We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Potato Factory Audiobook
The Potato Factory
Written by: 
Bryce Courtenay
Narrated by: 
Humphrey Bower
 >   > 
The Potato Factory Audiobook

The Potato Factory: The Australian Trilogy, Book 1

Regular Price:$34.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Always leave a little salt on the bread...

Ikey Solomon's favorite saying is also his way of doing business, and in the business of thieving he's very successful indeed. Ikey's partner in crime is his mistress, the forthright Mary Abacus, until misfortune befalls them. They are parted and each must make the harsh journey from thriving nineteenth century London to the convict settlement of Van Diemen's Land.

In the backstreets and dives of Hobart Town, Mary learns the art of brewing and builds The Potato Factory, where she plans a new future. But her ambitions are threatened by Ikey's wife, Hannah, her old enemy. The two women raise their separate families, one legitimate and the other bastard. As each woman sets out to destroy the other, the families are brought to the edge of disaster.

©1995 Bryce Courtenay; (P)2000 Bolinda Publishing Pyt Ltd by arrangement with Penguin Group (Australia)

What the Critics Say

"In the tradition of Charles Dickens, Courtenay creates a unique cast of characters from the outset of this epic novel....Humphrey Bower's performance is a marvel...making this one of those rare books with a sweep of characters the readers come to care about deeply." (AudioFile)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (4382 )
5 star
 (2572)
4 star
 (1185)
3 star
 (364)
2 star
 (130)
1 star
 (131)
Overall
4.4 (3315 )
5 star
 (2038)
4 star
 (831)
3 star
 (257)
2 star
 (102)
1 star
 (87)
Story
4.6 (3311 )
5 star
 (2466)
4 star
 (589)
3 star
 (158)
2 star
 (44)
1 star
 (54)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Christine 08-29-12
    Christine 08-29-12 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    92
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great book with an entertaining story"
    Any additional comments?

    Bryce Courtney is a great Author and I cant wait to listen to more

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cheryl Folkerth Phoenix, AZ United States 08-25-12
    Cheryl Folkerth Phoenix, AZ United States 08-25-12 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    219
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good, but not satisfying"
    Would you try another book from Bryce Courtenay and/or Humphrey Bower?

    I thought the reading of the story was very good. He was able to differentiate the characters in this story and paint a picture of them with his voice. I think the story was well researched and provided insight to a period of time and place that I did not know much about. However, the ending of the story felt rushed. it was almost as if he found it easier to describe the horrific things that happened, but didn't know how to end it. I was ultimately left feeling unsatisfied. After listening to so many hours of terrible things, even with the indomnitable spirit of Mary Abacus, I found myself saying, really, that's how you're going to end it.

    However, the characters were well drawn and the story was told without apology for the good and bad in each. These are characters that will stay with me for awhile. That is saying something.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Karen Australia 08-13-12
    Karen Australia 08-13-12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An Outstanding Story Read By A Very Talented Man"
    What made the experience of listening to The Potato Factory the most enjoyable?

    This is a most engaging story, telling the history of early Australia and the lives of convicts. Humphrey Bower is a very talented man and reads this story with the utmost conviction, engaging the listener with the various voices and accents with precise accuracy.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Ikey Soloman, an intriguing character.


    Have you listened to any of Humphrey Bower’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    No, but this performance will lead me to look for other books he has read.


    Any additional comments?

    I have really enjoyed this book, and reach for it at every spare and convenient moment.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nancy Azusa, US, Canada 08-07-12
    Nancy Azusa, US, Canada 08-07-12 Member Since 2010
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love Bryce Courtney!"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Highly recommend, Bryce Courtney is an amazing story teller, he includes cultural and historical facts that educate you while entertaining you with a great story!!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kimberly JACKSON, TN, United States 08-05-12
    Kimberly JACKSON, TN, United States 08-05-12 Member Since 2016

    Kimberly Thornbury, busy working mom and lover of audio books.

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Long but captivating"

    I enjoyed this book very much. One of the main characters, Mary, was not too saintly to be real, and I feel she is one of the most endearing heroines in literature. These qualities made her horrific trials difficult to listen to and her victories so very sweet. (Great "historical fiction" as well - I learned much about the "Charles Dickens" time period of London.) Excellent ending.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    susan Port Perry, ON, Canada 08-04-12
    susan Port Perry, ON, Canada 08-04-12 Member Since 2014

    Tell us about yourself!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    46
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    326
    65
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too depressing..."
    What would have made The Potato Factory better?

    Weren't there any good things to focus on? I felt sick to my stomach and they werent even on the boats yet.


    Any additional comments?

    Bought the trilogy based on the reviews and was hoping for a good read about the history of Australia. Working up the courage to listen to the 2nd book.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carol 07-30-12
    Carol 07-30-12 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "potato factory"
    If you could sum up The Potato Factory in three words, what would they be?

    stunning character development


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Potato Factory?

    The description of the attack on Mary after she gets a job as clerk is gory and amazing and relates very well the incredible desperation of the times and the baseness which humans can sink in dire situations.


    Who was the most memorable character of The Potato Factory and why?

    Mary Abacus


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Matt United States 07-22-12
    Matt United States 07-22-12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing Story"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Potato Factory to be better than the print version?

    I have not read the print version, but the narrator is very skilled he brings to life the full character of Ikey Solomon.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    My favorite character is Ikey Solomon. The man is a down right scoundrel, but you find yourself rooting for him.


    What does Humphrey Bower bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    He brings to life all of the characters and really gives a voice to Ikey.


    If you could rename The Potato Factory, what would you call it?

    Salt on the Bread


    Any additional comments?

    This book and the later two in the trilogy are definitely worth the time to listen to.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    michael 07-21-12
    michael 07-21-12 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "First of a GREAT series"

    I am loving all of Bryce's books. As a fellow adman I am jealous and appreciative of his command of storytelling. Nice mix of moral, interest and, of course, all the wonderful Aussie and S. African turns of phrase and expressions. Makes me feel dumbs a box of hair :)

    Humphrey Bower is the new king of narrators.
    He rivals and surpasses in some ways Scott Brick and John Lee.
    Amazing with accents, characters and emphasis

    The Courtenay books are the best I have listened to in years! And I have 2 accounts listening to about 5 a month while super commuting.
    You will love
    Enjoy!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lars Durham, NC, United States 07-10-12
    Lars Durham, NC, United States 07-10-12 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    38
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    88
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant Story; Brilliant Narration"

    I really love this book. It became my entry port for all of Bryce Courtenay's novels and also everything narrated by Humphrey Bowers. The former truly knows how to spin a yarn, and the latter how to bring it alive. That there additionally is more than a kernel of truth in "The Australian Trilogy," makes it all so much better.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.