We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Virgin's Daughter Audiobook

The Virgin's Daughter: Tudor Legacy, Book 1

Regular Price:$24.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, The Virgin's Daughter is the first book in a captivating new saga about the next generation of Tudor royals, which poses the thrilling question: What if Elizabeth I, the celebrated Virgin Queen, gave birth to a legitimate heir?

Since the death of her brother, William, Elizabeth I has ruled England. She's made the necessary alliances, married Philip of Spain, and produced a successor: her only daughter, Anne Isabella, Princess of Wales. Elizabeth knows that her beloved Anabel will be a political pawn across Europe unless she can convince Philip to grant her a divorce, freeing him to remarry and give Spain its own heir. But the enemies of England have even greater plans for the princess, a plot that will put Anabel's very life and the security of the nation in peril.

Only those closest to Elizabeth - her longtime confidante, Minuette; her advisor and friend, Dominic; and the couple's grown children - can be trusted to carry forth a most delicate and dangerous mission. Yet all of the queen's maneuverings may ultimately prove her undoing.

©2015 Laura Andersen (P)2015 Audible Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (57 )
5 star
 (33)
4 star
 (13)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.3 (54 )
5 star
 (32)
4 star
 (13)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.0 (55 )
5 star
 (25)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (4)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    RC 06-10-15
    RC 06-10-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Intriguing premise, good story, great storytelling"
    Any additional comments?

    What if Elizabeth I had produced an heir? How would the course of history have changed? In this compelling glimpse into Elizabeth's life and those of the people closest to her, we are treated to a well-crafted fictionalized version of history that is liberally peppered by actual facts. Both real and imagined historical characters are brought to life by really good narration/storytelling. The reader has a very pleasing voice and creates clear personalities for each of the players in a high-stakes royal game of intrigue and politics. I found myself lost in this thoroughly enjoyable tale--which is, of course, what good storytelling should do. Looking forward to hearing the rest of this series.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nancy L. Lamb Smyrna, GA, United States 06-02-15
    Nancy L. Lamb Smyrna, GA, United States 06-02-15

    I love books about history and thrillers/suspense.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nice continuation!"

    !!!SPOILERS!!!

    This was a very nice continuation of the Boleyn books. I was hoping for a more devastating secret from Nicola. The fact that he was screwing Julian's first love was a let down, of sorts. I was expecting something to the effect of Julian was Felix's real father. I DO like the fact that Mary Stuart is in play again. I can only imagine how upset Queen Elizabeth will be when the details of the plot come to light. Here's hoping for another book!!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    karin 07-08-15
    karin 07-08-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Worth it in the end"

    The story starts really slow but in the end it's worth it. The French accents grew on me

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nicole 07-03-16
    Nicole 07-03-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "FUN FUN FUN!"
    Would you listen to The Virgin's Daughter again? Why?

    Yes, I really enjoyed the book and recommended it to my sister who has read the Boleyn series after me. We really enjoy the Laura Andersen's writing.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Virgin's Daughter?

    I don't want to give anything away but things get heated between two of the main characters and it left me laughing at the scandal.


    Did Rosalind Ashford do a good job differentiating all the characters? How?

    She did do a great job giving the characters appropriate accents which helped differentiate between them but I preferred the narrator from Laura's last series.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    Oh I would hope it was a television series I would have fun with that. I have no clue what the tag line would be.... I would need to think about it.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Martha Sue Kurita 06-08-16 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    201
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hate it."

    The reader ruins the book. Can't follow the plot because reader is terrible. Awfully disappointed.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mercedes' Corner 04-01-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    114
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A waste of my time"
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    A better story line; it's appropriate for teenagers and the narrator made it worst.


    What do you think your next listen will be?

    I don't know but I'll never select this author or narrator.


    How could the performance have been better?

    A better story line.


    You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    None at all. It just made me very frustrated while listening to it.


    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Johannah Emily Marcoux 05-31-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    117
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narrator ruined it for me."

    Although a good effort was made, the narrator was unable to switch characters efficiently. Some of the male voices were just horrible.
    Please please stick with Simon Vance.

    2 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pin West Kempsey, Australia 06-05-15
    Pin West Kempsey, Australia 06-05-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    161
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "ANNOYING DRAWLING NARRATION"

    Load of old cobblers is an old phrase which springs to mind. I suppose the story might be passable, but I would rather have bitten my own arm off than finish the book. The narrator has the high, arch, received English of an ex-pat or more likely of an American trying to sound English. She just came across as a worthy schoolmarm who spoke slowly in case we didn't understand her. Some mispronounciations lead me to think American, because no matter how long you're away from your home country you wouldn't forget the names of places... yah de yah de yah... as you can see... I was irritated mightily. The story was based on the 'alternative universe' supposition that Eliz.1 had married the Spanish Emporer and had a daughter.... a bit of a silly thread really when so much is known about the real Eliz.

    1 of 7 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.