We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics | [Daniel James Brown]

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.
Regular Price:$33.60
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics.

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together - a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times - the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.

©2013 Daniel James Brown (P)2013 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (5578 )
5 star
 (4360)
4 star
 (960)
3 star
 (197)
2 star
 (41)
1 star
 (20)
Overall
4.8 (4942 )
5 star
 (4006)
4 star
 (721)
3 star
 (166)
2 star
 (35)
1 star
 (14)
Story
4.7 (4938 )
5 star
 (3945)
4 star
 (801)
3 star
 (145)
2 star
 (27)
1 star
 (20)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Cathy 06-23-15
    Cathy 06-23-15

    Say something about yourself!

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One of the best books I've ever read."

    Inspiring to the point of wanting to help a troubled kid. A great story of triumph, right there with Louis Zamperini.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Boca Vet 06-23-15
    Boca Vet 06-23-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Bravo to the Boys!!!"

    What a beautifully written accounting of harmony, resolve, strength and endurance in one of the most tumultuous of times. Kudos!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Debbie 06-23-15
    Debbie 06-23-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Most enjoyable account of historical events, with such warm human interest for all the characters."

    This book was amazing!
    Great historical read that made you feel as if you were right there.
    Narrator swept you along anticipating what could happen next.
    The parallel between the story of the boys & the events in Germany was insurmountable.
    Heartfelt appreciation for what the characters endured, not only for the crew, but their very personal stories.
    If you don't get emotional throughout @ the end, then you didn't get this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tim 06-21-15
    Tim 06-21-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story, very long and drawn out"

    Boys in the Boat is a very good story. If you liked Unbroken, you would most likely enjoy this book. However it does move slowly and is very detail oriented.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Melanie S. Manning Atlanta, GA 06-20-15
    Melanie S. Manning Atlanta, GA 06-20-15 Member Since 2012

    web shopper

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Endearing, emotional, wonderful"

    This book is about so much more than a great rowing team. It's inspiring and moving. Themes of overcoming adversity, trusting others, and devoting yourself to a goal abound. The writing and the audiobook vocals are wonderful, had me in tears multiple times. Loved it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    cool cat 06-20-15
    cool cat 06-20-15 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Movie Material"

    Inspirational. This would make a great movie. I can picture the whole story in my head and I was excited for each race as if I was witnessing it myself.
    Well done.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Barbara Shaw 06-20-15

    whynot99@netvigator.com

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Epic Read"

    Every sportsman, or couch potato, for that matter, must read. I cannot remember another book that arouse as much emotions, heart wrenches, and nail biting suspense as this book. I will recommend to everyone on planet earth.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    B.L. 06-19-15
    B.L. 06-19-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Exceptional, I couldn't stop until I finished the story."

    Fantastic! Mr. Brown sure knows how to tell a story!
    Edward Herrmann, with his rich voice is forever appreciated as well.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    rosie 06-19-15
    rosie 06-19-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Well done"

    I learned more than I ever thought I wanted to about the art of rowing. Very entertaining and will be a great and emotional movie. Can't wait to see it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    SueKemnitz 06-19-15
    SueKemnitz 06-19-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "fabulous!"

    loved this book. and there's the added bonus of it being based on history. persistence, honor, and a splash of love. sad it is over.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.