We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Boys in the Boat Audiobook

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.
    • 1 audiobook per month
    • 180,000+ titles to choose from
    • $14.95 per month after free trial

Publisher's Summary

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics.

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together - a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times - the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.

©2013 Daniel James Brown (P)2013 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (10383 )
5 star
 (8289)
4 star
 (1628)
3 star
 (354)
2 star
 (74)
1 star
 (38)
Overall
4.8 (9384 )
5 star
 (7719)
4 star
 (1245)
3 star
 (321)
2 star
 (67)
1 star
 (32)
Story
4.8 (9382 )
5 star
 (7651)
4 star
 (1384)
3 star
 (260)
2 star
 (53)
1 star
 (34)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Christopher HEMET, US, Canada 01-26-16
    Christopher HEMET, US, Canada 01-26-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book narrated beautifully"

    Edward Herrmann was a great narrator and he really made the book come alive. The story is inspirational and worth every penny! Makes you proud to be an American and wish we still had pride in ourselves and country today

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ben dahl 01-26-16
    ben dahl 01-26-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One of the best books I've listened to this year"
    If you could sum up The Boys in the Boat in three words, what would they be?

    Inspiring, motivational, perseverance


    What other book might you compare The Boys in the Boat to and why?

    Unbroken. The Boys in the Boat is not about world war 2, but it takes place during the same time period as Unbroken and both books are about perseverance.


    What about Edward Herrmann’s performance did you like?

    He had a good voice


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    There were too many to count


    Any additional comments?

    This book made me want to be a better person.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jeanna 01-25-16
    Jeanna 01-25-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "incredible, moving story"
    What does Edward Herrmann bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Edward Herman brings to life the journey of 8 young men and their quest for olympic glory. I could not stop playing it and was cheering them along for every race!


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    YES


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jeff Utah 01-24-16
    Jeff Utah 01-24-16 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "everyone should read this inspiring story"

    this is one of the most inspiring novels that takes place in the Great Depression. Joe and his buddies were some of the strongest men with true GRIT. Everyone should read this!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Irene 01-23-16
    Irene 01-23-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best Audio book I have listened to"

    The story is wonderful, well written. The narrator does an excellent job. loved it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carolyn E. 01-23-16
    Carolyn E. 01-23-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Character"

    Great story about men of character and resilience amidst personal struggle. Wonderfully full of history, it's written with a sincere tone and a just so voice.
    Highly recommend

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    AVS 01-22-16
    AVS 01-22-16 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What a story! Remarkable"

    This is a story that would appeal to lovers of all literary genres.
    It is as good a read as I have had in my lifetime of reading. Could not put it down.
    Thank you DJ Brown

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Azin Chicago, IL, United States 01-22-16
    Azin Chicago, IL, United States 01-22-16 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing in depth connection with athletes life!"

    I'm not into sports and I'm not into American competitive culture however this book really shook me with excitement!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    anne g. johnson 01-22-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Must read for all!"

    Probably the one of the best books I've read... An amazing true story for all times

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ames 01-21-16
    Ames 01-21-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A MUST READ!"

    I loved every moment of this story. It is a piece of history that should not be missed. The words make the moments come to life. The narration is fabulous and Edward Herrmann tells the story with such heart. I honestly want to listen to The Boys in the Boat again.

    Like any story of triumph, this book will have you cheering for a group of eight boys that are a part of history. Not only as a collegiate rowing team, but USA Olympians. The Boys in the Boat truly needs to be on the BIG screen.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.