We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics | [Daniel James Brown]

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.
Regular Price:$33.60
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics.

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together - a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times - the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.

©2013 Daniel James Brown (P)2013 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (6136 )
5 star
 (4816)
4 star
 (1037)
3 star
 (217)
2 star
 (45)
1 star
 (21)
Overall
4.8 (5457 )
5 star
 (4444)
4 star
 (777)
3 star
 (182)
2 star
 (40)
1 star
 (14)
Story
4.8 (5450 )
5 star
 (4369)
4 star
 (875)
3 star
 (155)
2 star
 (30)
1 star
 (21)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Sherlock 07-15-15
    Sherlock 07-15-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I'll listen to this story again and again."

    Even the sad moments in the story are told in a way that is uplifting. The expression I the reading is empathetic.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tracie 07-15-15
    Tracie 07-15-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great"

    This is a Great American story of victory determination and teamwork in really tough times!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Quin 07-15-15
    Quin 07-15-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent"

    I really enjoyed this book. The story is great, and the writing is phenomenal. I give this book my highest recommendation.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    BJP Chicago, IL 07-14-15
    BJP Chicago, IL 07-14-15 Member Since 2015

    BJP

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Spectacular!!"

    I loved everything about this book. Could barely pause once I started listening, from beginning to end. Fascinating!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alan Morningside, South Africa 07-14-15
    Alan Morningside, South Africa 07-14-15 Member Since 2012

    One of the best decisions was to replace listening to the news with Audible.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A story of courage and the human spirit"

    Brilliant, must listen. A cross between Sea Biscuit and a little of Unbroken. Story of courage, sheer determination and the triumph of the human spirit.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Peter Ettel 07-14-15
    Peter Ettel 07-14-15 Member Since 2004
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A boatload of entertainmemt"

    A fabulous recounting of an epic tale. Gripping even though you know how it ends! My only complaint is that no one coached the reader in how to pronounce the city and location names in Seattle and Washington state. It jarred me every time he pronounced Alki with a long "e" sound. Similarly, his mispronunciation of Post Intelligencer (with the emphasis oddly placed on the next to the last syllable) made it clear he was an outsider. Otherwise, he was a gifted reader with a voice well suited to the story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    alex 07-13-15
    alex 07-13-15 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Olympic, Nazi, American history = amazing story"

    Best read I've had in a long while. Great history and compelling story telling about the Great Depression, rowing crew, nazi Germany, and the Olympics. Has it all.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J.E.T. USA 07-13-15
    J.E.T. USA 07-13-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Entertaining and worthwhile"

    It's a really neat story. It does a great job of helping you really understand some of the characters and feel for them. One of the marks of a good book for me is that every time I put it down I want to pick it back up because I want to know what's happening next. I generally experienced that with this book. It could have easily been five stars, but it's just not quite on the same level as Unbroken or a few others. And it was certainly worth my time and enjoyable.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sondra S. Mangan Tacoma, WA USA 07-13-15
    Sondra S. Mangan Tacoma, WA USA 07-13-15 Member Since 2002

    Sondra

    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narrator needed to learn how to pronounce local names"

    Good thing this was an excellent story.

    Narrator was so sloppy not to learn how to say local names.

    Alki, Juan de Fuca, Montesano, Anacortes were all said wrong. And the fifth of the boats named Virginia is not the Virginia "vee" it's Virginia V pronounced five -- it's a Roman numeral. Lots of other errors in local names --- this is just lazy and not acceptable.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Silvio M. Coccia 07-12-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Incredible story of the power of a team"
    What did you love best about The Boys in the Boat?

    Character development was excellent. Historical descriptions fascinating


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Boys in the Boat?

    Winning the gold medal at the 1936 in Berlin and shoving an oar up the butt of the Third Reich


    What does Edward Herrmann bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Herrmann brought a peaceful and enrapturing reading to life.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    The come from behind win at the National championship in 1936.


    Any additional comments?

    Once I started it was hard to stop. Just a great story about which I knew nothing prior

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.