We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
White Queen Audiobook

White Queen

Regular Price:$28.30
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Brother turns on brother. The throne of England is at stake. The deadly Wars of the Roses have begun....

They ruled England before the Tudors, and now internationally best-selling author Philippa Gregory brings the Plantagenets to life through the dramatic and intimate stories of the secret players: the indomitable women.

Elizabeth Woodville, a woman of extraordinary beauty and ambition, secretly marries the newly crowned boy king of England. While she rises to the demands of her exalted position and fights for the success of her family, her two sons become the central figures in a famous unsolved mystery that has confounded historians for centuries: the lost princes in the Tower of London.

Philippa Gregory brings the artistry and intellect of a master writer and storyteller to a new era in history and begins what is sure to be another best-selling classic series.

©2009 Philippa Gregory (P)2011 Simon & Schuster

What the Critics Say

"It would be hard to make history more entertaining, lively or engaging." (Sunday Express)

"Queen of the historical novel." (Mail on Sunday)

"Gregory brings to life the sights, smells and textures of 16th-century England." (Financial Times)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (2089 )
5 star
 (1001)
4 star
 (725)
3 star
 (252)
2 star
 (67)
1 star
 (44)
Overall
4.2 (1848 )
5 star
 (926)
4 star
 (593)
3 star
 (226)
2 star
 (64)
1 star
 (39)
Story
4.4 (1832 )
5 star
 (1081)
4 star
 (540)
3 star
 (158)
2 star
 (32)
1 star
 (21)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Micah OGDEN, UT, United States 03-12-15
    Micah OGDEN, UT, United States 03-12-15 Member Since 2010
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    38
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "It just kept going and going"

    I almost quit listening which has never happened before, it just kept droning on and on and I never built a relationship with the characters. The narration was good, better then lots, but the story was written mostly in facts and statements rather than thoughts or feelings, I never felt the emotional turmoil of the characters, and I couldn't build a picture of the scene in my head. It was interesting, but my favorite part was the end when the author spoke of her inspiration for the story. In the end I am grateful to live in a country without kings or queens and don't have a desire to learn anymore about past English bureaucracy and the lengths they'd go for the throne.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JK 03-07-15
    JK 03-07-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    "Enjoyed this book"

    It was a great book to listen to while working. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves history.















    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jessica Reynoso Los Lunas, NM United States 02-24-15
    Jessica Reynoso Los Lunas, NM United States 02-24-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story, very redundant"

    This is my first time "reading" Philippa Gregory, and my first audio book as well.
    I enjoyed the story and thought the magic weaved into the history was great. I wanted to keep listening to find out more.
    However it felt as though the author would repeat herself often, sometimes several times within a single paragraph or scene.
    I don't know if this is the nature of hearing over reading but that was my least favorite part.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tivarri 02-11-15
    Tivarri 02-11-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable, but I really don't like hypocrites!!"

    After seeing the Starz series I'd hoped the book would make Elizabeth seem more appealing, but it does just the opposite. She is the epitome of a greedy hypocrite once she had a taste of power.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Christy 02-02-15
    Christy 02-02-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    "Fabulous read!"

    Totally recommend this book - flew by so quickly! Can't wait to read the next one!!!!! Glad this is a series

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    SusanSeg 01-23-15
    SusanSeg 01-23-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Dry"

    This is my first Philippa Gregory book and it will probably be my last. I love historical fiction but this didn't keep me involved. It read more like a history book and less like a novel.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cox 01-19-15
    Cox 01-19-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I enjoyed it"

    I really liked this book, it was good to pass the time, but I am hesitate to buy more in the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    penkypoo 11-06-14
    penkypoo 11-06-14

    A busy lady, just tryin' to fit her reading in where she can!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    45
    45
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The narration really bothered me"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    No, I had a really hard time finishing. I really enjoy medieval history and stories but not listening to this story. I should have just read the book.


    Would you recommend White Queen to your friends? Why or why not?

    The story was interesting, a bit long and hard to follow all the family tree, but still interesting.


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Susan Lyons?

    Susan Lyons sounded like her nose was plugged up. I understand she was trying to keep the dialect of the area and time, but i found her very irriating and it made me not want to finish the story.


    Did White Queen inspire you to do anything?

    no, i heard the show based on these books are good, I would consider watching those versus reading any further books by Phillipa Gregory.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Snow queen 09-16-14
    Snow queen 09-16-14

    Pasta lover

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This is the most boring, lifeless story ever!"
    What disappointed you about White Queen?

    The lack of life in the story. It is more like reading a history rather than presenting a historical story.


    What was most disappointing about Philippa Gregory’s story?

    It does not add color, warmth or feeling to the characters. It's like reading a diary filled with only facts not feelings.


    Did Susan Lyons do a good job differentiating all the characters? How?

    Yes.


    You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    It's returnable!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sarah Tel Aviv, Israel 09-15-14
    Sarah Tel Aviv, Israel 09-15-14 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    112
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fans of ASOIAF, Stay Away"

    I decided to get this book because I saw it on a list of recommendations for people who enjoyed George R. R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series. I was very disappointed to discover a main character with zero personality, accompanied by a handful of other completely flat characters, in a story that sounds promising for the first couple of chapters but quickly becomes boring and repetitive. I couldn't get through the entire thing and I wish I could get my credit back. The narrator is good, but the book is a snoozefest.

    If you're looking for something similar to ASOIAF, this is NOT it. If you just want to learn the history, there are probably less painful ways of doing that.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.