We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics | [Daniel James Brown]

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.
Regular Price:$33.60
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics.

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together - a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times - the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.

©2013 Daniel James Brown (P)2013 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (3654 )
5 star
 (2817)
4 star
 (647)
3 star
 (143)
2 star
 (31)
1 star
 (16)
Overall
4.7 (3250 )
5 star
 (2602)
4 star
 (500)
3 star
 (112)
2 star
 (25)
1 star
 (11)
Story
4.7 (3242 )
5 star
 (2533)
4 star
 (571)
3 star
 (103)
2 star
 (21)
1 star
 (14)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    B. Loftin 03-27-15
    B. Loftin 03-27-15

    Spored

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "a must read"

    a very inspirational story for anyone, who kne rowing could be so interesting, a must read

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Peter Greene 03-27-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful true story"

    This audio book exceeded my expectations even after hearing great things about it. I couldn't wait to get in my car so I could get back in the boat with the boys. It's a story about common people achieving extraordinary results with their muscles, their minds and their hearts. It's about the individual, the team and an almost mystical alignment that created moments of perfection. The narrator is a great match for this outstanding historical experience. Enjoy.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    SoonerFan 03-27-15
    SoonerFan 03-27-15 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Exceptional audiobook!"

    Inspirational story. Exciting, adventurous, motivational. What a great tribute to the men of the Washington Clipper. I highly recommend this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    endoduo 03-27-15
    endoduo 03-27-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "History Lesson with heart"

    Survival, courage, and endurance of human spirit through abandonment, and incredible mental and physical challenge. A Lifetime of lessons challenging our personal capabilities and the real world.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael Horseheads, NY, United States 03-26-15
    Michael Horseheads, NY, United States 03-26-15 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Greatest Generation"
    Any additional comments?

    This was another remarkable story about what Tom Brokaw has coined, "The Greatest Generation". Edward Hermann's narration is always a pleasure - I will miss him as a reader of great books.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Desk Monkey 03-26-15
    Desk Monkey 03-26-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved this book!"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes, great narration, and great story.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Boys in the Boat?

    The races! So exciting.


    What does Edward Herrmann bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Again, the narration of the races is so exciting.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    The story of the main character. He was the quintessential underdog, and it was so wonderful that he was so successful.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lisa Anjewierden 03-26-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved!"

    Great book, great story! The story was captivating on many levels. Most importantly it portrayed the love men develop as they work together.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Melissa 03-26-15
    Melissa 03-26-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An Enjoyable Experience"

    The book was recommended to me by a friend and it did meet my expectations. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
    The most memorable part was how the team won the Olympics in Germany. It was also very interesting to hear what the men did with their lives after graduating from the University of Washington and how they stayed connected until their deaths.
    The narrator was very good and made only one very, very small mistake. He mispronounced the name of the town of Anacortes, Washington.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    maguas 03-25-15
    maguas 03-25-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Couldn't stop listening."

    just a great listen. I knew what was going to happen and I still was on pins and needles.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ivan Pentz 03-25-15
    Ivan Pentz 03-25-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome."

    Essential reading for anyone that ever pulled a blade! The description of the last race is enough reason to listen to it again.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 61-70 of 369 results PREVIOUS167837NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.