We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 >   > 
The Wapshot Chronicle | [John Cheever]

The Wapshot Chronicle

Based in part on Cheever's adolescence in New England, the novel follows the destinies of the impecunious and wildly eccentric Wapshots of St. Botolphs, a quintessential Massachusetts fishing village. Here are the stories of Captain Leander Wapshot, venerable sea dog and would-be suicide; of his licentious older son, Moses; and of Moses' adoring and errant younger brother, Coverly.
Regular Price:$34.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

When The Wapshot Chronicle was published in 1957, John Cheever was already recognized as a writer of superb short stories. But The Wapshot Chronicle, which won the 1958 National Book Award, established him as a major novelist.

Based in part on Cheever's adolescence in New England, the novel follows the destinies of the impecunious and wildly eccentric Wapshots of St. Botolphs, a quintessential Massachusetts fishing village. Here are the stories of Captain Leander Wapshot, venerable sea dog and would-be suicide; of his licentious older son, Moses; and of Moses' adoring and errant younger brother, Coverly.

Tragic and funny, ribald and splendidly picaresque, The Wapshot Chronicle is a family narrative in the tradition of Trollope, Dickens, and Henry James.

This production is part of our Audible Modern Vanguard line, a collection of important works from groundbreaking authors.

©1957 John Cheever; (P)2009 Audible, Inc.

What the Critics Say

"The best introduction to Cheever's work...Richly inventive and vividly told." (The New York Times Book Review)
"[John Cheever is] a master American storyteller." (Time)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (31 )
5 star
 (12)
4 star
 (12)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.1 (26 )
5 star
 (11)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.1 (28 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (13)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Darwin8u Mesa, AZ, United States 05-31-13
    Darwin8u Mesa, AZ, United States 05-31-13

    A part-time buffoon and ersatz scholar specializing in BS, pedantry, schmaltz and cultural coprophagia.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    7357
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    397
    393
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1230
    15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautiful 1950s Great Expectations-like Novel"

    "Man is not simple. Hobgoblin company of love always with us."

    The Wapshot Chronicle is a twin Bildungsroman of sons Moses and Coverly, framed by the letters, journaling, and loneliness of their father Leander. It is a crazy beautiful 20th Century Great Expectations-like novel of a family's depth and breadth, its secrets and its flaws. The two brothers are saddled with the albatross and obligation to insure ensure that Old Honora’s keeps paying the bills (future) for the boys and (current) for their parents.

    Cheever fills his novel with dominating mothers, idiosyncratic and co-dependent guardians, changeable wives and costly lovers. The trinity of Wapshot men, float throughout Cheever's novel in a wayward, rudderless boat. Their lives are constantly taking on water and they seem destined to be blown further from the shore by the dominant humor of the nearest strong-willed female.

    The characters in The Wapshot Chronicle were amazing. Its language and narrative were incredible. Cheever's satire and ribald humor constantly bit this reader in his lusty-for-good-literature ass.

    17 of 17 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results
Sort by:
  • Stephen
    Rowlands Gill,, United Kingdom
    5/25/11
    Overall
    "Slapdash Chronicle"

    I struggled with a busy schedule to find the time to read... however, half-way through I took time out to read Cheever’s short story The Swimmer which, actually, is head and shoulders above this novel.

    The literary acclaim which surrounds The Wapshot Chronicle seems disproportionate to the actual achievement contained in this novel - for a start I don’t think by any means it is within the top 60 books of the Twentieth Century.

    Equally, the fear - which it is claimed has been completely countered, that the novel is simply a collection of short-stories strung together by a connecting theme of family and the individual members thereof - doesn’t seem in my view to stand up to scrutiny either. This is a long, rambling tome which at times is really quite entertaining and at other times drifts into mediocrity of a sort that is not a feature of Cheever’s concentrated short story form.

    Worth reading to get the whole picture on John Cheever, but I’m pretty certain that his reputation lies in his short-story achievement and will continue to do so.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Mark
    walcote, United Kingdom
    12/5/10
    Overall
    "Very dissapointing"

    I couldn't understand why this novel would be held in any esteem by anyone. Above all the characters are very dull.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-2 of 2 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.