We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Ramblers Audiobook

The Ramblers: A Novel

Regular Price:$23.62
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Claire Messud, and Emma Straub, a gorgeous and absorbing novel of a trio of confused souls struggling to find themselves and the way forward in their lives, set against the spectacular backdrop of contemporary New York City.

Set in the most magical parts of Manhattan - the Upper West Side, Central Park, Greenwich Village - The Ramblers explores the lives of three lost souls bound together by friendship and family. During the course of one fateful Thanksgiving week, a time when emotions run high and being with family can be a mixed blessing, Rowley's sharply defined characters explore the moments when decisions are deliberately made, choices accepted, and pasts reconciled.

Clio Marsh, whose bird-watching walks through Central Park are mentioned in New York Magazine, is taking her first tentative steps toward a relationship while also looking back to the secrets of her broken childhood. Her best friend, Smith Anderson, the seemingly perfect daughter of one of New York's wealthiest families, organizes the lives of others, as her own has fallen apart. And Tate Pennington has returned to the city heartbroken but determined to move ahead with his artistic dreams.

Rambling through the emotional chaos of their lives, this trio learns to let go of the past to make room for the future and the uncertainty and promise that it holds. The Ramblers is a love letter to New York City - an accomplished, sumptuous novel about fate, loss, hope, birds, friendship, love, the wonders of the natural world, and the mysteries of the human spirit.

©2016 Aidan Donnelley Rowley (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (74 )
5 star
 (25)
4 star
 (25)
3 star
 (19)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
3.7 (69 )
5 star
 (21)
4 star
 (20)
3 star
 (18)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.0 (69 )
5 star
 (33)
4 star
 (18)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (4)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Ruth Bain 04-05-16
    Ruth Bain 04-05-16

    RueRue

    HELPFUL VOTES
    930
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    451
    444
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    53
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too much angst"

    A slow narrative, minimal plot but plenty of character drama and endless angst. I did grow to care about Clio, Smith and Tate, but sometimes I wanted to tell them to stop agonizing on just move on....the narration was ok, except for constant chuckling when the prose indicated "he/she laughed". It got really annoying.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dingo27 02-19-16
    Dingo27 02-19-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Lovely Portrait of The City"

    and a thought provoking week long peek into the lives of 3 exceptional residents.
    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Although I cannot imagine possessing the means, education or remarkable talent/skill that would allow me the privilege of making my home and profession in NYC, the story resonated with me. Affluence, breeding along with a highly compensated career don't necessarily produce a joyful carefree life do they? Everyone struggles with their past & future from time to time. Everyone experiences the best of times and the worst of times. The level of courage required to take "that" leap of faith toward the unknown is what separates a great life from an average existence.
    A sweet story - authentic characters - real emotions - failures and triumphs - joy and sorrow. No matter the place or individuals involved, The Ramblers felt true to me.
    I loved the descriptions of real places in the city.
    All in all, a joyful thought compelling love letter to the greatest city in the world and the human struggle common to everyone no matter where we live and love.
    Thank you for this.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Judith Kikendall FL 06-15-16
    Judith Kikendall FL 06-15-16 Member Since 2013

    I like mysteries and historical fiction

    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointing"

    I expected more from this novel. Felt the story was predictable & Danielle Steeleish. Reader mediocre.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Richard J Marion 04-06-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Poor narration"

    The narrator's voice bothered me. More so, that she seemed to have an Irish accent....not appropriate for 3 characters that grew up in NYC.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.