We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Potato Factory: The Australian Trilogy, Book 1 | [Bryce Courtenay]

The Potato Factory: The Australian Trilogy, Book 1

Always leave a little salt on the bread. Ikey Solomon's favorite saying is also his way of doing business, and in the business of thieving he's very successful indeed. Ikey's partner in crime is his mistress, the forthright Mary Abacus, until misfortune befalls them. They are parted and each must make the harsh journey from thriving nineteenth century London to the convict settlement of Van Diemen's Land.
Regular Price:$34.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Always leave a little salt on the bread...

Ikey Solomon's favorite saying is also his way of doing business, and in the business of thieving he's very successful indeed. Ikey's partner in crime is his mistress, the forthright Mary Abacus, until misfortune befalls them. They are parted and each must make the harsh journey from thriving nineteenth century London to the convict settlement of Van Diemen's Land.

In the backstreets and dives of Hobart Town, Mary learns the art of brewing and builds The Potato Factory, where she plans a new future. But her ambitions are threatened by Ikey's wife, Hannah, her old enemy. The two women raise their separate families, one legitimate and the other bastard. As each woman sets out to destroy the other, the families are brought to the edge of disaster.

©1995 Bryce Courtenay; (P)2000 Bolinda Publishing Pyt Ltd by arrangement with Penguin Group (Australia)

What the Critics Say

"In the tradition of Charles Dickens, Courtenay creates a unique cast of characters from the outset of this epic novel....Humphrey Bower's performance is a marvel...making this one of those rare books with a sweep of characters the readers come to care about deeply." (AudioFile)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (3569 )
5 star
 (2028)
4 star
 (1004)
3 star
 (310)
2 star
 (116)
1 star
 (111)
Overall
4.4 (2565 )
5 star
 (1541)
4 star
 (655)
3 star
 (209)
2 star
 (91)
1 star
 (69)
Story
4.6 (2559 )
5 star
 (1859)
4 star
 (482)
3 star
 (137)
2 star
 (39)
1 star
 (42)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Jim Frankel Irving, Texas United States 08-14-11
    Jim Frankel Irving, Texas United States 08-14-11 Member Since 2006

    Jim

    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    "Captivating"

    The author's writing is creative and captivating and character development so good , I hated for the book to end.

    The reader was perfect !

    You will be so pleased .

    Sincerely,

    JR

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    H. Connelly Philadelphia, PA 06-09-11
    H. Connelly Philadelphia, PA 06-09-11 Member Since 2004

    Mojo Risen

    HELPFUL VOTES
    160
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    226
    51
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Courtenay does it again!"

    Bryce is a fabulous writer and just draws the listener into the story and characters. He is a great novelist. This book went quickly and then he used a writer's trick at the end to hook the listener into getting the second installment in the trilogy. God, he is good! The narrator is fantastic and found his niche with Courtenay's material, what a dynamic duo. I highly recommend this book, existing fans will notice some familiar themes, but the story stands on its own. Bravo!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Merideth el granada, CA, United States 06-03-11
    Merideth el granada, CA, United States 06-03-11 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Powerful, sometimes dark images, amazing listening"

    I had previously listened to Humphrey Bowers "The Four Fires" and absolutely loved it... so I was somewhat unprepared for the vivid, dark and continuous descriptions of life in this novel. That being said, it is simply an incredible book, well worth listening to!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nancy JEFFERSON, WI, United States 04-22-11
    Nancy JEFFERSON, WI, United States 04-22-11 Member Since 2010

    Former Waitress, Chargeback clerk, Clown, Florist owner, Clergy. Love series, humor, twists, history, mysteries, not into witches/bondage.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    "Great story with lots of great twists and turns"

    I enjoyed this book. I had to wonder, if some of the attitudes of that era are still wilth us today. I felt he was a little rough on the church and on Wesley, Knowing their history, but when you are searching the alleys for ways to survive it might be that the church was lacking. Sometimes you just had to laugh at the names and twists in the plot.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ragna Phillipsville, CA, United States 04-10-11
    Ragna Phillipsville, CA, United States 04-10-11 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    256
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The best yet"

    I joined Audible last November and have listened to many books but this one is by far THE BEST!!! The plot is intricate and spellbinding and I wanted it to go on forever. I can't say enough about the narrator Humphrey Bower. Mr Bower provides the accent and voice of each character seamlessly and it's often hard to believe there is only one reader. If there is an award for Audible narrators Mr. Bower should win it hands down. Definitely give this book a try. I'm going to look for another book with this suberb combo of Courtenay and Bower.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Catherine 03-04-11
    Catherine 03-04-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    78
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Dickens' ugly, miserable human condition x 2 !!!"

    I wanted a trilogy and chose this one, after much shopping, because I was curious about the nature of the people sent to Australia and what their lives were like there. Big mistake. The author spends 45 minutes describing a coach ride with 3 stinking, miserable, farting, intoxicated people, another 45 on the beauty of a particular plate used to make counterfeit bills.. and so it goes, on and on. Hours into the first book I turned it off when the writer began the describing "ratting" terriers and how weakened ones are attacked by groups of sewer rats and torn to bits..... I'm D.O.N.E.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stan United States 01-15-11
    Stan United States 01-15-11

    folktraveler

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "I was transported"

    great voices, story, background, spun well, cared about the characters, was left wanting the next book in the series. well worth my time and money

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John Huntington Beach, CA, United States 01-12-11
    John Huntington Beach, CA, United States 01-12-11 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    229
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    266
    148
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    33
    1
    Overall
    "What a great find."

    Worth the credit and then some. Narration was incredible, made the book real and engrossing. Being historical fiction you never know quite where the story will lead, a plus in my mind. You give up trying to predict the plot and just get into the characters and story. Can't wait for the 2nd book in the trilogy. Highly recommend!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Paul Farmington, UT, United States 12-11-10
    Paul Farmington, UT, United States 12-11-10 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    "Great stuff"

    An outstanding book, the story line, the chartacters and timeframe take you back to a time that really captures the imagination. This is my second BC book, I am hooked one of the best books I have read/listened too...and I have listened to a bunch. If you like this book I would suggest Dangerous Fortune by Follett...some similarities! This is truly a keeper!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    arnie spuce grove, Alberta, Canada 11-16-10
    arnie spuce grove, Alberta, Canada 11-16-10 Member Since 2010
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    1
    Overall
    "The Best I've Listened To"

    Someone suggested this book to me. I must say that i am very glad they did.
    The writing is incredible and the naration is the best i've heard. I had a hard time turning it off. I am looking forward to listenining to more of Bryce Courtney's books.
    thank you for the memorable listen

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 291-300 of 324 results PREVIOUS129303133NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.