We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Potato Factory Audiobook

The Potato Factory: The Australian Trilogy, Book 1

Regular Price:$34.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Always leave a little salt on the bread...

Ikey Solomon's favorite saying is also his way of doing business, and in the business of thieving he's very successful indeed. Ikey's partner in crime is his mistress, the forthright Mary Abacus, until misfortune befalls them. They are parted and each must make the harsh journey from thriving nineteenth century London to the convict settlement of Van Diemen's Land.

In the backstreets and dives of Hobart Town, Mary learns the art of brewing and builds The Potato Factory, where she plans a new future. But her ambitions are threatened by Ikey's wife, Hannah, her old enemy. The two women raise their separate families, one legitimate and the other bastard. As each woman sets out to destroy the other, the families are brought to the edge of disaster.

©1995 Bryce Courtenay; (P)2000 Bolinda Publishing Pyt Ltd by arrangement with Penguin Group (Australia)

What the Critics Say

"In the tradition of Charles Dickens, Courtenay creates a unique cast of characters from the outset of this epic novel....Humphrey Bower's performance is a marvel...making this one of those rare books with a sweep of characters the readers come to care about deeply." (AudioFile)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (4567 )
5 star
 (2689)
4 star
 (1229)
3 star
 (380)
2 star
 (136)
1 star
 (133)
Overall
4.4 (3480 )
5 star
 (2141)
4 star
 (870)
3 star
 (273)
2 star
 (105)
1 star
 (91)
Story
4.6 (3480 )
5 star
 (2602)
4 star
 (614)
3 star
 (164)
2 star
 (45)
1 star
 (55)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Kyle Vilas, NC, United States 05-05-15
    Kyle Vilas, NC, United States 05-05-15 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story"

    The audio equivalent of a "page turner" the story moves fast covering a lot of historical, cultural, and geographical content. I especially enjoyed the cameo appearance of Charles Dickens. Very entertaining.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    MetaDreaming 05-03-15

    nixie one

    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful story, rich with historical detail."

    Compelling setting and characters, and superlative narration make this story come alive. It was hard to put down and now that I'm done with the first volume, can't wait to start the next.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    RLS 03-26-15
    RLS 03-26-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    114
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Exceptional!"

    Could not wait to get back to this reading each time we were called away! Eager to begin the next.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pat Pottery Chaska Minnesota 02-07-15
    Pat Pottery Chaska Minnesota 02-07-15 Member Since 2015

    Rite Brane

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    123
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fabulous"

    Rich and earthy and enhanced by superb performance - a must listen! Bryce Courtenay is now on my favorite author list.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mike 02-06-15
    Mike 02-06-15 Member Since 2006
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Incredible"

    Great story , phenomenal narration. An excellent value and I am looking forward to the next instalment. The characters are unforgettable.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    DAVID CLEARWATER, FLORIDA, United States 02-03-15
    DAVID CLEARWATER, FLORIDA, United States 02-03-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    35
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "wonderful story"

    he is my absolute favorite auger and the reader is also the best.
    i loved it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    janice ingleside, Ontario, Canada 01-09-15
    janice ingleside, Ontario, Canada 01-09-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    26
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    169
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Bryce Courtenay"

    I have never read a book by this author before, so I can tell you that this book was a complete surprise. This book is a real enigma in that it looks and starts out somewhat
    low key. I expected a typical history lesson novel, but this was the most exciting involved book I have read in a long time.
    There were a fair number of characters but this author managed to keep everything under control and one did not need to keep a list to remember them.
    The main characters were excellent and they were all accounted for in the end and the outcome was a smash hit. Pick this book up, it's a must read and it will have you looking
    out and hanging on until the end to find out what happens.
    The reader did an absolutely fine job and definitely contributed to my enjoyment. I loved this book and I and would recommend it to everyone.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Margaret King 01-03-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story !!"

    An intriguing, non-stop story with a twist at every turn. Mr Courtenay holds your attention throughout the book. Can't wait to start Tomo and Hawk.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rebecca K. Evans 10-20-14 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    35
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Long........."
    If you could sum up The Potato Factory in three words, what would they be?

    Selfish people survive.


    How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

    It was a long, long time getting to the Potato Factory. Ikie's character developed along the way, but it took too much description to get there.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Scott 09-13-14
    Scott 09-13-14 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    138
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Detailed and wonderfully, powerfully evocative."
    Where does The Potato Factory rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Humphrey Bower is a great reader. The story takes awhile but worth it. Really worth it. I "felt" what London was like. Then I felt the reality of what it meant to be a Criminal worthy of transportation. Can't wait for book 2.


    What did you like best about this story?

    The learned the humanity of people I initially thought of as horrible and worthless.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    Mary's victory in getting the 'treasure'.


    If you could take any character from The Potato Factory out to dinner, who would it be and why?

    Bloody Mary - she's got chutzpah!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.