We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 >   > 
The Potato Factory: The Australian Trilogy, Book 1 | [Bryce Courtenay]

The Potato Factory: The Australian Trilogy, Book 1

Always leave a little salt on the bread. Ikey Solomon's favorite saying is also his way of doing business, and in the business of thieving he's very successful indeed. Ikey's partner in crime is his mistress, the forthright Mary Abacus, until misfortune befalls them. They are parted and each must make the harsh journey from thriving nineteenth century London to the convict settlement of Van Diemen's Land.
Regular Price:$34.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Always leave a little salt on the bread...

Ikey Solomon's favorite saying is also his way of doing business, and in the business of thieving he's very successful indeed. Ikey's partner in crime is his mistress, the forthright Mary Abacus, until misfortune befalls them. They are parted and each must make the harsh journey from thriving nineteenth century London to the convict settlement of Van Diemen's Land.

In the backstreets and dives of Hobart Town, Mary learns the art of brewing and builds The Potato Factory, where she plans a new future. But her ambitions are threatened by Ikey's wife, Hannah, her old enemy. The two women raise their separate families, one legitimate and the other bastard. As each woman sets out to destroy the other, the families are brought to the edge of disaster.

©1995 Bryce Courtenay; (P)2000 Bolinda Publishing Pyt Ltd by arrangement with Penguin Group (Australia)

What the Critics Say

"In the tradition of Charles Dickens, Courtenay creates a unique cast of characters from the outset of this epic novel....Humphrey Bower's performance is a marvel...making this one of those rare books with a sweep of characters the readers come to care about deeply." (AudioFile)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (3401 )
5 star
 (1934)
4 star
 (959)
3 star
 (295)
2 star
 (110)
1 star
 (103)
Overall
4.4 (2417 )
5 star
 (1452)
4 star
 (616)
3 star
 (198)
2 star
 (86)
1 star
 (65)
Story
4.6 (2412 )
5 star
 (1755)
4 star
 (455)
3 star
 (125)
2 star
 (38)
1 star
 (39)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    M. Mitchell 05-14-07
    M. Mitchell 05-14-07 Listener Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    104
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Very enjoyable"

    A very enjoyable read, I couldn't wait to start Tomo and Hawk! Excellent characters and an enjoyable story. I'd give it 4.5 out of 5 if I could (a five in my book is hard to get)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    robert Lompoc, CA, United States 03-22-06
    robert Lompoc, CA, United States 03-22-06
    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    63
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Cannot get past the vulgarity..."

    We simply have not been able to progress beyond the endless profanity and vulgar scenes in the first portion of the the book. So, in all honesty we do not know if this is overall good or bad...but, are very disappointed by the experience...and it has been over 6-months we still have not gotten to part two of the three downloads...too bad...

    10 of 20 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Judith Mesa, AZ 03-04-09
    Judith Mesa, AZ 03-04-09
    HELPFUL VOTES
    30
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "The Potato Factory"

    I usually enjoy Bryce Courtenay books. However, there are too many characters with no moral compass here. Reading/listening to a long story about not very nice people, gets tiresome.

    3 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    tiana Medford, MA, United States 05-31-07
    tiana Medford, MA, United States 05-31-07
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "good plot line but anti-semitic"

    This was a long story and I listened to the whole thing. The narration was wonderful and the story kept me interested enough but not enough that I wanted to read or listen to the sequel. The author starts the book by warning us that the story might come off as anti-semitic but that it's not. Well he's wrong. I thought that half the time he brought up Ikey being Jewish, it was offensive. It is one thing if other characters are making Jewish stereotypes and comments but what made this offensive is that the narrator made sweeping generalizations about what it is like to be Jewish. It was annoying and I almost stopped listening because I lost so much respect for Courteney.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wilma 1964 HZ Heemskerk, Netherlands 04-09-07
    Wilma 1964 HZ Heemskerk, Netherlands 04-09-07 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    65
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    319
    35
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    "Good story"

    I loved the story!!! A bit cruel sometimes, comic too and still a LOVE story.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carol Richmond, VA, United States 08-25-13
    Carol Richmond, VA, United States 08-25-13 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "you get what you pay for"

    I can get thru almost anything and a book on sale has now taken on a new meaning. It's on sale because it is terrible. I know my mother always warned me about this but again I relearned my lesson.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joy Patterson, NY, United States 05-16-13
    Joy Patterson, NY, United States 05-16-13 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "WHAT?????"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Potato Factory to be better than the print version?

    I never read the print version


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    The main girl!!! She went though so much. She overcame it all.


    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Don Wonewoc, WI, United States 02-26-13
    Don Wonewoc, WI, United States 02-26-13 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    53
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "fatal flaw"

    Excellent story, good performance, compelling writing. Too bad the extremely poor recording ruins it all.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael Woodbridge, CT, United States 10-05-12
    Michael Woodbridge, CT, United States 10-05-12 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    118
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Poor writing"

    Good writing is more important for an audiobook experience than for conventional reading. It is harder to skim over the annoying parts, or to skip ahead if you really just want to see what happens. Here, the author chose an interesting historical setting, and had some good ideas for characters and story. But the writing is below average, and I recommend looking elsewhere.

    Here are some specific criticisms:
    - Phony sounding dialogue;
    - Over the top, eye-roll inducing, descriptions;
    - Inconsistent narrator point-of-view; sometimes in the characters' underpants (literally), sometimes a lofty historical perspective, sometimes getting sidetracked in an irrelevant crime caper, and once suggesting a recipe for the reader to try at home;
    - Blatantly contrived plot devices; typical examples: (a) having characters raped and tortured for no particular reason, other than to generate sympathy; or (b) supposedly smart criminals scheme and suffer extensively trying to get a three digit safe code . . . but they don't realize that it would only take a few hours to try all 1000 combinations? (They had access, and assuming a generous 10 seconds per attempt, it would take less than 3 hours.) Not so smart.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Roswatheist Dexter, New Mexico, United States 10-02-12
    Roswatheist Dexter, New Mexico, United States 10-02-12 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    30
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    323
    40
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I feel like a better person."
    What did you love best about The Potato Factory?

    I love historical novels! I've never read or listened to an Aussie book. The details and flow of this novel were terrific. The characters were engaging, even though most were rotten to their cores.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Too difficult to tell without giving spoilers.


    What about Humphrey Bower’s performance did you like?

    His different accents were great. Also, his rhythm and word flow made the story even more interesting.


    If you could rename The Potato Factory, what would you call it?

    It was titled well.


    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 301-310 of 320 results PREVIOUS1303132NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.