We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Wapshot Chronicle | [John Cheever]

The Wapshot Chronicle

Based in part on Cheever's adolescence in New England, the novel follows the destinies of the impecunious and wildly eccentric Wapshots of St. Botolphs, a quintessential Massachusetts fishing village. Here are the stories of Captain Leander Wapshot, venerable sea dog and would-be suicide; of his licentious older son, Moses; and of Moses' adoring and errant younger brother, Coverly.
Regular Price:$34.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

When The Wapshot Chronicle was published in 1957, John Cheever was already recognized as a writer of superb short stories. But The Wapshot Chronicle, which won the 1958 National Book Award, established him as a major novelist.

Based in part on Cheever's adolescence in New England, the novel follows the destinies of the impecunious and wildly eccentric Wapshots of St. Botolphs, a quintessential Massachusetts fishing village. Here are the stories of Captain Leander Wapshot, venerable sea dog and would-be suicide; of his licentious older son, Moses; and of Moses' adoring and errant younger brother, Coverly.

Tragic and funny, ribald and splendidly picaresque, The Wapshot Chronicle is a family narrative in the tradition of Trollope, Dickens, and Henry James.

As an added bonus, when you purchase any of our Audible Modern Vanguard productions of John Cheever's books, you'll also get an exclusive Jim Atlas interview added to your library.

This production is part of our Audible Modern Vanguard line, a collection of important works from groundbreaking authors.

©1957 John Cheever; (P)2009 Audible, Inc.

What the Critics Say

"The best introduction to Cheever's work...Richly inventive and vividly told." (The New York Times Book Review)
"[John Cheever is] a master American storyteller." (Time)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.7 (9 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
0 (0 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
0 (0 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Daniel Spokane, WA, United States 07-06-11
    Daniel Spokane, WA, United States 07-06-11

    Avid Listener

    HELPFUL VOTES
    38
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "A taste of goodnes and sanctity of life"

    Centered on an eclectic trio of father and Two sons from the venerable New England Wapshot family who were forced to face the real world of making livings after their benefactress, a Wapshot counsin, demanded so. While the weaving plots were a bit random, and characters off beat on the surface, one cannot but to adore them all, and tastes the goodness and sanctity of life through them.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.