We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics | [Daniel James Brown]

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.
Regular Price:$34.96
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics.

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together - a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times - the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.

©2013 Daniel James Brown (P)2013 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (1589 )
5 star
 (1204)
4 star
 (286)
3 star
 (74)
2 star
 (16)
1 star
 (9)
Overall
4.7 (1457 )
5 star
 (1149)
4 star
 (226)
3 star
 (61)
2 star
 (15)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.7 (1445 )
5 star
 (1099)
4 star
 (269)
3 star
 (57)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (9)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Dr. Mark Silvers 12-18-13 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Homerun!"
    Where does The Boys in the Boat rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    The most beautifully written story I've read in many years. Edward Hermann was the perfect storyteller. I would have to say it is among the top five listens in nearly 100 books listened to.


    Have you listened to any of Edward Herrmann’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    Yes. They all have been great!


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    Not a good film story!


    Any additional comments?

    I hated it to end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Eve 12-15-13
    Eve 12-15-13 Member Since 2010
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Knock-out Good Story"
    Any additional comments?

    This is a really good story, exceptionally well read. It never would have occurred to me to select this book, but a friend recommended it. I'm very glad she did.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    C. Sorensen Provo, UT USA 12-13-13
    C. Sorensen Provo, UT USA 12-13-13 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Read This Book!"
    Would you listen to The Boys in the Boat again? Why?

    Yes. The book had so many good ideas and feelings, it was hard to remember them all.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Joe Rantz


    Have you listened to any of Edward Herrmann’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    Yes, this was a perfect match for Herrmann's voice.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    Adversity and sweat, build tough, good men.


    Any additional comments?

    This and unbroken have been two of my favorite listens.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joel 12-13-13
    Joel 12-13-13

    lost-in-dixie

    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic!!!"

    A page turner, this true story is by turns fascinating, heartbreaking, redemptive. I cheered for Joe Rantz every hour of my listen. You will not regret buying this book. The
    writing is genius. The narration is superb. The story is unforgettable. Best book I have bought ever (next to Seabiscuit and Unbroken).

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Terry Poulsbo, WA, United States 12-12-13
    Terry Poulsbo, WA, United States 12-12-13 Member Since 2008
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    35
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Absolutely LOVED this book!"
    Where does The Boys in the Boat rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    This is probably my very favorite book that I have read in the past few years. It was an amazing story.


    Any additional comments?

    Use a credit NOW and purchase this book. You will not be disappointed by one minute of this audiobook.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    HeyHeather Ocean Park, ME, United States 12-04-13
    HeyHeather Ocean Park, ME, United States 12-04-13 Member Since 2009

    I have been reading since before I started school. I am not sitting in front of a book someone is reading it to me!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderfully written"

    I so enjoyed this book. The story the scene and then triumph over adversity, sometimes raises the hair on your neck and at others brings tears to your eyes. I rank this among my top 100 books of all time. I am going to be reading this over and over and over again.

    The narration is exemplary. Get this book and keep reading till you can't read anymore. You will love this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    kit Edgewood, KY, United States 11-22-13
    kit Edgewood, KY, United States 11-22-13 Listener Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    31
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful, but wish the narrator did his homework."
    Any additional comments?

    Please understand, I think Edward Herrmann has a melodic, compelling voice. His delivery is great... when he's not mispronouncing Pacific NW names. Having grown up in Seattle, I can understand the difficulty, there are some unusual ones. But I cringed every time he said Post Intelli- GEN-cer, and Boh-Marche. Several place names of American Indian origin were also mangled. Surely SOMEONE could have helped with these and made an excellent book, perfect.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jody COLLINSVILLE, OK, United States 11-11-13
    Jody COLLINSVILLE, OK, United States 11-11-13 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best Book I have listened too."
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    This book could be about playing anything and it would still be just as good. The authors's narrative's are awesome.

    If you like Unbroken or Seabiscuit you will love this book just as much or more. In fact they are all related and referenced.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    abigail Seattle, WA, United States 11-08-13
    abigail Seattle, WA, United States 11-08-13 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    38
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "How can a sports book be this good??!?!?"
    Would you listen to The Boys in the Boat again? Why?

    Yes - it was suspenseful and fascinating.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    I almost cried when Joe found his way back into the varsity boat and his team members welcomed him back. Beautiful scene.


    Any additional comments?

    What a story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Shawn Lindon, UT, United States 11-05-13
    Shawn Lindon, UT, United States 11-05-13 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    35
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fascinating story"

    This is a near perfect book. The story is gripping and the reader is perfect for it. I loved it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 101-110 of 151 results PREVIOUS110111216NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.