We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 >   > 
The Potato Factory: The Australian Trilogy, Book 1 | [Bryce Courtenay]

The Potato Factory: The Australian Trilogy, Book 1

Always leave a little salt on the bread. Ikey Solomon's favorite saying is also his way of doing business, and in the business of thieving he's very successful indeed. Ikey's partner in crime is his mistress, the forthright Mary Abacus, until misfortune befalls them. They are parted and each must make the harsh journey from thriving nineteenth century London to the convict settlement of Van Diemen's Land.
Regular Price:$34.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Always leave a little salt on the bread...

Ikey Solomon's favorite saying is also his way of doing business, and in the business of thieving he's very successful indeed. Ikey's partner in crime is his mistress, the forthright Mary Abacus, until misfortune befalls them. They are parted and each must make the harsh journey from thriving nineteenth century London to the convict settlement of Van Diemen's Land.

In the backstreets and dives of Hobart Town, Mary learns the art of brewing and builds The Potato Factory, where she plans a new future. But her ambitions are threatened by Ikey's wife, Hannah, her old enemy. The two women raise their separate families, one legitimate and the other bastard. As each woman sets out to destroy the other, the families are brought to the edge of disaster.

©1995 Bryce Courtenay; (P)2000 Bolinda Publishing Pyt Ltd by arrangement with Penguin Group (Australia)

What the Critics Say

"In the tradition of Charles Dickens, Courtenay creates a unique cast of characters from the outset of this epic novel....Humphrey Bower's performance is a marvel...making this one of those rare books with a sweep of characters the readers come to care about deeply." (AudioFile)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (3392 )
5 star
 (1930)
4 star
 (955)
3 star
 (295)
2 star
 (110)
1 star
 (102)
Overall
4.4 (2409 )
5 star
 (1447)
4 star
 (613)
3 star
 (199)
2 star
 (86)
1 star
 (64)
Story
4.6 (2404 )
5 star
 (1752)
4 star
 (451)
3 star
 (125)
2 star
 (38)
1 star
 (38)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Samantha Merrill, OR, United States 10-06-11
    Samantha Merrill, OR, United States 10-06-11 Member Since 2003
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing Story"

    This book is well written and obviously well researched. The characters are engaging and interesting, whether you end up like them or not. At times it was a little brutal and graphic and you start to wonder if anything good will ever happen to the characters, but it is well worth sticking with. I love a novel that is both a good story and a learning opportunity and this book is both. Humphrey Bower does one of the best narrations I have ever heard and I have listened to over a hundred Audible books. Highly recommended!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Fred O. Jennings 09-27-11 Member Since 2006
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    159
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good read"

    I thoroughly enjoyed the characters and their entwined lives with Ikey. The story was very good.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Timothy Austin, TX, United States 09-26-11
    Timothy Austin, TX, United States 09-26-11 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    28
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    70
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A masterpiece, impossible to put down"

    Bryce Courtenay is that rare thing, a master storyteller who is also a wonderful and deep writer. A modern Dickens, without the inflated prose but with the same completely credible yet larger-than-life characters and even better plotting. Humphrey Bower does an absolutely perfect job of reading the book, with ideal voices for every character., One of the best books I have ever read on Audible, in the same class as Pillars of the Earth, American Gods and Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell. Also one of the best historical novels I have ever read, communicating a vivid feeling for a different time and place and the people who populated and made it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Patricia A. Healy Philadelphia, PA 09-18-11
    Patricia A. Healy Philadelphia, PA 09-18-11 Member Since 2002

    Befriend Me

    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    242
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Potato Factory"

    Keep your interest from the opening page to the end. A great insight into the lives of the ruthless and the poor. Good read

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    P. Minor Indiana/USA 09-13-11
    P. Minor Indiana/USA 09-13-11 Member Since 2002
    HELPFUL VOTES
    119
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1081
    84
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Slow starter"

    The book starts out very slow for at least half the book. It's written and read more like a history book than a novel but that history is important to the story and well worth hearing. By the last 1/3 of the book, it becomes more engaging. I had read the last book of the trilogy first, not knowing there were two previous books. When I discovered this, I had to know what happened before and will now listen to book 2.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ian Coltman 08-23-11
    Ian Coltman 08-23-11 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Part 1 of Trilogy"

    I was a bit dubious about starting a trilogy but was immediately blown away and could not wait for the next and the next ....

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    James DALLAS, TX, United States 08-14-11
    James DALLAS, TX, United States 08-14-11 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    "Captivating"

    The author's writing is creative and captivating and character development so good , I hated for the book to end.

    The reader was perfect !

    You will be so pleased .

    Sincerely,

    JR

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    H. Connelly Philadelphia, PA 06-09-11
    H. Connelly Philadelphia, PA 06-09-11 Member Since 2003

    Mojo Risen

    HELPFUL VOTES
    155
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    223
    51
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Courtenay does it again!"

    Bryce is a fabulous writer and just draws the listener into the story and characters. He is a great novelist. This book went quickly and then he used a writer's trick at the end to hook the listener into getting the second installment in the trilogy. God, he is good! The narrator is fantastic and found his niche with Courtenay's material, what a dynamic duo. I highly recommend this book, existing fans will notice some familiar themes, but the story stands on its own. Bravo!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Merideth el granada, CA, United States 06-03-11
    Merideth el granada, CA, United States 06-03-11 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Powerful, sometimes dark images, amazing listening"

    I had previously listened to Humphrey Bowers "The Four Fires" and absolutely loved it... so I was somewhat unprepared for the vivid, dark and continuous descriptions of life in this novel. That being said, it is simply an incredible book, well worth listening to!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nancy JEFFERSON, WI, United States 04-22-11
    Nancy JEFFERSON, WI, United States 04-22-11 Member Since 2010

    Former Waitress, Chargeback clerk, Clown, Florist owner, Clergy. Love series, humor, twists, history, mysteries, not into witches/bondage.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    "Great story with lots of great twists and turns"

    I enjoyed this book. I had to wonder, if some of the attitudes of that era are still wilth us today. I felt he was a little rough on the church and on Wesley, Knowing their history, but when you are searching the alleys for ways to survive it might be that the church was lacking. Sometimes you just had to laugh at the names and twists in the plot.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 281-290 of 320 results PREVIOUS128293032NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.