We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Long Way Home Audiobook

The Long Way Home

In the vein of Maeve Binchy, Rosamunde Pilcher, and Nicholas Sparks, New York Times best-selling author Robin Pilcher returns with his most enchanting novel yet, filled with captivating twists and turns of heart. When Claire Barclay receives news that her beloved stepfather has had a stroke, she’s more than a little shaken. Leo is her last real relative, and his own children rarely check up on the old man. Claire and her husband, Art, leave New York and fly back to Scotland to care for him during the summer.
    • 1 audiobook per month
    • 180,000+ titles to choose from
    • $14.95 per month after free trial

Publisher's Summary

In the vein of Maeve Binchy, Rosamunde Pilcher, and Nicholas Sparks, New York Times best-selling author Robin Pilcher returns with his most enchanting novel yet, filled with captivating twists and turns of heart.

When Claire Barclay receives news that her beloved stepfather has had a stroke, she’s more than a little shaken. Leo is her last real relative, and his own children rarely check up on the old man. Claire and her husband, Art, leave New York and fly back to Scotland to care for him during the summer. Their visit makes clear that Leo is no longer capable of living on his own, but he is determined to stay in his beloved old house. Art comes up with the idea of turning the place into a conference center, thinking they could purchase the place from Leo and build him a cottage on the property. But the situation is much more complicated than it seems. Claire’s old flame, Jonas Fairwether, has become Leo’s caretaker and trusted confidant.

Though Claire distrusts Jonas’s motives, Leo chooses to take his advice to put the house up for public auction rather than sell directly to Art and Claire. Claire is immediately suspicious, and even more so when she finds out that another application has been submitted to develop the property. Does Jonas Fairwether want to knock down the Leo’s house and build a development? It looks like whoever is behind the plan is being driven by financial gain, but there may be an even stronger motive. The Long Way Home will keep readers on the edge of their seats. This is a masterful novel from a master storyteller.

©2010 Robin Pilcher (P)2010 Macmillan Audio

What the Critics Say

The Long Way Home is Robin Pilcher at his best. I devoured every word of this masterful storyteller.” (Debbie Macomber)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (34 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.3 (20 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.3 (22 )
5 star
 (13)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    NCKitkat Goldsboro, NC, United States 05-23-11
    NCKitkat Goldsboro, NC, United States 05-23-11 Member Since 2011

    nckitkat

    HELPFUL VOTES
    41
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    164
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "incorrect Publisher's Summary"

    I read this book, thinking that it was the first, and that A Matter of Trust was the second. I enjoyed the book, but the Publisher's Summary for this books is incorrect- the correct summary is actually the one for A Matter of Trust. After downloading both, reading this one first, and then beginning the second, I realized they were the same book. I contacted Audible, who credited my account for the second and did agree, they are the same book, but different title because of different publishers. I think this should be noted so the same mistake is not made- Don't buy them both!
    As for the book itself, the characters were fairly well-developed, and did indeed remind me of a Rosamund Pilcher book. I generally read thrillers, mysteries, and alternate with science fiction/fantasy and historical novels, but occasionally pick up Maeve Binchy, and have read Rosamunde Pilcher in the past. This was a nice change, certainly worth reading.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Donna The Bayou 11-18-15
    Donna The Bayou 11-18-15

    "A classic is a book that never finishes saying what it has to say." Italo Calvino

    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Long Way Home is Worth the Trip"

    After her mother's death, Clair Barrington returns to the Scottish mansion in which she had spent her formative years when her mother married her beloved stepfather, Leo. Clair's homecoming is filled with happy and sad memories of her best friend and unrequited love, Jonas, whose sudden rejection of Clair caused her to leave Scotland when she was a teenager. This mystery is added to others as Clair seeks to find her way home.
    The Long Way Home received 4 stars from me because it isn't just a simple tale of romance lost; it evolves into an intriguing mystery. Pilcher paints fully developed characters and gives a satisfactory conclusion without trite sentiment. Excellent, light entertainment!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Angela Lapeer, MI, United States 07-10-15
    Angela Lapeer, MI, United States 07-10-15 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Pilcher never disappoints."

    I love well rounded need of his stories . They take you all over the place only to bring you back home to a satisfying ending.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.