brought back in my mind. It is a great story! And it actually happened epic! One can only imagine the accomplishment the boys in the boat felt. So happy for Joe ✨💜

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 04-27-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "loved it!"

    It was very well written and kept my interest throughout the book. I would absolutely recommend this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    L. Wolfe Seattle, WA 04-27-15
    L. Wolfe Seattle, WA 04-27-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just ask- it is Al-Kai like Pie."

    You really should have asked how to pronounce the names of the locations in Seattle. You are wrong about half the time. I am sure I am not the only one annoyed in Seattle. Btw. It is Al-Kai (like pie). Not Al-key.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Charmaine D. Roth 04-27-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Inspiring story, beautifully written."

    This book was recommended to me and exceeded my expectations. I recommend it to everyone I speak too!

    Narrator is wonderful.

    Will listen to more from this author and narrator.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Karen Jessen Southern California 04-26-15
    Karen Jessen Southern California 04-26-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Captivating and inspiring"

    An extremely well written and narrated piece of American history. After this book you will gain a new respect for crew and the men and women that made it through the Great Depression and WW II.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Katrina Daskalogianni 04-26-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An amazing book"

    The book tells an amazing story of teamwork, friendship, and perseverance. The narrator has done an excellent job.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 71-80 of 447 results PREVIOUS178945NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.