We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
A Noble Cause Audiobook

A Noble Cause: American Battlefield Victories in Vietnam

Regular Price:$27.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of We Were Soldiers Once, and Young, A Noble Cause is a stirring tribute to the valor and courage of the allied forces in the Vietnam War and a vivid re-creation of hard-won battles from Ia Drang Valley to Khe Sanh and Hamburger Hill.

Celebrating the skill and bravery of the United States armed forces and their South Vietnamese allies, A Noble Cause presents a gripping chronicle of both large and small unit successful combat engagements, including the Battle of Dong Xoai (1965); the Battle of Ia Drang Valley (1965), the first major ground battle of the Vietnam War; the Battle of Loc Ninh (1967) by the Cambodian border; the Battle of Khe Sanh (1967-1968) leading up to the Tet Offensive; the Battle of Dong Ha (1968); the bloody siege on Hamburger Hill (1969); and the Battle of An Loc (1972), 65 miles north of Saigon, which contributed to the failure of the Vietcong's Eastertide Offensive.

Documenting the invaluable role of a tireless and determined infantry as well as air cavalry divisions and B-52 "Arc Light" air strikes, A Noble Cause chronicles the crucial strategic decisions that led to victory - often against steep odds - and honors the bravery of every soldier who stood his ground, faced the enemy, and gave his all.

©2015 Bill Fawcett & Associates, Inc. (P)2015 Recorded Books

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.8 (6 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.8 (6 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.7 (6 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    michael thomas gill SALEM, OR, US 01-14-17
    michael thomas gill SALEM, OR, US 01-14-17 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The best overall explanation of the major battles in the Vietnam War."

    My late father was a Crew Chief/M-60 gunner in Vietnam from 1968-1969 stationed in Ban Me Thuot with The Green Hornets. Although my father spoke very little about his time there I dedicated my life to reading Everything I could about the war in hopes of somehow understanding what he went though so that I might "know" what he went through. I have read many excellent accounts of the battles and skirmishes our great and honorable men and women who served there fought, but this collection of the main battles is by far one of the best I have had the honor to read. I highly recommend this collection to everyone interested in learning about that poorly planned conflict and I truly believe that had the politicians in Washington let the soldiers do their job and and that if the media did their job and reported the truth we could have won. That said, I am incapable of expressing my complete and total gratitude to those brave men and women with my puny words. Thank you for your service and welcome home. And if anyone knew my father Ed Gill please contact me at gro257@hotmail.com. Once again, thank you for your devotion and service. God Bless all of you. Mike Gill

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    A. O'Brien 12-27-16
    A. O'Brien 12-27-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good book."

    Great book, really worth it. Well researched, well put together. I really hate the 20 word minimum.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.