We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Wapshot Chronicle Part 2 Audiobook

The Wapshot Chronicle Part 2

Regular Price:$34.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

When The Wapshot Chronicle was published in 1957, John Cheever was already recognized as a writer of superb short stories. But The Wapshot Chronicle, which won the 1958 National Book Award, established him as a major novelist.

Based in part on Cheever's adolescence in New England, the novel follows the destinies of the impecunious and wildly eccentric Wapshots of St. Botolphs, a quintessential Massachusetts fishing village. Here are the stories of Captain Leander Wapshot, venerable sea dog and would-be suicide; of his licentious older son, Moses; and of Moses' adoring and errant younger brother, Coverly.

Tragic and funny, ribald and splendidly picaresque, The Wapshot Chronicle is a family narrative in the tradition of Trollope, Dickens, and Henry James.

As an added bonus, when you purchase our Audible Modern Vanguard production of John Cheever's book, you'll also get an exclusive Jim Atlas interview added to your library.

This production is part of our Audible Modern Vanguard line, a collection of important works from groundbreaking authors.

©1957 John Cheever; (P)2009 Audible, Inc.

What the Critics Say

"The best introduction to Cheever's work.... Richly inventive and vividly told." (The New York Times Book Review)

"[John Cheever is] a master American storyteller." (Time)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (29 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.0 (11 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.2 (11 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Edith 11-10-10
    Edith 11-10-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    193
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    91
    24
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    "A Sweet Read"

    Cheever draws the Wapshot family and their New England lives with poetry and humor. This is a very satisfying read with a surprise development at the end -- one which adds greatly to our understanding of this unappreciated author.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.