We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Long Way Home | [Robin Pilcher]

The Long Way Home

In the vein of Maeve Binchy, Rosamunde Pilcher, and Nicholas Sparks, New York Times best-selling author Robin Pilcher returns with his most enchanting novel yet, filled with captivating twists and turns of heart. When Claire Barclay receives news that her beloved stepfather has had a stroke, she’s more than a little shaken. Leo is her last real relative, and his own children rarely check up on the old man. Claire and her husband, Art, leave New York and fly back to Scotland to care for him during the summer.
Regular Price:$27.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

In the vein of Maeve Binchy, Rosamunde Pilcher, and Nicholas Sparks, New York Times best-selling author Robin Pilcher returns with his most enchanting novel yet, filled with captivating twists and turns of heart.

When Claire Barclay receives news that her beloved stepfather has had a stroke, she’s more than a little shaken. Leo is her last real relative, and his own children rarely check up on the old man. Claire and her husband, Art, leave New York and fly back to Scotland to care for him during the summer. Their visit makes clear that Leo is no longer capable of living on his own, but he is determined to stay in his beloved old house. Art comes up with the idea of turning the place into a conference center, thinking they could purchase the place from Leo and build him a cottage on the property. But the situation is much more complicated than it seems. Claire’s old flame, Jonas Fairwether, has become Leo’s caretaker and trusted confidant.

Though Claire distrusts Jonas’s motives, Leo chooses to take his advice to put the house up for public auction rather than sell directly to Art and Claire. Claire is immediately suspicious, and even more so when she finds out that another application has been submitted to develop the property. Does Jonas Fairwether want to knock down the Leo’s house and build a development? It looks like whoever is behind the plan is being driven by financial gain, but there may be an even stronger motive. The Long Way Home will keep readers on the edge of their seats. This is a masterful novel from a master storyteller.

©2010 Robin Pilcher (P)2010 Macmillan Audio

What the Critics Say

The Long Way Home is Robin Pilcher at his best. I devoured every word of this masterful storyteller.” (Debbie Macomber)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.7 (27 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.3 (14 )
5 star
 (7)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.1 (16 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Kathy Goldsboro, NC, United States 05-23-11
    Kathy Goldsboro, NC, United States 05-23-11 Member Since 2003

    nckitkat

    HELPFUL VOTES
    38
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    125
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "incorrect Publisher's Summary"

    I read this book, thinking that it was the first, and that A Matter of Trust was the second. I enjoyed the book, but the Publisher's Summary for this books is incorrect- the correct summary is actually the one for A Matter of Trust. After downloading both, reading this one first, and then beginning the second, I realized they were the same book. I contacted Audible, who credited my account for the second and did agree, they are the same book, but different title because of different publishers. I think this should be noted so the same mistake is not made- Don't buy them both!
    As for the book itself, the characters were fairly well-developed, and did indeed remind me of a Rosamund Pilcher book. I generally read thrillers, mysteries, and alternate with science fiction/fantasy and historical novels, but occasionally pick up Maeve Binchy, and have read Rosamunde Pilcher in the past. This was a nice change, certainly worth reading.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.