We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics | [Daniel James Brown]

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.
Regular Price:$33.60
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics.

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together - a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times - the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.

©2013 Daniel James Brown (P)2013 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (4783 )
5 star
 (3712)
4 star
 (838)
3 star
 (179)
2 star
 (37)
1 star
 (17)
Overall
4.8 (4215 )
5 star
 (3406)
4 star
 (624)
3 star
 (143)
2 star
 (32)
1 star
 (10)
Story
4.7 (4214 )
5 star
 (3336)
4 star
 (709)
3 star
 (127)
2 star
 (26)
1 star
 (16)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Misty DeWitt 05-19-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent story of history meeting tenacity"

    Wonderful story - the history woven throughout made me even more proud of the teams achievements. Terrific and entertaining. You will enjoy it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 05-19-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow! A must read!"

    Amazing story, impeccably written and read masterly! Must read! Top 10 favorites of all time for this reader!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer USA 05-19-15
    Amazon Customer USA 05-19-15 Member Since 2010

    online consumer

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Absolutely great"

    I loved this book!!! Great story about amazing group of men. I am in awe of their talent, spirit and endurance!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alejandro G. 05-18-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One of the best books I've ever read!!"

    This is one of the best books I've read so far! It's emotional and very inspiring, I highly recommend it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cindy 05-17-15
    Cindy 05-17-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing Story"

    I loved this book. I was captivated from start to finish with tears streaming by the end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joseph Duluth, MN, United States 05-16-15
    Joseph Duluth, MN, United States 05-16-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great true story of guts,glory and life."

    I learned more than I wanted to about rowing but the history of the boys and times was worth it. Great story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    James 05-16-15
    James 05-16-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The finest book I have read since since 1946"

    An outstanding effort that makes the story a pleasure to read and also have someone read to it to me.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    B. Olson 05-16-15
    B. Olson 05-16-15 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Moving"

    Listen to it, and it will move you to be a better person. Joe and these boys overcame so many obstacles that your own will likely seem much more surmountable. Well worth every cent.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J 05-15-15
    J 05-15-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Outstanding!"

    Wonderful narration, this story reminds us of how far the American Spirit can and always has taken us and how far from that way of living we have gone.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Linda Corssmit 05-15-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Frustrating Mispronunciation of Names"
    What did you love best about The Boys in the Boat?

    Great history.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Personal stories of characters.


    What three words best describe Edward Herrmann’s voice?

    Rich, warm.


    Any additional comments?

    I lived in Washington many years ago, and found mispronunciation of regional names frustrating.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 61-70 of 489 results PREVIOUS167849NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.