We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Shadowy Horses Audiobook

The Shadowy Horses

Regular Price:$24.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A brooding and atmospheric Scottish tale from a RITA and RT Reviewers Choice Award-winning and New York Times and USA Today best-selling author.

The invincible ninth Roman Legion marches from York to fight the Northern tribes, and then vanishes from the pages of history. When Verity Grey goes looking for them, she may find more than she bargained for.

Archaeologist Verity Grey has been drawn to the dark legends of the Scottish Borderlands in search of the truth buried in a rocky field by the sea.

Her eccentric boss has spent his whole life searching for the resting place of the lost Ninth Roman Legion and is convinced he's finally found it - not because of any scientific evidence, but because a local boy has "seen" a Roman soldier walking in the fields, a ghostly sentinel who guards the bodies of his long-dead comrades.

Here on the windswept shores, Verity may find the answer to one of the great unsolved mysteries of our time. Or she may uncover secrets someone buried for a reason.

A modern gothic historical fiction with elements of mystery, ghosts, and romance from New York Times and USA Today best-selling author Susanna Kearsley.

Fans of Diana Gabaldon, Mary Stewart, Kate Morton, and Daphne Du Maurier will want to join Julia and Mariana on their journeys to love, past and present.

©2009 Susanna Kearsley (P)2016 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (30 )
5 star
 (13)
4 star
 (13)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.2 (30 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.6 (30 )
5 star
 (22)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Dawn 11-26-16
    Dawn 11-26-16 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    47
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Kearsley and Armstrong - A winning team!"
    Where does The Shadowy Horses rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I have listened to Rose Garden four times, A Winter Sea three times, and Mariana twice. I know I will listen to The Shadowy Horses just as many times.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Shadowy Horses?

    There were many, but I don't want to mention them as to spoil it for those who haven't yet listened to the book.


    Which character – as performed by Sally Armstrong – was your favorite?

    There were a few, but wee Robbie stole my heart.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Yes - that it was so enjoyable that I didn't want it to end!


    Any additional comments?

    I have tried listening to other books by Susanna Kearsley, but find Katherine Kellgren's voice is not that easy to listen to, and sadly, the next book due out in 2017 is read by Kellgren.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.