We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics | [Daniel James Brown]

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.
Regular Price:$33.60
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics.

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together - a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times - the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.

©2013 Daniel James Brown (P)2013 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (6187 )
5 star
 (4858)
4 star
 (1045)
3 star
 (218)
2 star
 (45)
1 star
 (21)
Overall
4.8 (5505 )
5 star
 (4485)
4 star
 (783)
3 star
 (183)
2 star
 (40)
1 star
 (14)
Story
4.8 (5496 )
5 star
 (4408)
4 star
 (881)
3 star
 (156)
2 star
 (30)
1 star
 (21)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Laurie 07-28-15
    Laurie 07-28-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful!"

    Wonderful story. Loved the narrator. Kept me up at night until finished. Thank you very much.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    joan Lakeside, AZ, United States 07-28-15
    joan Lakeside, AZ, United States 07-28-15 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Inspiring, moving story"

    I felt like something in my perspective on life changed with the end of the book. Inspiring as to human natures noble possibilities. Refreshing amidst so much of the negative aspects we hear daily on the news and TV.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sol Sandperl 07-27-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great audio book!!!"
    What made the experience of listening to The Boys in the Boat the most enjoyable?

    The family story about the the main character Joe


    Any additional comments?

    Highly enjoyable and filled with depth and poignancy and historical relevance

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sarah B. Rickman Colorado Springs CO 07-26-15
    Sarah B. Rickman Colorado Springs CO 07-26-15 Member Since 2012

    author, women's aviation

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Story, Great Book!"

    Highly recommend this book. A great American story of uncommon effort on the part of ordinary young men who, collectively, achieve great team victories and personal satisfaction of a job well done.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sarah 07-26-15
    Sarah 07-26-15

    Books are a survival tool in a sometimes insane world.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Slow read"
    Would you try another book from Daniel James Brown and/or Edward Herrmann?

    I might try another book from this author, but this story just didnt keep my attention.


    Has The Boys in the Boat turned you off from other books in this genre?

    Yes


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    I didnt find myself looking forward to picking up where I'd left off


    What character would you cut from The Boys in the Boat?

    none


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nicole Mangum 07-26-15 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Captivating story with intriguing narration."

    The story was phenomenal, well-written, and riveting. Clean book appropriate for all ages. I appreciated the uplifting nature and the virtuous storyline.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joan Audubon, PA, United States 07-25-15
    Joan Audubon, PA, United States 07-25-15 Member Since 2010
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent book"
    Would you listen to The Boys in the Boat again? Why?

    Would highly recommend this book to anyone. Great story, great narration and overall very well done!!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Denny 07-25-15
    Denny 07-25-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Superb"

    This may be the best sports book you ever read. And I'm not sure it is about sports at all...















    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    DC Sox Fan Washington, DC 07-25-15
    DC Sox Fan Washington, DC 07-25-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gripping suspenseful and beautifully written and read"

    Story was surprisingly suspenseful and compelling. Reader is top notch. Highly recommend whether you appreciate crew and rowing or not.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Torsten C. 07-25-15
    Torsten C. 07-25-15 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "fabulous"

    outstanding. the narrator was perfect. great story. should make for an Academy award winning movie

    .

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.