We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 >   > 
The Potato Factory: The Australian Trilogy, Book 1 | [Bryce Courtenay]

The Potato Factory: The Australian Trilogy, Book 1

Always leave a little salt on the bread. Ikey Solomon's favorite saying is also his way of doing business, and in the business of thieving he's very successful indeed. Ikey's partner in crime is his mistress, the forthright Mary Abacus, until misfortune befalls them. They are parted and each must make the harsh journey from thriving nineteenth century London to the convict settlement of Van Diemen's Land.
Regular Price:$34.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Always leave a little salt on the bread...

Ikey Solomon's favorite saying is also his way of doing business, and in the business of thieving he's very successful indeed. Ikey's partner in crime is his mistress, the forthright Mary Abacus, until misfortune befalls them. They are parted and each must make the harsh journey from thriving nineteenth century London to the convict settlement of Van Diemen's Land.

In the backstreets and dives of Hobart Town, Mary learns the art of brewing and builds The Potato Factory, where she plans a new future. But her ambitions are threatened by Ikey's wife, Hannah, her old enemy. The two women raise their separate families, one legitimate and the other bastard. As each woman sets out to destroy the other, the families are brought to the edge of disaster.

©1995 Bryce Courtenay; (P)2000 Bolinda Publishing Pyt Ltd by arrangement with Penguin Group (Australia)

What the Critics Say

"In the tradition of Charles Dickens, Courtenay creates a unique cast of characters from the outset of this epic novel....Humphrey Bower's performance is a marvel...making this one of those rare books with a sweep of characters the readers come to care about deeply." (AudioFile)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (3295 )
5 star
 (1878)
4 star
 (931)
3 star
 (279)
2 star
 (105)
1 star
 (102)
Overall
4.4 (2330 )
5 star
 (1407)
4 star
 (590)
3 star
 (189)
2 star
 (79)
1 star
 (65)
Story
4.6 (2329 )
5 star
 (1701)
4 star
 (436)
3 star
 (118)
2 star
 (36)
1 star
 (38)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Mary Atlanta, GA, USA 08-21-08
    Mary Atlanta, GA, USA 08-21-08 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Great saga"

    Wonderful narrator and a captivating story filled with every sort of character from the most cunning villan to the reluctant hero (sometimes one and the same).

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nancy Love 02-01-08
    Nancy Love 02-01-08 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    "The Best"

    Of the zillions of books I have listened to this one is by far my favorite. The narrator is great. I loved reading about the real Ikey Soloman after I finished the book. I loved it so much I am ordering the other two books in the trilogy.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    B.J. Minneapolis, MN, United States 07-05-12
    B.J. Minneapolis, MN, United States 07-05-12 Member Since 2007

    I hear voices. But maybe that's because there's always an Audible book in my ear.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1330
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    336
    140
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    571
    15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One fabulous series"

    I was too snooty to read these books for a long time. Then I started to listen to them and fell into the spell. Yes, there are better books. But, for entertainment, great characters and a world-class narrator, these are at the top of the heap. And, as a terrific bonus, I always learn something from this author. I just listened to this series over a two-week period and was completely swept into the world of Mary Abacus. Terrific summer books!

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sima BOYNTON BEACH, FL, United States 03-20-11
    Sima BOYNTON BEACH, FL, United States 03-20-11 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Not Courtenay's Best"

    I've listened to many of Bryce Courtenay's books, and this is not one of his better ones. The ending was especially disappointing. It almost seemed as if he got tired of writing and just forced the ending.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brodie Mornington, Australia 05-18-10
    Brodie Mornington, Australia 05-18-10 Member Since 2009

    An unashamed Audiophile who has his own studio and business called iZENEARS which brings Australian travel and history to life for locals and visitor's alike.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    157
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    122
    79
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    14
    0
    Overall
    "You really must listen to this book!"

    Why I have ignored Bryce's work for so many years I can only put down to some vague sense of snobbery after all, how could an 'Ad Man&' actually write. The Potato Factory was my first choice for I have a deep, albeit new, connection with Tasmania and the Power of One with all its associated hoopla wasn't going to do it for this cynic.
    Well, I bow to a master story teller and apologies for making assumptions, at least in this book, that were totally unjustified. The astringency, pain, suffering, smells, colours, sounds were so well described that even someone devoid of imagination could have all their senses triggered through Humphrey Bower's great gift of sound acting.
    I urge you to listen for if you have an interest in historical tales this one cannot disappoint you in any shape or form.
    That being said, I am not sure who the sound producer was but listen closely and from time to time as your mind, ears and sense of smell dwell far away in the streets of early London or in the lowlands of Mt Wellington in Tasmania, you will hear that unique ping of someone either turning on or off a computer. Very grounding maybe but an unnecessary distraction; as audios interuptus, it rather spoiled the moment.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Steve Fairview, TN, USA 03-06-10
    Steve Fairview, TN, USA 03-06-10 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    68
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "The Potato Factory"

    Wow. Quite the story. I'm sure it would have been a brutal era in which to live. (I'm glad I didn't.) Some bits very graphic but they only convey the harshness of those times. Interesting story. Narrator does an excellent job with male and female voices. Even a little singing involved. REALLY enjoyed it. Now going on to book #2 in the series.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Russell D. Hall Prince Albert Sk 12-10-09
    Russell D. Hall Prince Albert Sk 12-10-09 Member Since 2009

    Rusty61

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    38
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Incredable literature"

    Great story honesty, survival and triumph of wonderful people. In the true spirit of love and respect it tells of the greatness and the darkness in much of our English and Jewish ancestry. Love the work of both the author and the narrator.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Peter Samford, Australia 06-20-08
    Peter Samford, Australia 06-20-08
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Superb!!"

    This is my very first download so I agonised over the selection. Boy, did I ever get it right. Humphrey Bower is superb, characterising the voices, switching into different accents and styles so convincingly that the characters come vividly to life. The story is enthralling, more so for the wonderful descriptions of the daily life and custom of the period. A great listen!!

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lisa chicago, IL, USA 06-01-08
    Lisa chicago, IL, USA 06-01-08 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    332
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    13
    Overall
    "Great story"

    fascinating story with a narrator that is amazing. couldn't stop listening.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mary j aboughadareh Reston, VA USA 04-10-08
    mary j aboughadareh Reston, VA USA 04-10-08 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    185
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    343
    89
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    12
    0
    Overall
    "Educational & Entertaining? Yes, very."

    I enjoyed this book very much. It has a good story and wonderful characters. It moves at a good pace and there were never any dull moments. This is the second book I've listened to read by Humphrey Bower. He does voices so good that between the writer's description and Bower's voice I felt I could see them clear as day. Great book!

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 21-30 of 318 results PREVIOUS123432NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.