We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Potato Factory Audiobook

The Potato Factory: The Australian Trilogy, Book 1

Always leave a little salt on the bread. Ikey Solomon's favorite saying is also his way of doing business, and in the business of thieving he's very successful indeed. Ikey's partner in crime is his mistress, the forthright Mary Abacus, until misfortune befalls them. They are parted and each must make the harsh journey from thriving nineteenth century London to the convict settlement of Van Diemen's Land.
    • 1 audiobook per month
    • 180,000+ titles to choose from
    • $14.95 per month after free trial

Publisher's Summary

Always leave a little salt on the bread...

Ikey Solomon's favorite saying is also his way of doing business, and in the business of thieving he's very successful indeed. Ikey's partner in crime is his mistress, the forthright Mary Abacus, until misfortune befalls them. They are parted and each must make the harsh journey from thriving nineteenth century London to the convict settlement of Van Diemen's Land.

In the backstreets and dives of Hobart Town, Mary learns the art of brewing and builds The Potato Factory, where she plans a new future. But her ambitions are threatened by Ikey's wife, Hannah, her old enemy. The two women raise their separate families, one legitimate and the other bastard. As each woman sets out to destroy the other, the families are brought to the edge of disaster.

©1995 Bryce Courtenay; (P)2000 Bolinda Publishing Pyt Ltd by arrangement with Penguin Group (Australia)

What the Critics Say

"In the tradition of Charles Dickens, Courtenay creates a unique cast of characters from the outset of this epic novel....Humphrey Bower's performance is a marvel...making this one of those rare books with a sweep of characters the readers come to care about deeply." (AudioFile)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (3981 )
5 star
 (2290)
4 star
 (1104)
3 star
 (342)
2 star
 (123)
1 star
 (122)
Overall
4.4 (2940 )
5 star
 (1781)
4 star
 (744)
3 star
 (238)
2 star
 (98)
1 star
 (79)
Story
4.6 (2936 )
5 star
 (2154)
4 star
 (546)
3 star
 (143)
2 star
 (43)
1 star
 (50)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Fred O. Jennings 09-27-11 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    267
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good read"

    I thoroughly enjoyed the characters and their entwined lives with Ikey. The story was very good.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Timothy 09-26-11
    Timothy 09-26-11 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    49
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    89
    27
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A masterpiece, impossible to put down"

    Bryce Courtenay is that rare thing, a master storyteller who is also a wonderful and deep writer. A modern Dickens, without the inflated prose but with the same completely credible yet larger-than-life characters and even better plotting. Humphrey Bower does an absolutely perfect job of reading the book, with ideal voices for every character., One of the best books I have ever read on Audible, in the same class as Pillars of the Earth, American Gods and Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell. Also one of the best historical novels I have ever read, communicating a vivid feeling for a different time and place and the people who populated and made it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Patricia A. Healy 09-18-11 Member Since 2002

    Befriend Me

    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    326
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Potato Factory"

    Keep your interest from the opening page to the end. A great insight into the lives of the ruthless and the poor. Good read

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ian Coltman 08-23-11
    Ian Coltman 08-23-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Part 1 of Trilogy"

    I was a bit dubious about starting a trilogy but was immediately blown away and could not wait for the next and the next ....

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jim Frankel Irving, Texas United States 08-14-11
    Jim Frankel Irving, Texas United States 08-14-11 Member Since 2006

    Jim

    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    "Captivating"

    The author's writing is creative and captivating and character development so good , I hated for the book to end.

    The reader was perfect !

    You will be so pleased .

    Sincerely,

    JR

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    H. Connelly Philadelphia, PA 06-09-11
    H. Connelly Philadelphia, PA 06-09-11 Member Since 2004

    Mojo Risen

    HELPFUL VOTES
    178
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    250
    56
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Courtenay does it again!"

    Bryce is a fabulous writer and just draws the listener into the story and characters. He is a great novelist. This book went quickly and then he used a writer's trick at the end to hook the listener into getting the second installment in the trilogy. God, he is good! The narrator is fantastic and found his niche with Courtenay's material, what a dynamic duo. I highly recommend this book, existing fans will notice some familiar themes, but the story stands on its own. Bravo!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Merideth el granada, CA, United States 06-03-11
    Merideth el granada, CA, United States 06-03-11 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Powerful, sometimes dark images, amazing listening"

    I had previously listened to Humphrey Bowers "The Four Fires" and absolutely loved it... so I was somewhat unprepared for the vivid, dark and continuous descriptions of life in this novel. That being said, it is simply an incredible book, well worth listening to!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nancy JEFFERSON, WI, United States 04-22-11
    Nancy JEFFERSON, WI, United States 04-22-11 Member Since 2010

    Former Waitress, Chargeback clerk, Clown, Florist owner, Clergy. Love series, humor, twists, history, mysteries, not into witches/bondage.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    27
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    "Great story with lots of great twists and turns"

    I enjoyed this book. I had to wonder, if some of the attitudes of that era are still wilth us today. I felt he was a little rough on the church and on Wesley, Knowing their history, but when you are searching the alleys for ways to survive it might be that the church was lacking. Sometimes you just had to laugh at the names and twists in the plot.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ragna Phillipsville, CA, United States 04-10-11
    Ragna Phillipsville, CA, United States 04-10-11 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    24
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    282
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The best yet"

    I joined Audible last November and have listened to many books but this one is by far THE BEST!!! The plot is intricate and spellbinding and I wanted it to go on forever. I can't say enough about the narrator Humphrey Bower. Mr Bower provides the accent and voice of each character seamlessly and it's often hard to believe there is only one reader. If there is an award for Audible narrators Mr. Bower should win it hands down. Definitely give this book a try. I'm going to look for another book with this suberb combo of Courtenay and Bower.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stan United States 01-15-11
    Stan United States 01-15-11

    folktraveler

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "I was transported"

    great voices, story, background, spun well, cared about the characters, was left wanting the next book in the series. well worth my time and money

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.