We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics | [Daniel James Brown]

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.
Regular Price:$33.60
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics.

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together - a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times - the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.

©2013 Daniel James Brown (P)2013 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (5585 )
5 star
 (4365)
4 star
 (962)
3 star
 (197)
2 star
 (41)
1 star
 (20)
Overall
4.8 (4949 )
5 star
 (4011)
4 star
 (723)
3 star
 (166)
2 star
 (35)
1 star
 (14)
Story
4.7 (4945 )
5 star
 (3951)
4 star
 (802)
3 star
 (145)
2 star
 (27)
1 star
 (20)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    tucker 06-18-15
    tucker 06-18-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "amazing storytelling of an inspirational tale"

    we listened to The Boys in the Boat on a very long road trip. the story held us captive. we all loved it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    kristin Smith 06-18-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful heart warming story of ordinary boys achieving the extraordinary."

    Very eloquently written and inspirational. I learned much about rowing and the tenacity of the human spirit.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Glen in Canada 06-16-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic Story!"

    My two favourite audio books: 'Unbroken' and this one! I will definitely be listening to it again.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    cavmpc Boulder, CO 06-16-15
    cavmpc Boulder, CO 06-16-15 Member Since 2014

    cavmpc

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful book"

    One of the very best stories of courage and dedication you will ever read. Very well interpreted Mr. Hermann,

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Atay 06-15-15
    Atay 06-15-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Inspiring novel"

    Loved this audiobook. The story is so inspiring and the author does a thorough job of walking you through the history of the world as well as rowing during this time. I felt like the beginning was a little slow and didn't keep my attention as well as the end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    David Ivey 06-15-15
    David Ivey 06-15-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Absolutely terrific book"

    Peaceful, stirring, exciting, poignant and thoroughly satisfying. Edward Hermann's narration is, as always, first rate.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stephen PRESCOTT, Azerbaijan 06-14-15
    Stephen PRESCOTT, Azerbaijan 06-14-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An absolute must read"

    Couldn't stop listening. Very inspirational and overpowering. Not to be missed. A story very well written.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Quartie 06-13-15
    Quartie 06-13-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful. Heart Warming listen!"

    My husband and I are both keen paddlers and this was a very interesting and moving listen. Highly recommend. We both shed a few emotional tears!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stephen R Smith 06-12-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Highly recommended"

    Felt like I was part of the experience! Bravo. Really a well read and great story

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mary 06-12-15
    Mary 06-12-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Absolutely great!"

    I am privileged to learn about this incredible group of men. What an inspiration and a generation that should be honored. James brown told a hell of a story and edward herrman was the perfect narrator.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.