We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Potato Factory: The Australian Trilogy, Book 1 | [Bryce Courtenay]

The Potato Factory: The Australian Trilogy, Book 1

Always leave a little salt on the bread. Ikey Solomon's favorite saying is also his way of doing business, and in the business of thieving he's very successful indeed. Ikey's partner in crime is his mistress, the forthright Mary Abacus, until misfortune befalls them. They are parted and each must make the harsh journey from thriving nineteenth century London to the convict settlement of Van Diemen's Land.
Regular Price:$34.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Always leave a little salt on the bread...

Ikey Solomon's favorite saying is also his way of doing business, and in the business of thieving he's very successful indeed. Ikey's partner in crime is his mistress, the forthright Mary Abacus, until misfortune befalls them. They are parted and each must make the harsh journey from thriving nineteenth century London to the convict settlement of Van Diemen's Land.

In the backstreets and dives of Hobart Town, Mary learns the art of brewing and builds The Potato Factory, where she plans a new future. But her ambitions are threatened by Ikey's wife, Hannah, her old enemy. The two women raise their separate families, one legitimate and the other bastard. As each woman sets out to destroy the other, the families are brought to the edge of disaster.

©1995 Bryce Courtenay; (P)2000 Bolinda Publishing Pyt Ltd by arrangement with Penguin Group (Australia)

What the Critics Say

"In the tradition of Charles Dickens, Courtenay creates a unique cast of characters from the outset of this epic novel....Humphrey Bower's performance is a marvel...making this one of those rare books with a sweep of characters the readers come to care about deeply." (AudioFile)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (3703 )
5 star
 (2115)
4 star
 (1036)
3 star
 (318)
2 star
 (119)
1 star
 (115)
Overall
4.4 (2686 )
5 star
 (1619)
4 star
 (685)
3 star
 (217)
2 star
 (92)
1 star
 (73)
Story
4.6 (2679 )
5 star
 (1959)
4 star
 (498)
3 star
 (139)
2 star
 (39)
1 star
 (44)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amy 08-28-10
    Amy 08-28-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    76
    31
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Great story... awesome narration!"

    I really liked it. That being said, I did have a little bit of a hard time identifying with any of the characters at first and shut it off a few times for a little break. I'm glad I stuck with it and found myself rooting for Ikey and Mary in the end!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kathy EL DORADO, AR, United States 04-30-10
    Kathy EL DORADO, AR, United States 04-30-10 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    69
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    4
    Overall
    "Not His Best"

    The plot kind of bogs down about half way through but if you hang in there, it's worth it.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nikkola The Rock, Australia 06-12-07
    Nikkola The Rock, Australia 06-12-07
    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    173
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Excellent value for money"

    This book has everything. Well worth the listen and definately worth the credit or the money. It is classic Australian historical literature.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    M. Mitchell 05-14-07
    M. Mitchell 05-14-07 Listener Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    104
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Very enjoyable"

    A very enjoyable read, I couldn't wait to start Tomo and Hawk! Excellent characters and an enjoyable story. I'd give it 4.5 out of 5 if I could (a five in my book is hard to get)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Judith 03-04-09
    Judith 03-04-09
    HELPFUL VOTES
    32
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "The Potato Factory"

    I usually enjoy Bryce Courtenay books. However, there are too many characters with no moral compass here. Reading/listening to a long story about not very nice people, gets tiresome.

    3 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    tiana Medford, MA, United States 05-31-07
    tiana Medford, MA, United States 05-31-07
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "good plot line but anti-semitic"

    This was a long story and I listened to the whole thing. The narration was wonderful and the story kept me interested enough but not enough that I wanted to read or listen to the sequel. The author starts the book by warning us that the story might come off as anti-semitic but that it's not. Well he's wrong. I thought that half the time he brought up Ikey being Jewish, it was offensive. It is one thing if other characters are making Jewish stereotypes and comments but what made this offensive is that the narrator made sweeping generalizations about what it is like to be Jewish. It was annoying and I almost stopped listening because I lost so much respect for Courteney.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    w.a.m. 1964 HZ Heemskerk, Netherlands 04-09-07
    w.a.m. 1964 HZ Heemskerk, Netherlands 04-09-07 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    67
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    337
    36
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    "Good story"

    I loved the story!!! A bit cruel sometimes, comic too and still a LOVE story.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    dennis Oceanside, US, Canada 02-10-15
    dennis Oceanside, US, Canada 02-10-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "the potato factory dyhgfdvbkiy tg uhbjihy yu hgf b"


    cvg hjj bhh gj VH hh VH VH VH VB VG. VH VH vvvv

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carol 08-25-13
    Carol 08-25-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "you get what you pay for"

    I can get thru almost anything and a book on sale has now taken on a new meaning. It's on sale because it is terrible. I know my mother always warned me about this but again I relearned my lesson.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joy Patterson, NY, United States 05-16-13
    Joy Patterson, NY, United States 05-16-13 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "WHAT?????"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Potato Factory to be better than the print version?

    I never read the print version


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    The main girl!!! She went though so much. She overcame it all.


    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 311-320 of 332 results PREVIOUS131323334NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.