We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Potato Factory Audiobook

The Potato Factory: The Australian Trilogy, Book 1

Regular Price:$34.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Always leave a little salt on the bread...

Ikey Solomon's favorite saying is also his way of doing business, and in the business of thieving he's very successful indeed. Ikey's partner in crime is his mistress, the forthright Mary Abacus, until misfortune befalls them. They are parted and each must make the harsh journey from thriving nineteenth century London to the convict settlement of Van Diemen's Land.

In the backstreets and dives of Hobart Town, Mary learns the art of brewing and builds The Potato Factory, where she plans a new future. But her ambitions are threatened by Ikey's wife, Hannah, her old enemy. The two women raise their separate families, one legitimate and the other bastard. As each woman sets out to destroy the other, the families are brought to the edge of disaster.

©1995 Bryce Courtenay; (P)2000 Bolinda Publishing Pyt Ltd by arrangement with Penguin Group (Australia)

What the Critics Say

"In the tradition of Charles Dickens, Courtenay creates a unique cast of characters from the outset of this epic novel....Humphrey Bower's performance is a marvel...making this one of those rare books with a sweep of characters the readers come to care about deeply." (AudioFile)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (4715 )
5 star
 (2799)
4 star
 (1254)
3 star
 (389)
2 star
 (138)
1 star
 (135)
Overall
4.4 (3618 )
5 star
 (2243)
4 star
 (892)
3 star
 (279)
2 star
 (111)
1 star
 (93)
Story
4.6 (3618 )
5 star
 (2720)
4 star
 (630)
3 star
 (165)
2 star
 (47)
1 star
 (56)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    HollyD 03-01-16
    HollyD 03-01-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    58
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Two thumbs up!!"

    Loved everything about this book!! A little vulgar and graphic but necessary for the era.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Martha-Irene Weed Tampa, FL USA 02-23-16
    Martha-Irene Weed Tampa, FL USA 02-23-16 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent!"

    This is the first of 3 books regarding Australia and Tazmania. The detail and descriptiveness makes the characters breathe and live in the listener's mind. Excellent, excellent reading.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    David Gilbert Huntington Beach Ca 02-20-16
    David Gilbert Huntington Beach Ca 02-20-16 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love Bryce Courtenay"

    I had never heard of the author but so glad I found him and am looking forward to the rest of this trilogy. Fabulous story beautifully brought to life by Humphrey Bower.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    steven 02-19-16
    steven 02-19-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another great Bryce Courtney book!"
    What did you love best about The Potato Factory?

    Because this is a trilogy, the story and character development is very thorough, but maybe too slow for some. I enjoy the writers style, and as usual, Humphrey Bower does a stellar job at bringing the words to life.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Tough to choose


    Have you listened to any of Humphrey Bower’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    Yes. "Shantaram" (The audio book that got me into audio books. Simply the best), and "Four Fires" (my first and favorite Bryce Courtney).It stands up well as far as narration. I search out books read by Bower. He's that good.If you're reading this, get one of these two books before you get the potato factory.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Lots of laughs. But not a comedy.


    Any additional comments?

    Slow moving book. Very well done, but really very slow.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rebecca Seattle, WA, United States 02-14-16
    Rebecca Seattle, WA, United States 02-14-16 Member Since 2016

    Retired teacher and interpreter. I read classic and contemporary fiction, as well as Mystery/Suspense/Horror, Fantasy&Sci-fi.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    104
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    275
    81
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just GET it!!!"

    Really seriously a very very great listen!!!
    Bryce Courtenay calls this book "My thank you note to Australia", explaining that most people learn history from novels, not history books...
    Beginning in late 18th/early 19th century London, and following a cast of characters to Australia as convicts, this is entertainment at its finest. The narration is perfect. I can not say enough good things about this book! As it ended I wanted to applaud!
    What are DOING!?!?! You could be listening to it already!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Julie Le Center, MN, USA 02-13-16
    Julie Le Center, MN, USA 02-13-16 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    137
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    244
    60
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    7
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Modern Dickens"

    Loved the great sympathy for the plight of the underclasses plus this is a dang good story. The characters will stay withe forever. Can't wait to get to the next in the series

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    SHELLY HARRISON ADRIAN, MISSOURI United States 02-11-16
    SHELLY HARRISON ADRIAN, MISSOURI United States 02-11-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    75
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I absolutely loved this story. "

    took me a bit at first to get into the book but then I couldn't put it down! loved it! can't wait to get the next book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Charlie D. 10-20-15
    Charlie D. 10-20-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A wonderful story..."

    Didn't know anything about Australia [except for the wonderful description of the Aussie success in Why Nations Fail]. This book gave me a bunch more, in a very entertaining manner.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Monnie J Heisler 09-07-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    65
    10
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Exception on the second read"

    Thanks Bryce and Humphrey! You two write and perform with exceptional talent! I am as drawn in by the characters and storyline as I was the first time reading!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    K. Lilienthal 08-03-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    142
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another great tale by Bryce Courtenay!"

    This is the 4th Courtenay book I've read, and I was not disappointed. Can't wait to start the next book in the series. Narration by Humphrey Bower was terrific!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.