We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics | [Daniel James Brown]

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.
Regular Price:$34.96
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics.

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together - a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times - the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.

©2013 Daniel James Brown (P)2013 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (3096 )
5 star
 (2370)
4 star
 (555)
3 star
 (128)
2 star
 (29)
1 star
 (14)
Overall
4.7 (2769 )
5 star
 (2204)
4 star
 (435)
3 star
 (96)
2 star
 (25)
1 star
 (9)
Story
4.7 (2763 )
5 star
 (2140)
4 star
 (500)
3 star
 (90)
2 star
 (21)
1 star
 (12)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Karen & Aneil Mishra Durham, NC USA 01-27-15
    Karen & Aneil Mishra Durham, NC USA 01-27-15

    Trust Dr.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Spellbinding from beginning to end."

    The story would be compelling enough on its own, but Edward Hermann's as-always masterful reading makes it even more remarkable. I didn't want it to end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Diana PORT ANGELES, WA, United States 01-27-15
    Diana PORT ANGELES, WA, United States 01-27-15 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    68
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great history book and story combined."
    What made the experience of listening to The Boys in the Boat the most enjoyable?

    The book was so well written and researched. It was especially entertaining because of the setting which is the area where I currently live. It was heart warming, suspenseful and a tear jerker that also make me want to stand up and cheer with my head phones on.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Oh yes, I would if I could. Never a slow moment.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jane J. DuComb Phoenix, AZ USA 01-26-15
    Jane J. DuComb Phoenix, AZ USA 01-26-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A book to come back to"

    This is a wonderful book. It is beautifully written, beautifully read, and a story for the ages. Brown has woven the story of the boys with the story of the times, and the result is rich, compelling and inspiring. I am sure I will read it again and again.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Margaret M Hare 01-25-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Inspiring true story. Beautifully written and told"

    I had never heard the story but will never forget it. Beautifully written and read. Appeals to a wide audience.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Deb 01-25-15
    Deb 01-25-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent and Inspiring."

    This reads like a novel. A part of our history that I would never have known.
    Narrator was excellent. Highly recommend this

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    M. Ford Catonsville, MD 01-25-15
    M. Ford Catonsville, MD 01-25-15 Member Since 2014

    Benshin317

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Boys float my boat"

    Loved the individual stories. Learned a lot about the sport and mechanics of crew and U.S. patriotism at this time.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Catherine M. Ferry Westfield, NJ USA 01-24-15
    Catherine M. Ferry Westfield, NJ USA 01-24-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An emotionally stirring and inspirational story"

    A brilliant and moving story and a reminder why that era of men and women are known as the "greatest generation". Dan Brown's story is captivating and Edward Herrmann's narration is simply perfect. A "must listen".

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 01-24-15 Member Since 2006
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very interesting"

    Written in great detail of the sport of rowing. There were several insights to historic events at the time. Was very motivating for me.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael Syracuse, UT, United States 01-22-15
    Michael Syracuse, UT, United States 01-22-15 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good book all around"

    This is a very inspiring story. Well written and narrated. Would definitely recommend this book to anyone. It is a must read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Heidi 01-22-15
    Heidi 01-22-15 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Great story"

    A little nostalgic but the interweaving of the Great Depression, the dust bowl, and the rise of hitler into the story of the Olympic crew team was fascinating.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 131-140 of 299 results PREVIOUS113141530NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.