We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Glittering World Audiobook

The Glittering World

Regular Price:$24.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

*RECIPIENT OF AUDIOFILE MAGAZINE'S EARPHONES AWARD FOR EXCEPTIONAL AUDIO*

*SHIRLEY JACKSON AWARD NOMINEE*

*LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD FINALIST*

Narrated by Audie Award Winner Edoardo Ballerini (BEAUTIFUL RUINS, MY STRUGGLE)

Directed by Grammy Award Winner David Rapkin (THE HARRY POTTER SERIES)

"In this supernatural thriller, Robert Levy creates a mystical, magical, haunting other world. Edoardo Ballerini provides the tense, suspenseful narration--including some commendable musical numbers--that raises goose bumps on listeners' flesh." (AudioFile Magazine)

"As imaginative and frightening as a whole gallery of surrealist paintings come luridly to life." (John Berendt, author of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil)

"Well crafted and atmospheric, this will attract readers who enjoy Neil Gaiman and Mark Z. Danielewski." (Library Journal)

When Michael "Blue" Whitley -- a former party boy turned up-and-coming Brooklyn chef -- returns with three friends to the remote Canadian commune of his birth, he discovers that his entire life has been a carefully orchestrated lie. He is in fact someone else altogether, a replacement for a local child who disappeared twenty-five years earlier. He is something not quite human.

Only now it's Blue's turn to vanish, leaving his friends to unravel the mystery of his abduction. Soon, psychology and skepticism collide with old-world folklore and superstition, revealing the secret history of the commune as well as that of an ancient race of beings that inhabits the hidden corners of the land.

Set among the artisans, burnouts, and New Age mystics of rural Cape Breton, The Glittering World is a dark and modern fairy tale, a novel of self-identity and supernatural suspense.

©2015 Robert Levy (P)2015 Robert Levy

What the Critics Say

"In this supernatural thriller, Robert Levy creates a mystical, magical, haunting other world. Edoardo Ballerini provides the tense, suspenseful narration - including some commendable musical numbers - that raises goose bumps on listeners' flesh." (AudioFile Magazine)

"As imaginative and frightening as a whole gallery of surrealist paintings come luridly to life." (John Berendt, author of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil)

"Well crafted and atmospheric, this will attract readers who enjoy Neil Gaiman and Mark Z. Danielewski." (Library Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.4 (35 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
3.1 (31 )
5 star
 (7)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.1 (32 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Carole Wooten St. Louis, MO 04-15-16
    Carole Wooten St. Louis, MO 04-15-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    46
    28
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointing"
    Any additional comments?

    I liked parts of this book quite a bit but as a whole this book didn't work for me. It wasn't a book that I really looked forward to listening to and I found it really easy to set aside. In most cases, I would be able to listen to an audiobook of this length in about a week. This one took me about three times as long. I skipped days of listening while working on this audiobook and actually started it over several times because the story just never grabbed me.

    When I first read the blurb, I was really excited to read this book. Ancient beings, modern day fairy tale...what's not to love? I did like the overall concept of the story but the way that everything came together just fell a bit flat to me. The story is told from four different perspectives. Each voices tells a section of the book and once their part is over the story moves on to another perspective. I would really start to feel comfortable with a character narrating the story and then we would move on to someone else. I think that I would have liked it better if the points of view alternated or if the story was told from just one of two points of view.

    The biggest problem that I had with this book is that I found it to be less exciting than I thought it should be. I was really pretty bored for most of the story which should have never happened. I think that a lot of thought was put into every sentence in this book and I could admire how the words came together but I found myself losing the story in the words at times. I had to really force myself to focus or I would find my mind drifting away from the story.

    I liked the narration of the audiobook. This was this first time that I have listened to an audiobook narrated by Edoardo Ballerini and I would definitely listen to his work again. I thought that he did a great job in demonstrating a wide range of emotions during the story. The way he delivered some of the more supernatural portions of the book really added to the overall story.

    In the end this was a book with some high points that was less than satisfying for me. I do think that a lot of readers will really enjoy this story especially if they like supernatural stories featuring changelings and the fae. I wanted to fall in love with this book but it just didn't happen.

    I received a copy of this book from the author for the purpose of providing an honest review.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kellshara 04-11-16
    Kellshara 04-11-16

    Child Of the Living God

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "interesting"

    enjoyable well described fantasy story .adult rated. not what I expected fron online description .recommended

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Carmela
    Walterboro, United Kingdom
    8/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "disappointment"

    The book starts out interesting enough but then it just gets stuck and there is really no intereting side to it, just a very banal story. if you want a good story with a similar fantasy idea try Tad Williams' War of the Flowers. This is a very weak story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • sarahmoose2000
    4/17/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Freaky Fairies"

    The blurb for this makes you think it's going to be a child kidnapping drama, but it's completely different. It is however, just as scary.

    Blue has always had that 'wee something' that draws people to him, when his gran leaves her house to him he goes back to see it one last time...and disappears....again! Nature can be just as scary as humans, enjoy it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.