We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
White Queen Audiobook

White Queen

Regular Price:$28.30
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Brother turns on brother. The throne of England is at stake. The deadly Wars of the Roses have begun....

They ruled England before the Tudors, and now internationally best-selling author Philippa Gregory brings the Plantagenets to life through the dramatic and intimate stories of the secret players: the indomitable women.

Elizabeth Woodville, a woman of extraordinary beauty and ambition, secretly marries the newly crowned boy king of England. While she rises to the demands of her exalted position and fights for the success of her family, her two sons become the central figures in a famous unsolved mystery that has confounded historians for centuries: the lost princes in the Tower of London.

Philippa Gregory brings the artistry and intellect of a master writer and storyteller to a new era in history and begins what is sure to be another best-selling classic series.

©2009 Philippa Gregory (P)2011 Simon & Schuster

What the Critics Say

"It would be hard to make history more entertaining, lively or engaging." (Sunday Express)

"Queen of the historical novel." (Mail on Sunday)

"Gregory brings to life the sights, smells and textures of 16th-century England." (Financial Times)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (2034 )
5 star
 (966)
4 star
 (711)
3 star
 (247)
2 star
 (66)
1 star
 (44)
Overall
4.2 (1796 )
5 star
 (894)
4 star
 (579)
3 star
 (221)
2 star
 (63)
1 star
 (39)
Story
4.4 (1779 )
5 star
 (1044)
4 star
 (527)
3 star
 (155)
2 star
 (32)
1 star
 (21)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Tivarri 02-11-15
    Tivarri 02-11-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable, but I really don't like hypocrites!!"

    After seeing the Starz series I'd hoped the book would make Elizabeth seem more appealing, but it does just the opposite. She is the epitome of a greedy hypocrite once she had a taste of power.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Christy 02-02-15
    Christy 02-02-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    "Fabulous read!"

    Totally recommend this book - flew by so quickly! Can't wait to read the next one!!!!! Glad this is a series

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    SusanSeg 01-23-15
    SusanSeg 01-23-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Dry"

    This is my first Philippa Gregory book and it will probably be my last. I love historical fiction but this didn't keep me involved. It read more like a history book and less like a novel.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cox 01-19-15
    Cox 01-19-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I enjoyed it"

    I really liked this book, it was good to pass the time, but I am hesitate to buy more in the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    penkypoo 11-06-14
    penkypoo 11-06-14

    A busy lady, just tryin' to fit her reading in where she can!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    45
    45
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The narration really bothered me"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    No, I had a really hard time finishing. I really enjoy medieval history and stories but not listening to this story. I should have just read the book.


    Would you recommend White Queen to your friends? Why or why not?

    The story was interesting, a bit long and hard to follow all the family tree, but still interesting.


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Susan Lyons?

    Susan Lyons sounded like her nose was plugged up. I understand she was trying to keep the dialect of the area and time, but i found her very irriating and it made me not want to finish the story.


    Did White Queen inspire you to do anything?

    no, i heard the show based on these books are good, I would consider watching those versus reading any further books by Phillipa Gregory.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Snow queen 09-16-14
    Snow queen 09-16-14

    Pasta lover

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This is the most boring, lifeless story ever!"
    What disappointed you about White Queen?

    The lack of life in the story. It is more like reading a history rather than presenting a historical story.


    What was most disappointing about Philippa Gregory’s story?

    It does not add color, warmth or feeling to the characters. It's like reading a diary filled with only facts not feelings.


    Did Susan Lyons do a good job differentiating all the characters? How?

    Yes.


    You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    It's returnable!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sarah Tel Aviv, Israel 09-15-14
    Sarah Tel Aviv, Israel 09-15-14 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    111
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fans of ASOIAF, Stay Away"

    I decided to get this book because I saw it on a list of recommendations for people who enjoyed George R. R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series. I was very disappointed to discover a main character with zero personality, accompanied by a handful of other completely flat characters, in a story that sounds promising for the first couple of chapters but quickly becomes boring and repetitive. I couldn't get through the entire thing and I wish I could get my credit back. The narrator is good, but the book is a snoozefest.

    If you're looking for something similar to ASOIAF, this is NOT it. If you just want to learn the history, there are probably less painful ways of doing that.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    June 09-13-14
    June 09-13-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    66
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Entertaining view of English history"
    Would you listen to White Queen again? Why?

    I've been doing a lot of nonfiction reading: English/Norman history, John Julius Norwich books on the popes, etc. This book combines very interesting aspects of history with great narrative.


    Have you listened to any of Susan Lyons’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    my first of Susan Lyons' performances and i think she does a great job.


    Any additional comments?

    i'm hooked.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sarah Chicago, IL, United States 09-09-14
    Sarah Chicago, IL, United States 09-09-14 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    29
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    50
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Dreadful"
    Any additional comments?

    I've enjoyed her books in the past, but this one was just horrible. We listened to it on a recent road trip--it was like a bad Harlequin romance (an oxymoron, I know) from the start. We knew every stupid move the narrator was going to make before she did it. The abrupt ending was hours too late. There wasn't a thing I enjoyed about this book. If my spouse hadn't insisted that we listen to the entire thing, I would've quit after the first few chapters.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kaye 08-24-14
    Kaye 08-24-14 Listener Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    58
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    88
    57
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Could not finish"

    Read from May 20 to June 06, 2013

    I could not bring myself to finish listening to this book---and that's the first time that has happened to me with one of Philippa Gregory's books.

    Philippa Gregory didn't do her usual good job of making me care about the characters in this story. I figured it would be easier for me to grow to care for characters I didn't know anything about (unlike in the Boleyn books)---I had no preconceived ideas or feelings about them one way or another. However, there's no depth given to any of the characters in this story to make me care what happens to them beyond the basic historical knowledge I have of what did happen in reality. Perhaps the first-person narrator doesn't work as well in a book like this which tries to cover 20 or so years of history, especially given that most of that history is about the war in which the first-person narrator is not personally involved. But even when the scene does switch over to Edward and the battlefield, there's no emotion in it. It's all just dry prose telling what's happening and a strange emotional detachment from all of the characters.

    Compared to the other books of Gregory's that I’ve read (also on audio, The Boleyn Inheritance---a favorite---and The Other Boleyn Girl), it seems like she sacrificed a lot in the way of character development for inclusion of historical events. And, for me, that didn't compel me to keep reading/listening.

    However, I will say that I did enjoy the Starz miniseries based on this book (and the other books in this series) much, much more. I might eventually go back and try this one again.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.