We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Finding of Martha Lost Audiobook

The Finding of Martha Lost

Regular Price:$19.35
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Martha is lost. She’s been lost since she was a baby, abandoned in a suitcase on the train from Paris. Ever since, she’s waited in the station's lost property for someone to claim her. It’s been 16 years, but she’s still hopeful.

In the meantime, there are mysteries to solve: secret tunnels under the station, a suitcase that may have belonged to the Beatles, the Roman soldier who appears at the same time every day with his packed lunch. Not to mention the stuffed monkey that someone keeps misplacing. But there is one mystery Martha cannot solve. And now the authorities have found out about the girl in lost property.

Time is running out - if Martha can’t discover who she really is, she will lose everything....

©2016 Caroline Wallace (P)2016 Audible, Ltd

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (18 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.1 (16 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.4 (16 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Margaret San Francisco, CA USA 03-27-16
    Margaret San Francisco, CA USA 03-27-16 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1348
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    128
    96
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    203
    18
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Magic in Liverpool"

    This book is a charming fairy tale, but slow going. There isn't much of a sense of urgency though the story has a ticking clock (Martha may be evicted); the threat is just ignored most of the time. Instead, the author focuses exhaustively on the characters' quirks and there are a lot of them. Fans of Sarah Addison Allen or Julia Stuart will enjoy, I think.

    Narration is top notch.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lynn Lipp 03-26-16
    Lynn Lipp 03-26-16 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wish they were all this good!"

    I grew up in London with an English mother and American father. I've been living in USA for 38 years. Although I've never been to Liverpool, I could relate to the characters and the story and enjoyed the unique mix of Beatles history, abandoned child looking for her mother and the tramp living in the train station.

    Loved the narration and hope to read more from the author and listen to more by the narrator.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Ms K Shipley
    Swindon, Wiltshire United Kingdom
    3/22/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I got this to last a month; I didn't turn it off!"

    A beautiful fairytale of innocence, love, friendship and violence, wonderfully read in Martha's true voice.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    Telford, United Kingdom
    4/5/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A very moving story"

    A Beautifully narrated, wonderful story with amazing images. I think I may have even cried.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Julie
    Westcliff, Essex, United Kingdom
    4/19/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved Martha"

    This book is written from Matha's viewpoint and the author does it beautifully. The phrasing was lovely.
    So as not to spoil the story I'll just say that I don't see the point of some elements as they don't really add anything but padding but not enough to be detrimental.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • barbara
    angmering, United Kingdom
    4/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unusual & enjoyable ."

    A very enjoyable listen . A mystery with many turns ..

    I would recommend this as a quirky mystery .

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Sarah
    St Martins, United Kingdom
    7/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Relentlessly frustrating."
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    I stuck with this to the bitter end hoping it would end with the interest it initally started with. Sadly, I didn't find this as enjoyable as other readers seem to have done.


    What was most disappointing about Caroline Wallace’s story?

    The constant repetitive phrases really began to grate on my nerves...so much I found myself actually talking out loud, begging the reader to wander off-script. I'm afraid the sections detailing the life of Mal and The Beatles felt like a poor attempt to crowbar the author's research into the text. The end was entirely predictable.


    What does Katy Sobey bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    I think she did fair job. She portrayed Martha very well. Not so well with Max - the Ozzie accent dipped in and out.


    If this book were a film would you go see it?

    No


    Any additional comments?

    It's rare I come across a book with such good reviews and then find myself disappointed but occasionally I don't get it and this is one of those times.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amanda Toguri
    6/25/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it! Easy read from start to finish."

    Great performance for a truly entertaining story. Darkly comedic with wonderful characters you really got to know and care about.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.