We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The German Girl Audiobook

The German Girl: A Novel

Regular Price:$22.67
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A stunningly ambitious and beautiful novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Schindler's List, and All the Light We Cannot See, about 12-year-old Hannah Rosenthal's harrowing experience fleeing Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas asylum they had been promised is an illusion.

Before everything changed, young Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now, in 1939, the streets of Berlin are draped with red, white, and black flags; her family's fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places that once felt like home. Hannah and her best friend, Leo Martin, make a pact: whatever the future has in store for them, they'll meet it together.

Hope appears in the form of the SS St. Louis, a transatlantic liner offering Jews safe passage out of Germany. After a frantic search to obtain visas, the Rosenthals and the Martins depart on the luxurious ship bound for Havana. Life on board the St. Louis is like a surreal holiday for the refugees, with masquerade balls, exquisite meals, and polite, respectful service. But soon ominous rumors from Cuba undermine the passengers' fragile sense of safety. From one day to the next, impossible choices are offered, unthinkable sacrifices are made, and the ship that once was their salvation seems likely to become their doom.

Seven decades later in New York City, on her 12th birthday, Anna Rosen receives a strange package from an unknown relative in Cuba, her great-aunt Hannah. Its contents will inspire Anna and her mother to travel to Havana to learn the truth about their family's mysterious and tragic past, a quest that will help Anna understand her place and her purpose in the world.

The German Girl sweeps from Berlin at the brink of the Second World War to Cuba on the cusp of revolution, to New York in the wake of September 11, before reaching its deeply moving conclusion in the tumult of present-day Havana. Based on a true story, this masterful novel gives voice to the joys and sorrows of generations of exiles, forever seeking a place called home.

©2016 Armando Lucas Correa. All rights reserved. (P)2016 Simon & Schuster

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.7 (27 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
3.6 (19 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (1)
Story
3.7 (20 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    James Pickering, Ontario, Canada 11-16-16
    James Pickering, Ontario, Canada 11-16-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    44
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good story."

    the story is heart wrenching yet there are many moments of joy that lighten the tragic events of the story.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    DT Canada 11-06-16
    DT Canada 11-06-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it."

    Best book I have read this year. Narrator exceptional. Read for sure!!!!
    Learned a lot too.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sarah Tucson, AZ, United States 10-28-16
    Sarah Tucson, AZ, United States 10-28-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just okay"

    I thought the history behind this story was the most interesting part. I felt the experiences, thoughts etc of the characters seemed a little off for 12 year old girls. The different languages would have been lovely but the accents were terrible in both French and German. Find a native speaker please!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.