We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics | [Daniel James Brown]

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.
Regular Price:$34.96
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics.

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together - a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times - the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.

©2013 Daniel James Brown (P)2013 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (1893 )
5 star
 (1420)
4 star
 (352)
3 star
 (90)
2 star
 (20)
1 star
 (11)
Overall
4.7 (1725 )
5 star
 (1352)
4 star
 (277)
3 star
 (71)
2 star
 (18)
1 star
 (7)
Story
4.7 (1715 )
5 star
 (1294)
4 star
 (328)
3 star
 (68)
2 star
 (14)
1 star
 (11)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Patricia 12-08-13
    Patricia 12-08-13

    P.C. Harper

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wrong Pronunciation"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I would not recommend the audio version of this book. This is a wonderful story. Edward Hermann is a very good reader, but he didn't bother to learn the correct pronunciation of almost every Washington State place name. This spoiled the listening experience for me.


    Would you be willing to try another one of Edward Herrmann’s performances?


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Even with the reader's problems, the story was a difficult one to put aside.


    Any additional comments?

    I often get the talking books of stories set in other parts of the world because I want to know how the foreign names and other unfamiliar words are pronounced. This experience makes me wonder if I can trust the readers and/or the producers to get it right.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    HeyHeather Ocean Park, ME, United States 12-04-13
    HeyHeather Ocean Park, ME, United States 12-04-13 Member Since 2009

    I have been reading since before I started school. I am not sitting in front of a book someone is reading it to me!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderfully written"

    I so enjoyed this book. The story the scene and then triumph over adversity, sometimes raises the hair on your neck and at others brings tears to your eyes. I rank this among my top 100 books of all time. I am going to be reading this over and over and over again.

    The narration is exemplary. Get this book and keep reading till you can't read anymore. You will love this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jody COLLINSVILLE, OK, United States 11-11-13
    Jody COLLINSVILLE, OK, United States 11-11-13 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best Book I have listened too."
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    This book could be about playing anything and it would still be just as good. The authors's narrative's are awesome.

    If you like Unbroken or Seabiscuit you will love this book just as much or more. In fact they are all related and referenced.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    abigail Seattle, WA, United States 11-08-13
    abigail Seattle, WA, United States 11-08-13 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    38
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "How can a sports book be this good??!?!?"
    Would you listen to The Boys in the Boat again? Why?

    Yes - it was suspenseful and fascinating.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    I almost cried when Joe found his way back into the varsity boat and his team members welcomed him back. Beautiful scene.


    Any additional comments?

    What a story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Shawn Lindon, UT, United States 11-05-13
    Shawn Lindon, UT, United States 11-05-13 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    35
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fascinating story"

    This is a near perfect book. The story is gripping and the reader is perfect for it. I loved it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John Granger, IN, United States 11-03-13
    John Granger, IN, United States 11-03-13 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fabulous story, writing, and performance."

    Although I am a recreational rower, I had never heard of this team, and their role in the 1936 Olympics. Myself and my 20 yo son listened to this on a long car trip and didn't want to get out of the car. Fabulously written. It reminded me of both Seabiscuit and Unbreakable in the quality of the writing. Highly recommend it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Prescott D. Stewart Concord, MA 10-29-13
    Prescott D. Stewart Concord, MA 10-29-13 Member Since 2013

    pstewart1993

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Remarkable!"
    Any additional comments?

    One the very best audiobooks I have ever listened to. An absolutely amazing and compelling story. I cannot recommend this highly enough.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    W Saint Charles, IL, United States 10-20-13
    W Saint Charles, IL, United States 10-20-13 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    35
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Boys in the Boat!"
    What did you love best about The Boys in the Boat?

    This is easily the best audio book I have heard in a quite a while. Edward Herrmann is sensational, the story is breath taking, and I couldn't stop listening. Best story I have read since Unbroken.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jane 10-18-13
    Jane 10-18-13 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Surprisingly Good"

    I never thought I would be interested in a boat race. But I thought the fact that it was in that horrendous Nazi Olympics might be riveting. It was, but not in the way I thought. As the title suggests, it was the boys in the boat that were mesmerizing.

    I was a bit disappointed that there was not much on the German side of the story.
    Still, I came away with a huge amount of respect for the boys in "our" boat.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elaine 10-16-13
    Elaine 10-16-13

    I did not learn to read until I was in my twenties. Have not stopped since. The two most important things to learn are reading & chess.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    50
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    58
    33
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unbelievable but True"

    This book tells a true story about an unlikely group that came from behind with all odds against them only to pull off one of the greatest feats in the history of the US Olympics.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 131-140 of 172 results PREVIOUS113141518NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.