We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Outlaw Album: Stories | [Daniel Woodrell]

The Outlaw Album: Stories

Daniel Woodrell is able to lend uncanny logic to harsh, even criminal behavior in this wrenching collection of stories. Desperation-both material and psychological - motivates his characters. A husband cruelly avenges the killing of his wife's pet; an injured rapist is cared for by a young girl, until she reaches her breaking point; a disturbed veteran of Iraq is murdered for his erratic behavior; an outsider's house is set on fire by an angry neighbor. There is also the tenderness and loyalty of the vulnerable in these stories - between spouses, parents and children, siblings, and comrades in arms....
Regular Price:$25.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Twelve timeless Ozarkian tales of those on the fringes of society, by a "stunningly original" (Associated Press) American master.

Daniel Woodrell is able to lend uncanny logic to harsh, even criminal behavior in this wrenching collection of stories. Desperation-both material and psychological - motivates his characters. A husband cruelly avenges the killing of his wife's pet; an injured rapist is cared for by a young girl, until she reaches her breaking point; a disturbed veteran of Iraq is murdered for his erratic behavior; an outsider's house is set on fire by an angry neighbor.

There is also the tenderness and loyalty of the vulnerable in these stories - between spouses, parents and children, siblings, and comrades in arms - which brings the troubled, sorely tested cast of characters to vivid, relatable life. And, as ever, "the music coming from Woodrell's banjo cannot be confused with the sounds of any other writer" (Donald Harington, Atlanta Journal Constitution).

©2011 Daniel Woodrell (P)2011 Hachette

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (15 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.1 (15 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.1 (15 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Donald Braman 05-09-12

    thinkingitover

    HELPFUL VOTES
    38
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    331
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Terse, violent, and revelatory"

    These are well-crafted stories are about hard scrabble living. Every one is surprising and convincing. Only wish there were more.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joe Dublin 22, Ireland 02-06-12
    Joe Dublin 22, Ireland 02-06-12 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Sparse, graphic language with genuine insights"

    I never read Woodrell before though I now realize he has written an number of successful novels, some of which have been made in to movies. He is a sharp, observant wrier in the tradition of Carver and Hemingway. The language and the characters tell their story. There is no need to embellish. His characters are striking and strong and his turns of phrase will knock you out. Already, I want to listen to the stories again. Why are there no more Woodrell stories on Audible. He is a rare treasure. Read these stores and you will hear for yourself.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Harold 12-20-12
    Harold 12-20-12

    I enjoy mostly historical fiction and non-fiction.

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "OK but not great"
    Would you try another book from Daniel Woodrell and/or Leslie Bellair and Brian Troxell ?

    Probably


    What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

    I can't really put my finger on it. Being from the Ozarks, I thought the stories might be very interesting. But, I made no connection with the characters and stopped listening about 1/3rd of the way through the book. Maybe Winter's Bone was enough of this type of story for me.


    Did The Outlaw Album inspire you to do anything?

    no


    Any additional comments?

    no

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ann Ridge Spring, SC, United States 07-23-12
    Ann Ridge Spring, SC, United States 07-23-12 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great stories, great writing"

    Except for seeing the movie "Winter's Bone" this was my first exposure to Daniel Woodrell. It will not be my last. I think he's incredible....all the short stories in this book are so well-written and some of them are so complex I think they could be expanded into novels. I will listen to these stories over and over and I will listen to more of Woodrell's books.

    Like any book of short stories, there will always be some stories that are better than others. "Woe To Live On" and "The Horse In Our History" didn't do much for me, although they are well-written. My favorites were "Uncle" and "Dream Spot" and "Returning the River." There were two readers for these stories (one male, one female). They were good, except the guy used a weird accent when he was reading "Woe To Live On." This might be one reason why I didn't like this story so much.

    Overall, very impressive stories and writing! Definitely worth a credit, even though it is a short book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-4 of 4 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.