We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Miniaturist Audiobook

The Miniaturist

Regular Price:$31.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Sold in over 30 territories, this evocative debut in the tradition of Sarah Dunant, Tracey Chevalier, and Emma Donoghue is set among a wealthy, dysfunctional family living in Amsterdam in 1686, during the decline of the Dutch Golden Age

"There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed...."

On an autumn day in 1686, 18-year-old Nella Oortman knocks at the door of a grand house in the wealthiest quarter of Amsterdam. She has come from the country to begin a new life as the wife of the illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt, but instead she is met by his sharp-tongued sister, Marin. Only later does Johannes appear and present her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. It is to be furnished by an elusive miniaturist, whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in unexpected ways....

Nella is at first mystified by the closed world of the Brandt household, but as she uncovers its secrets she realizes the escalating dangers that await them all. Does the miniaturist hold their fate in her hands? And will she be the key to their salvation or the architect of their downfall?

Beautiful, intoxicating, and filled with heart-pounding suspense, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.

©2014 Jessie Burton (P)2014 HarperCollins Canada

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (9 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.9 (8 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.3 (7 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    loralou 12-10-14
    loralou 12-10-14

    Mother of teenaged bear, Wife to chaos, Warrior

    HELPFUL VOTES
    70
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    224
    83
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Mini houses"

    The miniaturist is a book about a young naive girl an mean religious woman and a wealthy gentleman who all have secrets from each other and amongst the town. It's all about revenge and too much pride.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.