We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Boys in the Boat Audiobook

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.
    • 1 audiobook per month
    • 180,000+ titles to choose from
    • $14.95 per month after free trial

Publisher's Summary

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics.

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together - a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times - the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.

©2013 Daniel James Brown (P)2013 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (10287 )
5 star
 (8214)
4 star
 (1610)
3 star
 (352)
2 star
 (73)
1 star
 (38)
Overall
4.8 (9298 )
5 star
 (7650)
4 star
 (1230)
3 star
 (319)
2 star
 (67)
1 star
 (32)
Story
4.8 (9296 )
5 star
 (7577)
4 star
 (1374)
3 star
 (259)
2 star
 (53)
1 star
 (33)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    C Davis 01-09-16
    C Davis 01-09-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    "dazzling."

    I popped in the ear buds every opportunity I could. the familiar voice of ed Hermann was great as well.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    sharon san diego, california, United States 01-08-16
    sharon san diego, california, United States 01-08-16 Member Since 2013

    love to read and love audio books!Favorite authors: Marcia Willett,Nevil Shute,Mary Stewart,and Jacqueline Winspear. I could go on and on but wont bore you! I belong to a book group and we often" Listen" to the books we have selected for the month while using a paper copy for the discussion notes. It really enhances the quality of the story.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    125
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    177
    106
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful Book!"

    I am not a sports fan by any means but this book about the Olympic Rowing Team from Seattle was such an interesting story. Well paced and informative without being too technical it kept me interested all through. The last 3 chapters were especially exciting. The narrator was beyond excellent. Edward Hermann could read from the back of a cereal box and
    make it sound like a wonderful book! Loved it .

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Karen Jones Ellicott City, MD United States 01-08-16
    Karen Jones Ellicott City, MD United States 01-08-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "OUTSTANDING!"

    A remarkably well written and narrated story of true American heroes! These men deserve admiration for their work ethic, selflessness and many contributions to this country, aside from their Olympic Gold medal. They were athletes, soldiers, engineers, doctors, lawyers, husbands, fathers...and the list goes on and on. Not to forget Joyce, who I found equally inspiring. A truely inspirational read from start to finish.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kathryn 01-07-16
    Kathryn 01-07-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Magnificent!"

    A book for all ages, the history, determination of the rowing crew all WORKING together something our country needs to learn to do again!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Andrea 01-03-16
    Andrea 01-03-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Correct pronunciation"

    You would think if your job was to read these book aloud you could at least learn how to pronounce names of cities. Very disappointing performance.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    TL 01-02-16
    TL 01-02-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    41
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Couldn't finish it"
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    By making it more of a story than a history lesson.


    What do you think your next listen will be?

    A good mystery.


    Have you listened to any of Edward Herrmann’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    Not sure. He was pretty good - clear and concise in his diction.


    What character would you cut from The Boys in the Boat?

    Not sure - couldn't get past the first couple of chapters. It was just too boring.


    Any additional comments?

    This read more like a documentary than a story. Way to chock full of historical details. Would have liked to have heard more character development and intrigue than facts about rowing positions and such.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    dorothy 01-02-16
    dorothy 01-02-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This book is great!"

    A book of longing, passion, inner drive, and tremendously hard work without the standard fare of blood and gore, sex and mayhem. A great read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Beth Sterling, VA, United States 01-01-16
    Beth Sterling, VA, United States 01-01-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Simply a joy to listen to"

    This book is written beautifully. There is a tremendous amount of detail in this book -- right down to how many strokes per minute the team was rowing at various points in their practices and their races. You wouldn't think that would be interesting to someone who is not involved in the sport, but the book is so well written that I felt like I was right there in the boat with them.

    Beautifully narrated by Edward Herrmann. What a talent (such a loss).

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 12-31-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "excellent all around"

    It is an inspirational story with many layers and sub plots that add to its charm. I began recommending it before I finished it myself.
    The narrator reads it splendidly, as if he's another character in the tale.
    It's an excellent reflection on the lives of the boys in the boat who won gold in Berlin so long ago now, a story worth remembering.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Judith Sandler 12-31-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Stirring, Amazing Story"

    Perfect story and perfectly read. You feel like you know the"boys" personally. The end of the story is known before you start listening, but that doesn't make it any less thrilling. One of the best audiobooks I've listened to.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.