We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics | [Daniel James Brown]

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.
Regular Price:$33.60
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics.

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together - a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times - the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.

©2013 Daniel James Brown (P)2013 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (5633 )
5 star
 (4408)
4 star
 (965)
3 star
 (199)
2 star
 (41)
1 star
 (20)
Overall
4.8 (4995 )
5 star
 (4051)
4 star
 (727)
3 star
 (168)
2 star
 (35)
1 star
 (14)
Story
4.7 (4991 )
5 star
 (3988)
4 star
 (810)
3 star
 (146)
2 star
 (27)
1 star
 (20)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Phillip 06-10-15
    Phillip 06-10-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Stirring"

    An unbelievable tale of how far trust and determination can take you in the face of adversity. Well read by Edward Hermann.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Susan Rockville, MD, United States 06-10-15
    Susan Rockville, MD, United States 06-10-15 Member Since 2012

    artist

    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Read !"

    Wonderful history of the Seattle area and the lives of the "boys" who were thrown together and onto the world stage. I found it to be a well written and interesting visit to a different time and place.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lovedog 06-09-15
    Lovedog 06-09-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    104
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Boys In The Boat is a great book"

    RIP Edward Hermann. The powerful narration of Boys In The Boat by Hermann leant a tone worthy of this great story. Daniel James Brown infused history, geography, biography and sports into this wonderfully crafted book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rita Rote Los Angeles, CA USA 06-09-15
    Rita Rote Los Angeles, CA USA 06-09-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "So good I want to hear it again!"
    What made the experience of listening to The Boys in the Boat the most enjoyable?

    I like to read but a driving commute doesn't lend to that and time is pressured. Being able to listen, and listen to a story like this made it hard to get out of the car. This is the best story I have heard in a very long time.


    What other book might you compare The Boys in the Boat to and why?

    "Seabiscuit." These are the best books on human spirit, triumph of the will, sport, ever written, or at least the best I've read.


    What aspect of Edward Herrmann’s performance would you have changed?

    None. Loved it.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    If the world and way gave the room to one sitting, probably.


    Any additional comments?

    I didn't want the book to end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Author 06-09-15
    Author 06-09-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Magnificent"

    Some of the finest narrative nonfiction out there. Daniel James Brown is a master storyteller and researcher. This story might just inspire you to pick up an oar and take to the water.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JH 06-09-15
    JH 06-09-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautiful story, distracting performance"

    As a rower from Seattle, how could I not love this book? The narrator was well chosen in all attributes, except for proper nouns. Like others from the PNW, I cringed and was jolted out of the story every time he mispronounced the name of a local town or feature.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Beadiii 06-08-15
    Beadiii 06-08-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Exciting and fascinating"

    The great Edward Hermann did a really great job of reading this book to me. The book is sometimes over-written but Hermann reads every sentence with the right tone and approach.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Katie 06-08-15
    Katie 06-08-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Must read"

    Amazing book! Inspiring! All rowers will relate to every breathe in this book. The narration is also perfect.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Julia A. Prater Columbia, SC United States 06-08-15
    Julia A. Prater Columbia, SC United States 06-08-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A wonderful story!"

    Daniel Brown told this story in a wonderful tone and gave voice to the rowing experience. In many instances I felt I was in the boat with the 9 boys. I loved the description of the races and felt tension and anticipation of the outcomes both because of the writing and the excellent reading.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joel NEW YORK, NY, United States 06-07-15
    Joel NEW YORK, NY, United States 06-07-15 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Listen to this book!"

    Edward Herrmann does a stellar job bringing this uplifting story to life. Never does he detract nor does he tire. Great performance, great story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.