We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Four Ms. Bradwells Audiobook

The Four Ms. Bradwells

Regular Price:$24.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Mia, Laney, Betts, and Ginger, best friends since law school, have reunited for a long weekend as Betts waits Senate confirmation of her appointment to the Supreme Court. Nicknamed "the Ms. Bradwells" during their first class at law school in 1979, the four have supported one another through life's challenges: marriages and divorces, births and deaths, career setbacks, and triumphs large and small. But when the Senate hearings uncover a deeply buried skeleton in the friends' collective closet, the Ms. Bradwells retreat to a summer house on the Chesapeake Bay, where they find themselves reliving a much darker period in their past - one that stirs up secrets they've kept for, and from, one another, and could change their lives forever.

©2011 Meg Waite Clayton (P)2011 Dreamscape Media, LLC

What the Critics Say

"Clayton unfolds the story through flashbacks and present-day narration in each woman's voice.... [T]his is a stirring and compelling novel about women's changing roles." (Booklist)

"Fans of Elizabeth Noble, Ann Hood, Elin Hilderbrand, and other luminaries of female friendship fiction will find much to captivate them." (Library Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.2 (36 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
2.9 (20 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (3)
Story
3.6 (19 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Karen 09-16-16
    Karen 09-16-16

    Sassy dialogue, humor, and a great reader are important to me.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    625
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    742
    619
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    105
    16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    ""Modern Day Suffragettes""
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    This author is just not for me. However, if you read the Amazon book reviews, which is why I kept this in my Library (have over 100 new listens), they loved this book.This is written from a very cultured point of view. 4 women who met in a law school class bond in a very creative way, thanks to their Law Professor. This story is from their respective points of view on a heinous situation that effected each of there later lives. Think, a very polished version of Dennis Lenes' Mystic River. This is not dark, so read the Amazon reviews to judge and purchase.


    Has The Four Ms. Bradwells turned you off from other books in this genre?

    Yup, I have to say, yes for me. This is about old monied culture and beliefs. Think, the Kennedy's and some of the headlines that family has had over the years. Yes, I did finished the read as Ms White is a great reader and I did want the mystery solved.


    Have you listened to any of Karen White’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I purchased this author due to Ms White's great reading talent and the Amazon book reviews. Her Julie James series is outstanding and not to be missed. Her Jill Shalvis/ Animal series and Rebecca Zanetti / Sin Brothers series are great entertainment. Her take on a author is top notch.note: I do use the new 1.25x speed to match the author intent to the read.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Linda Wagner 02-27-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Boing"

    Boring and uppity story. I hated it it as for a book club, so I felt like a had to finish it. But I couldn't.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.